Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals
Reload this Page >

La/++ akl-scl-mad-hnd €570

La/++ akl-scl-mad-hnd €570

Reply

Old Jul 3, 18, 4:39 pm
  #436  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond, GHA Black, BA Gold, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 893
Either just the outbound or both directions, it would depend on the price.
I am fine with coach on LATAM metal as I usually get upgraded anyway (LATAM Black).
F BC=I will probably kick up the price, so I was hoping there might be some way to get a mix of coach and business on the outbound as well, for a low price...
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 14, 18, 8:16 pm
  #437  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Programs: QF
Posts: 15
Is ITA Matrix now limited to 6 flights?
rosege is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 18, 1:01 am
  #438  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: AMS
Programs: BAEC Silver, AA executive plat, Turkish Airlines Gold , Etihad Gold
Posts: 69
Originally Posted by rosege View Post
Is ITA Matrix now limited to 6 flights?
Use the advanced controls to input the transit points you want. E.G. Flight 1 ICN to MAD , use advanced controls and input HEL to split your flight in ICN - HEL and HEL-MAD
Polo1980 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 18, 2:17 am
  #439  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond, GHA Black, BA Gold, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 893
My friend and I had booked this fare in Y. Upgraded SCL-BOG for free using my LATAM Black status (matched from BA). The flight was operated by Wamos Air (A330 previously owned by AB) instead of the LA 787.
For this terrible inconvenience (we were still upgraded to C for free!) we just received a 100 USD travel voucher each.
I love LATAM!
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 15, 18, 8:02 pm
  #440  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Australia
Programs: QF
Posts: 15
Originally Posted by Polo1980 View Post
Use the advanced controls to input the transit points you want. E.G. Flight 1 ICN to MAD , use advanced controls and input HEL to split your flight in ICN - HEL and HEL-MAD
ok think you're right - must have forgotten thats what I was doing before. Cheers
rosege is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 18, 9:33 pm
  #441  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 286
Finally booked tonight. I couldnt get my #1 option to ticket. I had to use my back up option. Not sure why the original wasnt ticketing. #1 routing was AKL-PPT-IPC-SCL-GRU-FCO-DOH-CGK-NRT


Ended up ticketing AKL-PPT-IPC-SCL-GRU-JNB-DOH-CGK-NRT



Booked via AA. Looks like AA dropped the QR YQ too as the ticket only cost $2070 USD.

All flights booked under a oneworld marketing carrier so earnings should look like this when crediting to AA


Thanks for all the advice and help from everyone on this forum. Especially Flying For Fun
sgan317 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 18, 11:49 pm
  #442  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Programs: BAEC Gold/GGL/CCR, IHG Spire
Posts: 742
That’s a fabulous routing - well done! So many permutations on this fare - who needs a One World Explorer ;-)
ubiest and ElJudioErrante like this.
our_kid is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 18, 1:16 am
  #443  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AA, AS Gold 75K, BA, Marriott & SPG Platinum
Posts: 1,038
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post

Ended up ticketing AKL-PPT-IPC-SCL-GRU-JNB-DOH-CGK-NRT Booked via AA. Looks like AA dropped the QR YQ too as the ticket only cost $2070 USD.

Thanks for all the advice and help from everyone on this forum. Especially Flying For Fun
Awesome! Happy you found something that works for you. JJ flights now credit to AS so I will definitely be looking at GRU-JNB on my next trip. I have friends in CPT.

James
Flying for Fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 18, 2:08 am
  #444  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AA, AS Gold 75K, BA, Marriott & SPG Platinum
Posts: 1,038
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post
All flights booked under a oneworld marketing carrier so earnings should look like this when crediting to AA

Quite a difference in RDM between AA & AS. Here is how my itinerary looks with the changes to LA earnings. Someone without status would earn enough EQM for MVP and have enough RDM for a CX J North America - SE Asia award.

Flying for Fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 18, 7:32 am
  #445  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 286
Originally Posted by Flying for Fun View Post
Quite a difference in RDM between AA & AS. Here is how my itinerary looks with the changes to LA earnings. Someone without status would earn enough EQM for MVP and have enough RDM for a CX J North America - SE Asia award.

Youre also flying 5k more miles but yeah, the new AA earnings structure is crap. Dont worry, im sure a devaluation will hit AS sooner than later.
sgan317 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 18, 10:12 am
  #446  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AA, AS Gold 75K, BA, Marriott & SPG Platinum
Posts: 1,038
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post
Youre also flying 5k more miles but yeah, the new AA earnings structure is crap. Dont worry, im sure a devaluation will hit AS sooner than later.
Completely agree! Feels way overdue. Until then...
Flying for Fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 18, 11:46 pm
  #447  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5
Hi all, long-time lurker here.

Thanks to all the help here, I managed to price a full J SCL-NRT RT itinerary that allows me to reach places I always wanted to visit, as well as try out and compare a range of OW products. 7 outbound and 8 return segments that price as £3k on ITA and £3.3k on Priceline, giving me 1820TP at 1.8£/TP (1x160TP MAD-SCL, 11x140TP, 3x40TP), 68k Avios and over 80h spent in the air (!) that should take me within very close reach of GGL.

Three questions:
a) I can somehow only manage to price up 15 segments with Priceline. Adding a 16th segment won't price with Priceline no matter what I try. As a BAEC, an extra 40+ TP (e.g. short Japan domestic hop) would be sweet. Any advice on this? I already maxed out 125% MPM on the 7-segment outbound (100 miles left) so trying to add a 9th segment on the return may be a problem due to symmetry (or am I overthinking this)?
b) Priceline can only give me a price if I don't include any stopovers. Ideally I'd like to have one on my way back in MAD so I can have some rest and take the last MAD-SCL of my itinerary a month later for a South America trip. I swear it priced just fine when I tried yesterday but now it doesn't work no matter what I do. Any advice? Can I mess with the URL somehow?
c) As aforementioned, Priceline charges about £300 more in taxes and surcharges. As far as I know, I can't see a breakdown unless I enter payment information. Is there any way to see what this is and ideally any way to reduce this?

Many thanks in advance!

EDIT: Also, is there any way to pay Priceline in GBP?
EDIT2: Edited wording for clarification

Last edited by SCLNRT; Jul 23, 18 at 2:15 am
SCLNRT is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 18, 12:30 am
  #448  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: AA EXP/LTP 4MM, BA GGL/CCR, HH Dia, SPG Plat/LTP
Posts: 8,837
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post
Finally booked tonight. I couldnt get my #1 option to ticket. I had to use my back up option. Not sure why the original wasnt ticketing. #1 routing was AKL-PPT-IPC-SCL-GRU-FCO-DOH-CGK-NRT


Ended up ticketing AKL-PPT-IPC-SCL-GRU-JNB-DOH-CGK-NRT



Booked via AA. Looks like AA dropped the QR YQ too as the ticket only cost $2070 USD.

All flights booked under a oneworld marketing carrier so earnings should look like this when crediting to AA


Thanks for all the advice and help from everyone on this forum. Especially Flying For Fun
Congrats on a great itinerary, even if only was your second choice.

Just a minor remark on your EQM&EQD calculations. From August 18, LA fare class has been devaluated, crediting to AA. Presently as you posted, EQM 0,5 and EQD 10%. Sadly will be EQM 0,25 and EQD 5% in four weeks
onobond is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 18, 12:41 am
  #449  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 95
Originally Posted by SCLNRT View Post
Hi all, long-time lurker here.

Thanks to all the help here, I managed to price a full J SCL-NRT RT itinerary that allows me to reach places I always wanted to visit, as well as try out and compare a range of OW products. 7 outbound and 8 return segments that price as £3k on ITA and £3.3k on Priceline, giving me 1820TP at 1.8£/TP (1x160TP MAD-SCL, 11x140TP, 3x40TP), 68k Avios and over 80h spent in the air (!) that should take me within very close reach of GGL.

Three questions:
a) I can somehow only manage to price up 15 segments with Priceline. Adding a 16th segment won't price with Priceline no matter what I try. As a BAEC, an extra 40+ TP (e.g. short Japan domestic hop) would be sweet. Any advice on this? I already maxed out 125% MPM on the 7-segment outbound (100 miles left) so trying to add a 9th segment on the return may be a problem due to symmetry (or am I overthinking this)?
b) I can price only without any stopovers. Ideally I'd like to have one on my way back in MAD so I can have some rest and take the last MAD-SCL of my itinerary a month later for a South America trip. I swear it priced just fine when I tried yesterday but now it doesn't work no matter what I do. Any advice? Can I mess with the URL somehow?
c) As aforementioned, Priceline charges about £300 more in taxes and surcharges. As far as I know, I can't see a breakdown unless I enter payment information. Is there any way to see what this is and ideally any way to reduce this?

Many thanks in advance!

EDIT: Also, is there any way to pay Priceline in GBP?
b) try minconnect if you were using Matrix.
HypnoticSpecter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 18, 2:14 am
  #450  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Programs: BA Gold
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by HypnoticSpecter View Post


b) try minconnect if you were using Matrix.
Sorry, I meant that my itinerary on Matrix is already built, but I cannot feed it to Priceline in a way that it generates a price for me. But it works completely fine without any stopover in my routing.

Out of curiosity, also tried introducing a long minconnect value on the last two legs, but Matrix cannot find any flights for minconnect>3000 (50h), I guess that's around the largest allowed parameter for minconnect?

Edit: Even when introducing a modest layover of 25h on my last leg, Priceline cannot price it for me. Very annoying!

Last edited by SCLNRT; Jul 23, 18 at 2:21 am
SCLNRT is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: