Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Mid-Atlantic
Reload this Page >

Can I buy laptop car charger -> empower adatpor at IAD?

Can I buy laptop car charger -> empower adatpor at IAD?

Old Sep 6, 08, 10:09 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K / CO PLT
Posts: 539
Can I buy laptop car charger -> empower adatpor at IAD?

Is there anywhere I could buy a laptop car charger -> empower adaptor at IAD?

I am flying today, and I realized i left my adaptor at my parents' house.

or does united have any of them on board?
saaws is offline  
Old Sep 6, 08, 12:04 pm
  #2  
JHV
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SEA
Programs: UA 1K, AS, *wood, DL
Posts: 175
If you are flying internationally UA has them in their duty free items. The connection is a bit odd in that you use your computer's power cord to plug in. It is only a two prong connection. I carry an adaptor for 3 prong in my bag of cords and things.
JHV is offline  
Old Sep 6, 08, 12:27 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: SFO/NYC
Programs: AA EXP, UA 1P*MillionMiler, SPG PLT, HYATT PLT
Posts: 1,087
Originally Posted by saaws View Post
Is there anywhere I could buy a laptop car charger -> empower adaptor at IAD?

I am flying today, and I realized i left my adaptor at my parents' house.

or does united have any of them on board?
If you're not there or in transit and can swing by a Radio Shack on the way, they have the iGo/iJuice adapters with multiple tips.

I've seen them at "Airport Wireless" stores, but I don't remember if I've seen one at IAD. According to their directory there's one in the middle of Concourse B. There's also a Brookstone there.
asya999 is offline  
Old Sep 6, 08, 2:42 pm
  #4  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Programs: UA/CO(1K-PLT), AA(PLT), QR, EK, Marriott(PLT), Hilton(DMND)
Posts: 9,539
Airport Wireless has them. It's a no-name brand one w/ a cigarette lighter/empower port at one end and a 110V AC receptacle at the other. I think it's $89.00 (was in there the other day looking around)
PhlyingRPh is offline  
Old Sep 6, 08, 3:08 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 328
Sure,they sell them. but you'll pay big bucks for them as they also sell you a converter which you don't need.

Most if not all laptops don't need the converter as you have the one that came with your laptop originally.

So, all you need is the plug adaptor.

Most laptop manufacturers have a travel power cord which includes the right tips while still allowing you to use your converter.
ualboston1k is online now  
Old Sep 6, 08, 8:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: SJU, LAX
Programs: UA MM
Posts: 134
A bit off topic, but I have seen that the adaptor/converter also will produce significant hum into the audio (at least my cheapo one does). I haven't had the problem on OZ or SQ where there is AC power available. Too bad UA doesn't just go to 110 v ac.
foothill is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: