Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

When Moving Up in Status, Do You Need to Rebook Prior Reservations?

When Moving Up in Status, Do You Need to Rebook Prior Reservations?

Old Jun 22, 20, 5:42 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: AA EXP, UA*G MM, HH Dia, Hyatt Expl, MR Gold, IHG Plat
Posts: 4,342
When Moving Up in Status, Do You Need to Rebook Prior Reservations?

In order to gain the benefits of the enhanced status, that is. Thanks!
Explore is offline  
Old Jun 22, 20, 5:56 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SFO
Posts: 3,058
Originally Posted by Explore View Post
In order to gain the benefits of the enhanced status, that is. Thanks!
ime, no but the property themselves will need to refresh your status onsite sometimes. Plus if not refreshed prior to arrival, you might be cut from pre upgrades so I would call or rebook if the rates are the same.
myperks is offline  
Old Jun 22, 20, 6:17 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Atlanta but Washington DC will always be home.
Programs: Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, Accor Gold, Airlines with non-stops to where I'm going
Posts: 1,693
What myperks says. No need to do anything before arrival at property if you don't care about upgrades - it just takes the clerk a moment to refresh your profile and all of your other bennies don't depend on check-in.

QUOTE=myperks;32477308]ime, no but the property themselves will need to refresh your status onsite sometimes. Plus if not refreshed prior to arrival, you might be cut from pre upgrades so I would call or rebook if the rates are the same.[/QUOTE]
dcstudent is offline  
Old Jun 22, 20, 8:54 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Texas
Programs: Hyatt Explorist ex-Diamond; Marriott Platinum Life; Hilton, AA, United ex-status
Posts: 2,068
It is one circumstance where carrying your new Bonvoy Status card does some good. Just hand it over with the payment card. Or tell them you have just been promoted. At least in the olden days they had to look and refresh.
jayer is offline  
Old Jun 22, 20, 9:03 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: New York, NY
Programs: AA CK, A3 Gold, spg100
Posts: 3,854
If you can and with no penalty or increase in price, do it. I missed out on many upgrades when I moved up to Platinum. Took me at least 4-5 stays to figure it out.
justforfun is online now  
Old Jun 22, 20, 9:26 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 27,405
Originally Posted by justforfun View Post
If you can and with no penalty or increase in price, do it.
Exactly. I only remember one benefit that was based on earliest reservation date, and I don't know if that's even still the case (SNA?). If it's just a straightforward reservation, at the same or lower price, it won't hurt.

If the cost has gone up - the odds of if making a difference are small, so I wouldn't bother.
CPRich is offline  
Old Jun 23, 20, 1:01 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, MM, NR; HH Diamond, Bonvoy Gold, Hyatt Explorist, IHG Spire, others
Posts: 11,777
Originally Posted by myperks View Post
ime, no but the property themselves will need to refresh your status onsite sometimes. Plus if not refreshed prior to arrival, you might be cut from pre upgrades so I would call or rebook if the rates are the same.
Call the hotel (or write to them) and tell them your status changed. They should refresh and you'll get the appropriate perqs when you check in.
SPN Lifer and nexusCFX like this.
sethb is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: