Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Mileage Run Deals
Reload this Page > La/++ akl-scl-mad-hnd 570

La/++ akl-scl-mad-hnd 570

Reply

Old May 17, 18, 6:15 am
  #301  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 206
Originally Posted by Flying for Fun View Post
Interesting, and not crossing a single ocean! I am crediting to AS so my airline choices are limited. My itinerary is KE, QF, LA, LA, EK, EK, KE & CX. Not all LA flights credit to AS either which is challenging as well. IB is a no go too.

Maybe I should do a run to try some of these other airlines. I don't know though if status with OW would be of value. I will have to look into it further.

BA flies JNB-CPT as well. Operated by ComAir with BA livery. I flew it in January. Y seat, exit row, checked luggage, hot meal with wine. $65 USD

James
Not sure what the earnings are but I can get this to price out for approx $1500 euros via power tools. Should be eligible for credit to AS for all legs but AKL-PPT


You can probably shorten the trip too. I have MINCONNECT 8:00 hrs
sgan317 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 9:02 am
  #302  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: YVR/LAX/PVG/TPE
Posts: 200
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post
Not sure what the earnings are but I can get this to price out for approx $1500 euros via power tools. Should be eligible for credit to AS for all legs but AKL-PPT


You can probably shorten the trip too. I have MINCONNECT 8:00 hrs
great trip!
just a little nit pick: LA5410 is a codeshare operated on IB metal, which will not earn anything on AS. Just a little change to LA Chile's own flight (sub 1000s) or if you find availability an issue, transit in LIM always gets you marvelous availability for LA2484 to MAD. (note: LA does not have a lounge in its principal hub LIM, insane!)
beyounged is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 9:05 am
  #303  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond, GHA Black, BA Gold, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 655
Anybody know why a SEZ stopover doubles the price?
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 1:42 pm
  #304  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 151
Originally Posted by ChocolateFactory View Post
Anybody know why a SEZ stopover doubles the price?
I'm having the same issue, there must be some weird rules governing where the stopover could be. Stopover in DXB is fine for example.
nkvuong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 2:15 pm
  #305  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 423
Originally Posted by nkvuong View Post
I'm having the same issue, there must be some weird rules governing where the stopover could be. Stopover in DXB is fine for example.
Did you.try arriving in SEZ with one carrier and departing with another ?
ElJudioErrante is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 2:19 pm
  #306  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 206
Originally Posted by ElJudioErrante View Post
Did you.try arriving in SEZ with one carrier and departing with another ?
Doesnt work. I can get arriving into SEZ on QR,EY, or EK and departing on UL to show up on Matrix for 2900 NZD but the problem is when you go to price it with power tools it comes out 3-4x higher
sgan317 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 4:40 pm
  #307  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AA, AS Gold 75K, BA, Marriott & SPG Platinum
Posts: 396
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post
Doesnt work. I can get arriving into SEZ on QR,EY, or EK and departing on UL to show up on Matrix for 2900 NZD but the problem is when you go to price it with power tools it comes out 3-4x higher
What dates and routing are you trying. Try MAD-LHR and then BA63 to SEZ. EK will get you to DXB and your choice from there. I get a similar price in CAD.

James
Flying for Fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 4:44 pm
  #308  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Europe
Programs: SPG Plat, Hilton Diamond, GHA Black, BA Gold, A3 Gold, Sixt Diamond
Posts: 655
BA SEZ EK DXB works, but when you add a stopover (>24h) in SEZ, the price almost doubles.

ExpertFlyer shows two prices for this I fare, but I cant figure out what leads to the selection of the higher price. The fare rules are identical...?
ChocolateFactory is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 4:55 pm
  #309  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 206
Originally Posted by Flying for Fun View Post
What dates and routing are you trying. Try MAD-LHR and then BA63 to SEZ. EK will get you to DXB and your choice from there. I get a similar price in CAD.

James


That is actually able to price now, but its kicking into Y for LHR-SEZ
sgan317 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 18, 5:44 pm
  #310  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: British Columbia
Programs: AA, AS Gold 75K, BA, Marriott & SPG Platinum
Posts: 396
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post

That is actually able to price now, but its kicking into Y for LHR-SEZ
I just checked BA63 on April 3rd and there isn't any R space available. It is probably too soon. Only full fare classes at this time. F2, J9, W9, Y9, and B9.

That is why you are getting Y as there isn't any discounted J to move up into.

James
Flying for Fun is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 18, 3:12 am
  #311  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 151
There are a number of absurd routings, as long as it stays under MPM. I managed to price out SCL-MAD-XXX-NBO-XXX-NRT where XXX could be DXB, DOH or AUH. No stopover though...
nkvuong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 18, 6:02 am
  #312  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 206
Originally Posted by nkvuong View Post
There are a number of absurd routings, as long as it stays under MPM. I managed to price out SCL-MAD-XXX-NBO-XXX-NRT where XXX could be DXB, DOH or AUH. No stopover though...
Any idea what that amount is?
I can't get SCL-LON-PER-NRT to price out (22k miles)
I can get SCL-MAD-JNB-HKG-NRT to price out (21k)
I can't get SCL-SYD-DOH-NRT to price out (19k)

Theres lots of inconsistency with this fare.
sgan317 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 18, 7:30 am
  #313  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: YVR/LAX/PVG/TPE
Posts: 200
what I learned about this ticket after playing around for half a year is that it is inherently broken, so do not try too hard to overthink about it. For all the tickets I bought, 18500 km each way seems to be the maximum I could do. I think it is all about availability. For certain destinations to work, it HAS to have appropriate fare class available on ALL segments, so the more carriers and segments you involve, the less likely that it will price out. When you get super greedy and want to route c2 to c3 via c6, your chance of success is astronomically small. Currently enjoying my time in MLA because DBV did not work out on the ticket, as V class was all sold out on AY for months no end, but I am not even mad because MLA is better than home!
beyounged is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 18, 7:36 am
  #314  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: London
Programs: BAEC Gold
Posts: 151
Originally Posted by sgan317 View Post
Any idea what that amount is?
I can't get SCL-LON-PER-NRT to price out (22k miles)
I can get SCL-MAD-JNB-HKG-NRT to price out (21k)
I can't get SCL-SYD-DOH-NRT to price out (19k)

Theres lots of inconsistency with this fare.
SCL-LON is not allowed, per this restriction
IF THE FARE COMPONENT INCLUDES TRAVEL BETWEEN SOUTH
AMERICA AND EUROPE
THEN THAT TRAVEL MUST BE ON
ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING
ANY JJ FLIGHT
ANY PZ FLIGHT
ANY LA FLIGHT
ANY XL FLIGHT
ANY 4M FLIGHT.
SYD-DOH-NRT might count as backtracking, so won't price out I think
nkvuong is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 18, 7:44 am
  #315  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: MIA
Posts: 206
Originally Posted by beyounged View Post
theoretically, SEZ is definitely possible. Heck, I have priced out MRU, TNF, RVN, etc. it does not have to be 100% easterly. trick is to use more OW carriers, but I have not personally tried SEZ because I have already been, but try SCL-MAD-DOH-SEZ, SEZ-DOH-HKG-TYO, also you need to specify routing or Matrix gets confused, so if you just leaving routing controls blank it will get overwhelmed and return no results, and if you put MAD DOH in it then you may get some luck. AY has the best availability, but RJ can help too.
Just curious, what was the routing for MRU?
sgan317 is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread