Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

Marriott Bonvoy Hotels in or near Mexico City

Marriott Bonvoy Hotels in or near Mexico City

Old Oct 17, 2002, 10:49 am
Original Poster

Arrow Marriott Bonvoy Hotels in or near Mexico City

I am a Platinum member attending a conference in Mexico City the week of Oct 28th. The conference will be held at the Galeria Plaza (formerly a Westin). The dilemma is whether to stay there with no points or stay at the Sheraton Maria Isabel. Does anyone have any advice on the better property? Are they close to each other? Normally I am an automatic sucker for the points, but this is my first time in Mexico and I may feel more comfortable staying at the same location as the conference. Any comments would be most appreciated!
Old Oct 17, 2002, 11:11 am

I am a very frequent traveler to Mexico City.

I have stayed at both properties. I would stay at the Sheraton. It is very close. One and a half blocks away. Tha walk is not bad except for crossing Reforma.

The Galeria Plaza was going downhill when it was a Westin. I have walked by it a few times this past year and it was looking "scrungy".

For the points I would pick the Sheraton.
Old Oct 17, 2002, 12:12 pm

CMH-traveler is right, the Sheraton (Sheraton Maria Isabel Hotel and Towers) is nicer and not far, just off Reforma on the other side of Paseo de la Reforma.
If your meeting/schedule allows it, you should select the Sheraton.
Old Oct 17, 2002, 6:19 pm

Location: AC Million Miler & long time SE; StarwoodPlat for 10+ yrs & lifetime Gold; Hilton Honours Diamond; IC Ambassador; AMEX Plat;Avis Presidents Club; Airmiles GOLD; and just about everything else!
Programs: aeroplan & 25+year loyalty
I have stayed many times at the Galeria but not since it was a Westin. Do not know the Sheraton but it is nearby.