Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Mid-Atlantic
Reload this Page >

Reagan get a facelift new runway for first-time since 1990s

Reagan get a facelift new runway for first-time since 1990s

Old May 22, 11, 11:39 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: American Airlines AAdvantage, Rapids Reward
Posts: 34,235
Reagan get a facelift new runway for first-time since 1990s

http://www.wjla.com/articles/2011/05...ift-60804.html

Washington-Nationals to get facelift a new runway for first-time since 1990s. It will plans to start constructed new runway & taxiway, too.
N830MH is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 7:50 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: south of WAS DC
Posts: 10,131
why are they not adding another 1-2000 feet to the south so they can land some decent planes on that runway. they can fill the potomac, and at 9000 feet, take at least some wide bodies and do transatlantics.
slawecki is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 9:10 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: VA, USA
Programs: Marriott LTT, United Club Life Member, UA *S
Posts: 995
Originally Posted by slawecki View Post
why are they not adding another 1-2000 feet to the south so they can land some decent planes on that runway. they can fill the potomac, and at 9000 feet, take at least some wide bodies and do transatlantics.
Transatlantics wouldn't work - no customs/immigration at DCA.
Annandaler is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 9:46 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Alexandria, VA
Programs: Delta GM, US Gold, Marriott Plat, SPG Plat
Posts: 101
During construction nights, anything landing after 11pm must land on runway 15/33 (5200 feet)

Started Last week.
RiverVisual19 is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 9:53 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: south of WAS DC
Posts: 10,131
Originally Posted by Annandaler View Post
Transatlantics wouldn't work - no customs/immigration at DCA.
there is for private flights. i sort of recall customs in the way back when. st thomas, bermuda and san juan wer done at location, but i sort of recall coming from canada in the 60's and think i went through customs somewhere at dca. also recall a duty free.

just because there is no c/i now no reason not to put one in

hoover had c/i.
slawecki is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 12:55 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, SPG PLT
Posts: 1,612
Originally Posted by RiverVisual19 View Post
During construction nights, anything landing after 11pm must land on runway 15/33 (5200 feet)

Started Last week.
Nice to know - my place will be a bit louder now...but at least it will be nice to watch planes come in (and in the rare case, leave) after 23h00.

I'll try to get some pictures of some planes coming low (if they come in going SouthEast) onto the Runway and take some pictures...

-jeremy
kmfdm91 is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 1:28 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: SJC
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 1,628
Originally Posted by Annandaler View Post
Transatlantics wouldn't work - no customs/immigration at DCA.
They could selectively allow TATL's that have preclearance facilities at departure, like SNN.

Of course, then they'd have to rename the airport, and it would be even more confusing when people still call it "National".
SFOSpiff is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 1:49 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: south of WAS DC
Posts: 10,131
Originally Posted by SFOSpiff View Post
They could selectively allow TATL's that have preclearance facilities at departure, like SNN.

Of course, then they'd have to rename the airport, and it would be even more confusing when people still call it "National".
they had direct flights to canada, & bermuda. are those gone?
slawecki is offline  
Old May 23, 11, 2:28 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Programs: American Airlines AAdvantage, Rapids Reward
Posts: 34,235
Originally Posted by slawecki View Post
they had direct flights to canada, & bermuda. are those gone?
No, they are not gone. DCA does still served nonstop DCA-BDA/YYZ/YUL/YOW.
N830MH is offline  
Old May 24, 11, 3:14 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Programs: BA blue, LH Senator, KQ (FB) gold
Posts: 8,215
With regard to multiple comments on this thread:

Customs/Immigration are cleared in Canada and Bermuda respectively for non-stops from these locations.

I think the EPA would probably object to extending the runway, by filling in the Potomac. As I am under the flight path, I personally would object as well. It is bad enough as it is.


Many people still use the name National because that is still the airport's name, just like we call BWI by that name rather than Marshall.
You want to go where? is offline  
Old May 24, 11, 5:08 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Programs: Delta Plat, HHonors Diamond, Marriott Silver
Posts: 567
Originally Posted by Annandaler View Post
Transatlantics wouldn't work - no customs/immigration at DCA.
It also won't work because there is a rule that DCA cannot have flights over 1,250 miles. They have some exceptions that amount to maybe a dozen flights per day heading out west. But it's a political hot potato.

http://upgrd.com/matthew/changes-pro...eter-rule.html
ColumbiaPete is offline  
Old May 25, 11, 10:33 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: AA/US - PlatinumPro; 1W Sapphire; HHonors - Silver; UA dirt
Posts: 5,572
Originally Posted by You want to go where? View Post
With regard to multiple comments on this thread:

Customs/Immigration are cleared in Canada and Bermuda respectively for non-stops from these locations.
This is correct. Certain governments have arrangements with the US Government to allow US CBP to do customs clearance in secure areas within certain airports on foreign soil.

19 CFR Sec. 101.5 provides the list:

Orangestad, Aruba
Freeport, Bahamas
Nassau, Bahamas
Bermuda
Shannon, Ireland
8 cities in Canada including Montreal, Ottawa, and Toronto
IADCAflyer is offline  
Old May 25, 11, 10:35 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: AA/US - PlatinumPro; 1W Sapphire; HHonors - Silver; UA dirt
Posts: 5,572
Originally Posted by ColumbiaPete View Post
It also won't work because there is a rule that DCA cannot have flights over 1,250 miles. They have some exceptions that amount to maybe a dozen flights per day heading out west. But it's a political hot potato.

http://upgrd.com/matthew/changes-pro...eter-rule.html
There are 12 beyond perimeter non-stops each day

3x PHX
1x LAS
2x SEA
1x LAX
4x DEN
1x SLC

More are proposed.
IADCAflyer is offline  
Old May 25, 11, 10:37 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: AA/US - PlatinumPro; 1W Sapphire; HHonors - Silver; UA dirt
Posts: 5,572
Originally Posted by N830MH View Post
http://www.wjla.com/articles/2011/05...ift-60804.html

Washington-Nationals to get facelift a new runway for first-time since 1990s. It will plans to start constructed new runway & taxiway, too.
A little misleading on the title. There are no new runways. They are rehabilitating the existing main 1/19 runway...
IADCAflyer is offline  
Old May 25, 11, 12:08 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Programs: UA 1K, AA PLT, SPG PLT
Posts: 1,612
Originally Posted by You want to go where? View Post
I think the EPA would probably object to extending the runway, by filling in the Potomac. As I am under the flight path, I personally would object as well. It is bad enough as it is.
Interesting...I'm curious where you are, but for me, the planes are barely noticeable, aside from the select few (MD-80s, etc) that I have to really try to listen to, otherwise, I wouldn't even know it.

I hear way more activity from the helicopters going to the south side of the airport and naturally the helicopters going to and from the pentagon (I'm on the North End of the airport, obviously).

I don't think the noise is bad at all, and especially with the minimal amount of flights in the evening, I don't know how people complain at all.

-jeremy
kmfdm91 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: