Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

Hilton portfolio overtakes Marriott in brand value; Marriott declines 30% from 2018

Hilton portfolio overtakes Marriott in brand value; Marriott declines 30% from 2018

Old May 10, 19, 9:55 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA 1K, Marriott BonVoy LT Titanium Elite, National Executive Elite

I work in the travel industry and this just came across in a GBTA bulletin...

"Hilton remains world’s most valuable individual hotel brand with 17% growth, Marriott’s portfolio drops to second place as the value of its brands in the Brand Finance Hotels 50 ranking decreases by 30%, giving way to Hilton."

Article below:

https://www.4hoteliers.com/news/story/19316
markko likes this.
Old May 10, 19, 10:04 am
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend

Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Some interesting quotes:

Meanwhile, Marriott suffered a reduction in brand value (down 8% to US$5.0 billion) and its brand strength dropped from AAA- to AA+. Marriott has faced several challenges in the North American market from hacking scandals to persistent problems with its loyalty schemes. At the same time, the combined value of Marriott’s brands within the Brand Finance Hotels 50 ranking decreased by 30%, giving way to Hilton’s brand portfolio to claim the title of the world’s most valuable.
And:
the three fastest-falling brands this year (Westin – down 46%, Residence Inn – down 46%, and Sheraton – down 44%), and altogether 7 out of the bottom 10 worst-performing brands, are part of the Marriott portfolio, dragging its combined value down.
I have no idea how credible this source is, but obviously these comments will resonate here.
Old May 10, 19, 10:41 am
Suspended
Marriott 25+ BadgeAman Contributor Badge

Programs: Marriott Ambassador and LTT, UA Plat/LT Gold, AA Gold