Suggestion on Making Up 50 Nights

Old Jun 15, 18, 3:19 pm
Original Poster
2019 FlyerTalk Awards

Programs: Delta PM, National Executive Elite, Avis First, Starwood Lifetime Platinum
Suggestion on Making Up 50 Nights

Hello all - So, I'm an SPG member being converted over to Marriott. I have already earned Lifetime Platinum Elite. Today I received an email telling me that if I stay 750 nights by year end, I'll be aware Lifetime Platinum PREMIERE Elite. Right now I have 700 nights in my account. So.....I'll probably spend about 10 nights for work at one of their properties. Anyone have a suggestion on how I could grab 40 nights without breaking my bank? I thought about calling up a local Marriott or Starwood hotel and seeing if they'll give me a "great rate" for a 40 night stay. On the flip side, I have no experience with Marriott and don't even know if the Premiere level of Platinum Elite is worth whatever I would spend to earn it by year end. Any tips? Advice?
Old Jun 15, 18, 3:37 pm

Programs: LTP, PP
See here for a way to manufacture 10 night per meeting economically, especially in greater ATL IIRC.

Platinum Status in Eight Days and $800 - No Stays Required

As for the worth, that's very subjective and IME, a Marriott property by property dependent delivered perk.

And as we enter a brave new merged world (and have a over-payed acquisition to pay for), I surmise cuts have got to be coming after the initial combination. But I am of the sky is falling camp...
Old Jun 15, 18, 3:38 pm
2019 FlyerTalk Awards

Programs: No more airline loyalty for me: ex-TWA, ex-NWA, ex-DL - Hilton Diamond, IHG Plat Amb
Check out the thread on meetings:
10 nights credit for a "meeting".
Old Jun 15, 18, 4:02 pm

Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Do you really not have a single night at Marriott? Or is your 700 combining the two?