74 or 75 nights (Gold/Platinum Q)

Old Nov 7, 12, 2:35 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott, Virgin Atlantic, BA
74 or 75 nights (Gold/Platinum Q)

This year I've travelled a lot with work (UK based), and will end up with approx. 75 nights.

Now, next year, there's no guarantee that I will travel as much. Bearing in mind the massive difference between silver and gold (and the relatively small difference between gold and platinum), what would you do in this situation:

Stay on 74 nights, therefore being gold for 2013, and rolling over 24 nights (= 26 nights to retain gold for 2014).

Or get 75 nights therefore rolling over none..

Is that how it works? This is my first year in a hotel loyalty scheme, so sorry for the novice question!

Thanks
Old Nov 7, 12, 2:49 pm

Programs: BA Silver, Marriott Platinum
Yes, this is exactly how it works. It depends on how many nights you're likely going to stay next year.

By the way, in the UK you can get the Marriott Rewards Credit Card which will give you 10 bonus elite nights every year (i.e. you'll only need 40 actual nights for Gold since you'll get 10 bonus nights for having the credit card).

If you think you'll stay 40 nights next year, I'd apply for the credit card and stay 75 nights. Otherwise go for 74 nights and apply for the credit card in January.

One more caveat I see: I've read that Marriott has given Platinum status to people who haven't reached 75 nights but got very close to it. If this would happen, it would obviously defeat your plan. I'm not sure how likely this is though... maybe others can comment.
Old Nov 7, 12, 2:51 pm

Programs: United 1K, MR Plat, SPG Plat
Welcome to Flyertalk!

Depends...

Sometimes if you are short 1 or 2 nights MR may bestow platinum status on you. I have been renewed Plat status when I was 7 nights short a few years ago. But I have heard of others being 2 - 3 nights short a not getting Plat status. So it is not definite.