Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How Would You Use 285,000 Points?

Search this Thread

Old Jun 16, 2005, 9:04 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold, former elite in several airlines, but don't fly as much now
How Would You Use 285,000 Points?

OK, I've been shelving the points for a few years, only using them for an occasional free night. Well, I'm at 285,000 now and thinking perhaps I should put them to use. I'd love your suggestions, as the options are many.

If you were going to spend 285,000 points, what would you spend it on?

I look forward to your suggestions.
Old Jun 16, 2005, 9:07 pm
Marriott Contributor Badge

Programs: Bonvoy Lifetime Titanium Elite
I would setup a contest, and donate them to the first responder of your question :-)
Old Jun 16, 2005, 9:28 pm

Programs: AA gold, UA Premier, HH Gold, *wood gold, PC gold
Originally Posted by jonathansullivan
I would setup a contest, and donate them to the first responder of your question :-)
LOL, nice try....

IMHO, the best way to use a large number of miles is intercontinental premium class tickets. Twice I've cashed in AA miles for Business class tickets to Australia. ^
Saved myself SEVERAL thousand dollars.

But I'm sure one of the experts here will come up with an even better usage!

Programs: Ex Marriot Platinum, CO Gold
Travel packages are the best usage of points... Just redeemed one, and I'm back up to about 110k already!

Programs: Marriott Gold, UA Nobody, Hertz Gold, Avis Select
The hotel + air packages are nice, good way to spend your points, depends which airline you participate in the code changes
Old Jun 16, 2005, 9:50 pm

Programs: AA - Exec Plat, Marriott Platinum Premiere; Lifetime Platinum;
Holland America - Cruise to Alaska - 250,000
Old Jun 16, 2005, 10:41 pm

Programs: AA 'kettle', Marriott Gold, ICH Gld, Hertz 5*