Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Mexico
Reload this Page >

Connecting in GDL / Guadalajara

Connecting in GDL / Guadalajara

Old Jan 22, 18, 5:38 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LAX, PRG, TLV
Programs: Delta AmEx Gold, United MileagePlus Explorer, Former Delta Silver Medallion & United Premier Silver
Posts: 113
Connecting in GDL / Guadalajara

For an upcoming work trip, I have three options of flights (SFO-MEX on AM, SFO-LAX-MEX on DL and AM, or SJC-GDL-MEX on Volaris) however if I choose Aeromexico instead of Volaris I am liable for the cost difference. In some sense I also prefer the Volaris flight because I live south of SJC but I'm concerned connecting in GDL will be overly complicated. I've not been able to find any information on what a connection in GDL is like.

I need to double check what the connect time is, but I'm curious how much time should be allotted between such a connection. Additionally, I'm curious if the level of service is substantially lower on Volaris than on Aeromexico.
okamzikprosim is offline  
Old Jan 22, 18, 5:57 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 30,585
Originally Posted by okamzikprosim View Post
For an upcoming work trip, I have three options of flights (SFO-MEX on AM, SFO-LAX-MEX on DL and AM, or SJC-GDL-MEX on Volaris) however if I choose Aeromexico instead of Volaris I am liable for the cost difference. In some sense I also prefer the Volaris flight because I live south of SJC but I'm concerned connecting in GDL will be overly complicated. I've not been able to find any information on what a connection in GDL is like.

I need to double check what the connect time is, but I'm curious how much time should be allotted between such a connection. Additionally, I'm curious if the level of service is substantially lower on Volaris than on Aeromexico.
I've never transited GDL, but you'll need to enter Mexico, go through immigration and customs formalities, bag re-drop, and then security for your departure. @ MEX, you need 2 hours for this (minimum) for comfort. GDL? Not sure, but I'd allow no less.
Are UA and AS not options? (Nonstops from SFO).
I've only flown AM up front (several times) - the main cabin service seems to be a pass of the drink cart, some sort of meal/snack, and perhaps another beverage cart. Flight distance SFO/MEX is similar to SFO/ORD. AM has a decent seatback IFE system in most of their aircraft.
Eastbay1K is offline  
Old Jan 22, 18, 8:11 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: LAX, PRG, TLV
Programs: Delta AmEx Gold, United MileagePlus Explorer, Former Delta Silver Medallion & United Premier Silver
Posts: 113
Originally Posted by Eastbay1K View Post
I've never transited GDL, but you'll need to enter Mexico, go through immigration and customs formalities, bag re-drop, and then security for your departure. @ MEX, you need 2 hours for this (minimum) for comfort. GDL? Not sure, but I'd allow no less.
Are UA and AS not options? (Nonstops from SFO).
I've only flown AM up front (several times) - the main cabin service seems to be a pass of the drink cart, some sort of meal/snack, and perhaps another beverage cart. Flight distance SFO/MEX is similar to SFO/ORD. AM has a decent seatback IFE system in most of their aircraft.
Thanks for this info.

For some reason, I am not being given the option of the UA flight and for AS I'm being required to fly on two PNRs. The only other option I'm being offered is AA, which after my last few flights I really, really want to avoid.

Is two one way bookings on different PNRs an issue for Mexican immigration if I did fly AS? I've had issues with this in some other countries (France, I'm looking at you), and don't want to make this mistake again, especially in one that has more formalities such as Mexico.
okamzikprosim is offline  
Old Jan 22, 18, 9:05 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 30,585
Originally Posted by okamzikprosim View Post
Thanks for this info.

For some reason, I am not being given the option of the UA flight and for AS I'm being required to fly on two PNRs. The only other option I'm being offered is AA, which after my last few flights I really, really want to avoid.

Is two one way bookings on different PNRs an issue for Mexican immigration if I did fly AS? I've had issues with this in some other countries (France, I'm looking at you), and don't want to make this mistake again, especially in one that has more formalities such as Mexico.
2 PNRs shouldn't be any issue. The worst is that someone is going to want to see proof of onward travel leaving the country. For the length of this flight, do yourself a favor and take a nonstop. Also, do yourself a further favor and avoid an LAX connection, which can only lead to unpleasantness and delays on the SFO/LAX segments.
Eastbay1K is offline  
Old Feb 19, 18, 8:34 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: gdl
Programs: Alaska
Posts: 11
Conecting in gdl must take you 2 hours in rush hours. About the services, volaris is a low cost airline so you will pay for everything; in AM you have complementary food and beverage

Last edited by JDiver; Feb 20, 18 at 9:24 am Reason: Clarify with punctuation
kjorobk is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread