Wiki Posts
Search

TownePlace Suites

Search this Thread

Old May 29, 2013, 2:45 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott, Hilton, United, Southwest
TownePlace Suites

I'm new to this Flyertalk thing...I have been living off and on at a TownePlace Suites and am not really getting that many points from my stays, especially because I have the Marriott Premier Card. Can someone explain to me or send me a link where I can see the different categories of points earned from the different Marriott hotels or are they all the same? I am silver now, will be gold with a few more nights and platinum by July.
Old May 29, 2013, 2:56 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: UALifetimePremierGold, Marriott LifetimeTitanium
First, Welcome to Flyertalk!

Unfortunately for you TownePlace Suites only earn 5 points/$ spend vs the normal 10 points/$ spend. Also, no points for incidentals. Plus as Silver you're not getting the extra 30%/50% (Gold/Plat) bonus, which will kick in when you reach those levels.

This link shows all the hotel brands/earnings.

https://www.marriott.com/rewards/earn-points/points.mi

If you have the flexibility of switching to a full earning points property either for room rate (ie, Springhill Suites, Courtyard, for example) or a full service property for room+incidentals you'll earn more.

Also, if you haven't done it yet, definitely register for the Summer MegaBonus promo!

Again, Welcome to Flyertalk!

Cheers.
Old May 29, 2013, 3:28 pm
Original Poster

Thanks for your response!
I have another question...We are staying at the JW in Phuket for our honeymoon in December. I booked the room with points but it was 245,000 points and I only have 145,000 points right now. I should be able to get the 245,000 points in time but what would happen if I didn't? Also, it says I need to order e-certificates?

I will be platinum by that time, will there be an upgrade included even though I booked a one-bedroom oceanfront suite? Arrival gift? Other perks?