FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Middle East (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/middle-east-481/)
-   -   Best way to TLV or Eilat via Eastern Europe or Turkey? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/middle-east/1453613-best-way-tlv-eilat-via-eastern-europe-turkey.html)

TWA44 Mar 29, 2013 12:48 pm

Best way to TLV or Eilat via Eastern Europe or Turkey?

Hello, I am relatively new to Flyertalk and have only just started accumulating miles and points. I may not have enough for a September trip, and if I do not, I can buy tickets and use the miles/points for future travel. I am hoping that some of the veterans here can suggest the best ways to do the following:

Late August 2013 - Leave PDX (Portland, OR) for a city in eastern Europe or Turkey
Sept. 2 or 3 - arrive at TLV or ETH (the Eilat airport) in Israel
Around Sept. 23 - Fly from Israel back to PDX, possibly with a stop for a few days in ????

Rosh Hashanah starts on the evening of Sept. 4, and we want to arrive at Kibbutz Yahel around Sept. 3. The kibbutz is about 40 minutes north of Eilat and a few hours south of TLV.

I have flown to TLV many times but always directly from the states. I have never been to eastern Europe or Turkey. I will be traveling with my husband.

Starting in late November, my husband and I opened accts to get bonuses from US Airways MC Barclays, Hilton Amex, Chase Sapphire Preferred, Hilton Citi, AA Citi, and Club Carlson. I opened a US Airways MC Barclays. Once we finish our latest round of minimum spends (late April/early May) I will open a few more cards in my name. Here are our current miles/points balances, meager as they are:

Me:
AA 28,378
US 40,072 (plus 15,000 after completing extra spend to get more points)
Under 10,000 each in SW, Delta, UA

Husband:
Delta 48,914
AA 14,292 (plus 30,000 after completing spend for new card)
US 40,241
Hilton 88,596 (plus 50,000 after finishing spend for new card)
Points on old cc: 30,045