Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Mexico
Reload this Page >

Lounges in Cancun airport - OBSOLETE

Lounges in Cancun airport - OBSOLETE

Old Dec 6, 06, 4:56 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Programs: Delta, Starwood, Hilton
Posts: 440
Lounges in Cancun airport - OBSOLETE

Can anyone tell me which airlines have lounges in this airport. Also, there seems to be one lounge that you can pay for there--has anyone used it? Thanks
gungadin is offline  
Old Dec 6, 06, 12:36 pm
  #2  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Portland OR Double Emerald (QF and AA), DL PM/MM, Starwood Plat
Posts: 19,360
AA uses the Mexicana lounge. This is a recent arrangement (less than a year old), prior to this I think no US-based airline had a lounge at CUN. An alternative to using a lounge if you have to pay for it is to hang out at the TGIF restaurant upstairs, it is a lot like a lounge and has better margaritas.
number_6 is offline  
Old Dec 7, 06, 4:40 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Programs: Delta, Starwood, Hilton
Posts: 440
ahhh--thanks!
gungadin is offline  
Old Dec 11, 06, 8:07 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Programs: UA Lifetime 1K, MR Lifetime Plat, HH Gold, Delta Base, AA Base
Posts: 477
The AeroMexico lounge is also there, with access for SkyTeam partners.
bkramt1 is offline  
Old Dec 31, 07, 2:36 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Programs: UA Lifetime 1K, MR Lifetime Plat, HH Gold, Delta Base, AA Base
Posts: 477
This might be old news to some, but I just returned from Cancun this week (my yearly r&r trip) and departed from the new terminal. There are no airline lounges in terminal 3.

Last edited by bkramt1; Jan 3, 08 at 1:03 pm
bkramt1 is offline  
Old Jan 11, 08, 9:36 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: BDL
Programs: NWA Platinum, HHonors Diamond, SPG, YX, AA
Posts: 5,351
Is the AeroMexico lounge airside? Is it accesable from the Northwest Airline gates?
MKEbound is offline  
Old Jan 11, 08, 10:32 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 30,661
Originally Posted by bkramt1 View Post
This might be old news to some, but I just returned from Cancun this week (my yearly r&r trip) and departed from the new terminal. There are no airline lounges in terminal 3.
Are you sure? This is from the Priority Pass website:

Airport: cancun - International (CUN), Terminal 3
Lounge: business lounge

Location: Airside - after Security, exit the Duty Free Shop and turn right towards the 'Bubba Gump' restaurant. Turn right to the end of the hall where a sign indicates the Lounge entrance. The Lounge is only accessible to passengers departing on international flights.

Opening Hours: 08:00 - 21:00
Eastbay1K is offline  
Old Jan 12, 08, 3:12 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Programs: AA PLT
Posts: 281
I can't recall where I saw this recently, but I was looking at a map of Terminal 3 that had a space labeled "VIP Lounge" on it. We'll be there in 6 weeks.
chamonix is offline  
Old Jan 12, 08, 8:44 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 88,633
Originally Posted by Eastbay1K View Post
Are you sure? This is from the Priority Pass website:

Airport: cancun - International (CUN), Terminal 3
Lounge: business lounge

Location: Airside - after Security, exit the Duty Free Shop and turn right towards the 'Bubba Gump' restaurant. Turn right to the end of the hall where a sign indicates the Lounge entrance. The Lounge is only accessible to passengers departing on international flights.

Opening Hours: 08:00 - 21:00
Terminal 3 has a "Business Lounge" -- Priority Pass-affiliated -- that is not operated by any of the major US airlines flying out of there. When I looked into it this year, the door was locked and it looked empty -- I am not sure why that was the case late morning.

The US airlines that fly out of Terminal 3 -- including AA, DL, CO, NW, US, UA -- do not have their own or a partner airline lounge in that terminal.
GUWonder is offline  
Old Jan 12, 08, 8:49 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Watchlisted by the prejudiced, en route to purgatory
Programs: Just Say No to Fleecing and Blacklisting
Posts: 88,633
Originally Posted by MKEbound View Post
Is the AeroMexico lounge airside? Is it accesable from the Northwest Airline gates?
NW gates are in Terminal 3, and from there AeroMexico's terminal is not accessible on foot. Even to go from the terminal AeroMexico uses to the Terminal the major US airlines use requires a landside van transfer AFAIK and experienced.

If there is an airside transfer possibility, I was not informed of it when originating trips out of CUN on flights departing Terminal 3 this year.
GUWonder is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread