Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Mexico
Reload this Page >

CUN international connection

CUN international connection

Old Jul 27, 16, 1:21 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: SPG Gold, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 1,625
CUN international connection

Does CUN have the belt that MEX does for international to international connecting flights? Or do you have to do a totally new check in?

I have the option of CUN or MEX from PTY to IAH. I know MEX has the belt but the airport is a nightmare. Not that CUN is much better, but if it has the belt it seems better.
slickvik is offline  
Old Jul 28, 16, 9:28 am
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Over the Bay Bridge, CA
Programs: Jumbo mas
Posts: 30,585
CUN during certain peak times makes MEX seem like a rural airport. (Well, not quite exactly, but you get the point.)
Eastbay1K is offline  
Old Aug 2, 16, 6:32 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Heraklion, Greece
Posts: 6,541
Copa uses a different terminal than all US airlines. Thus, if your travel from PTY to IAH involves a combination of Copa and a second, American carrier, you'll have to change terminals at CUN: No fun, definitely! The same may apply for MEX to, but I don't know for certain.
KLouis is offline  
Old Aug 3, 16, 9:38 am
  #4  
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: NorCal - SMF area
Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
Posts: 61,502
Originally Posted by KLouis View Post
Copa uses a different terminal than all US airlines. Thus, if your travel from PTY to IAH involves a combination of Copa and a second, American carrier, you'll have to change terminals at CUN: No fun, definitely! The same may apply for MEX to, but I don't know for certain.
The thread for MEX shows there are two terminals there - the original on one side of the field, and a new terminal on the other side, connected by a train. MEX is to be completely redone at some point; AFAIK there are no plans for CUN.
JDiver is offline  
Old Aug 4, 16, 11:42 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MEM
Programs: ::US,UA,CO+ currently non-rev Plat
Posts: 127
Originally Posted by KLouis View Post
Copa uses a different terminal than all US airlines. Thus, if your travel from PTY to IAH involves a combination of Copa and a second, American carrier, you'll have to change terminals at CUN: No fun, definitely! The same may apply for MEX to, but I don't know for certain.
If you are connecting to a Copa flight (or other airlines in that terminal) you will have to clear immigration and then wait for a bus (or walk a long way) to the other terminal and then check in again.

I missed a CM connection to PTY a few years ago because of the long immigration line and lack of a bus to connect the terminals.

This was 5 years ago so maybe they've changed it for the better but I doubt it.
willcoop is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread