Doha: 14 Hour Layover

Old Mar 10, 19, 8:52 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: BAEC Silver, Sixt Platinum
Posts: 14
Doha: 14 Hour Layover

Hello fellow travellers,

I'd kindly need some advice from you for a 14 hour layover in Doha. We are arriving early in the morning at 5:30 am with QR booked in J and flying to BKK at 08:00 pm but unfortunately our stay doesn't qualify for the +Qatar stopover hotels. Is there a hotel you can recommend where we can rest a few hours and check in early? Also recommendations on what to do and to see are very much welcome.

Thanks in advance,
Rai
Raijin is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 7:46 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton IHG LH BA TK
Posts: 12,094
Originally Posted by Raijin View Post
Hello fellow travellers,

I'd kindly need some advice from you for a 14 hour layover in Doha. We are arriving early in the morning at 5:30 am with QR booked in J and flying to BKK at 08:00 pm but unfortunately our stay doesn't qualify for the +Qatar stopover hotels. Is there a hotel you can recommend where we can rest a few hours and check in early? Also recommendations on what to do and to see are very much welcome.

Thanks in advance,
Rai
I'm puzzled why you can't use QR's stopover plan. I think the minimum stay hurdle is 12 hours. If you are doing it yourself I'd contact a hotel reservation centre (Hilton, IHG etc), or a hotel directly, and explain you want a day room. For western chains there's a Doubletree and Holiday Inn Express/Crowne Plaza within walking distance of the souq and museum

There's a whole set of threads in the QR forum devoted to what to do on in Doha on short breaks between flights.

You might head over there and check out those threads.
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Mar 10, 19, 10:49 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Programs: BAEC Silver, Sixt Platinum
Posts: 14
I contacted QR on that matter and they told me that my booking did not qualify for the stopover programme because I did not use the Multi City Tool on their website to book the tickets.
Thank you, I will contact the hotels directly and ask for an offer and check out the other posts on Doha.
Raijin is offline  
Old Mar 11, 19, 1:36 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton IHG LH BA TK
Posts: 12,094
Originally Posted by Raijin View Post
I contacted QR on that matter and they told me that my booking did not qualify for the stopover programme because I did not use the Multi City Tool on their website to book the tickets.
Thank you, I will contact the hotels directly and ask for an offer and check out the other posts on Doha.
I've booked Qatar+ hotels on a couple of simple (but long!) connections.
Perhaps I was fortunate, and YMMV.
IAN-UK is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread