Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Discontinued Programs/Partners > Marriott | Rewards
Reload this Page >

Just completed honeymoon w/ Marriott points

Old Jul 5, 17, 11:03 am
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott

Hi all,

I'm new to this message board so please forgive me if lingo is not up to speed. I wanted to share our most recent experience with Marriott Rewards.

My (now) husband and I (!!) got married on June 3 in Nashville, TN. We chose the downtown Courtyard Marriott as our hotel room block for our guests. We received 28k points for "hosting an event here" so that was great!

We opened up the Marriott Rewards credit card last July (2016) when we were renovating our house and received the sign up bonus and accrued a healthy amount of points from basic spending.

We saved all of our points for our honeymoon and here is how we used them... The stays in ATL and NYC were due to flight delays/cancellations but we were lucky to have points to cover these surprise expenses!
  1. 1 night in the Atlanta Airport Marriott (35k points)
  2. 1 night in the Fairfield Inn & Suites NY Manhattan Times Square (paid w/ $ because rate was so cheap)
  3. 3 nights in the Boscolo Exedra in Nice, France (80k points) - we were upgraded to a room with a bathtub, champagne, dessert, and roses were in the room upon arrival. I can't remember the name of the room.
  4. 2 nights in the Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place (30k points + paid for one night) - we were upgraded to an executive suite and given access to the lounge (even though we are Silver members)
  5. 1 night in the SpringHill Suites NY LGA Airport (30k points)

Overall, it was a great experience staying in mostly Marriotts for the trip. I would highly recommend the Boscolo Exedra in Nice and the Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place. The lounge in Brussels was fantastic with great appetizers and nice selection of self serve wine and beer.