Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Americas > Mexico
Reload this Page >

Honeymoon in Cancun/Cabo. Looking for Hotels to book with Miles/Points. Any advice?

Honeymoon in Cancun/Cabo. Looking for Hotels to book with Miles/Points. Any advice?

Old Jul 3, 15, 9:04 pm
Original Poster

Honeymoon in Cabo (los cabos). Looking to use Miles/Points for Hotels. Any advice?

Hi,

I'm looking to book my honeymoon in Cabo, Mexico.
# nights: 8-10days
preference: nice hotel, all inclusive (I heard that might be hard)

I'm new to the miles/points game. I'd love to hear more about what hotel to book, etc..

Right now I have 150k in MR (amex plat), 70k in avios, 40k in AA.
I was thinking of opening some accounts (me+fiance) to get free hotel nights.
Ideas:
- Hyatt & Chase cards (2 free nights/card) for Hyatt Ziva (AI)
- Marriott JW Los Cabos (not opened yet.. is that too early for it?)
- Westin. 8.5k SPG/night with club access
- Sheralton 10k/night no club access

what hotels would you recommend? it's my first time planning a trip with hotels, so any help is appreciated

I can open other credit cards accounts too if other hotels have better deals.

thanks!

Last edited by switchyj; Jul 6, 15 at 11:39 pm
Old Jul 4, 15, 12:29 pm
Moderator: American AAdvantage, TAP, Mexico, Technical Support and Feedback, and The Suggestion Box

Programs: AA LT Plat; HH LT Diamond, Maître-plongeur des Muccis
I'd look over long term lodging plans and see what properties the best chain to serve you offer in both locations. See what's alteady bookable with what you have, see if by extending and earning more points or transferring you might be able to book what you want.

Congratulations!
Old Jul 4, 15, 3:59 pm
Original Poster

Fantastic!

If that can help, we both have excellent credit and could open a couple credit card accounts.

Thanks a lot!
Old Jul 4, 15, 10:02 pm

Programs: Hyatt Diamond, SPG Platinum, SW A-List & CP
Originally Posted by switchyj View Post
Fantastic!