Wiki Posts
Search

Mexico admission with close expiring passport

Search this Thread

Old Jun 15, 2017, 8:42 pm
Moderator: American AAdvantage

Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Originally Posted by sb3
Thanks JDiver. That's what I was afraid of.

Interestingly enough when I plugged her date of travel and passport expiration into the SkyTeam timatic page, it comes back that she can travel. Of course she doesn't have the passport in her possession now so it isn't worth mentioning.

I will take the suggestion above about calling her congressperson to see if they can shake it free.
I see that. I've been a resident of Mexico and travel to Mexico frequently. The Mexican authorities could overlook the six months requirement, but they're not supposed to. Unless things have changed recently, of course.

The ideal would be to show up with a passport expiring 15 July 2017 and have the Migración official limit the FMM to expire that date. That's logical and orderly.
Old Jun 16, 2017, 8:08 am
sb3

Programs: UA-1K
To close the loop.

SIL spoke to the Houston passport office this morning. They arranged for her to go to the Seattle passport office and they will give her a new one today, in time to fly tomorrow.
Old Jun 16, 2017, 10:32 am

Originally Posted by sb3
To close the loop.

SIL spoke to the Houston passport office this morning. They arranged for her to go to the Seattle passport office and they will give her a new one today, in time to fly tomorrow.
That's excellent news!

I hope the expediter refunds the fees.
Old Jun 19, 2017, 2:41 pm
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Glad things worked out ^

Originally Posted by JDiver