Marriott App Discussion Thread

Old Jan 22, 19, 12:05 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: York, PA
Programs: MRSPG LT Tit, HH Diamond, Hertz Pres.
Posts: 1,704
Marriott App Discussion Thread

Been trying both apps since 7am. Wifi and Mobil networks, always saying connections issues
etsmyers is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 12:16 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: COS
Programs: UA Gold/1.5MM (several years running now!), Marriott LTTE, Hertz Prez
Posts: 1,884
Was just able to sign out of and back into the MR app.
CCIE_Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 12:40 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere in Florida
Posts: 2,001
Just tried it from the US/East Coast and it's working unusually fast today.
KRSW is offline  
Old Jan 22, 19, 5:01 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 25,659
Both are working for me. The SPG app has a popup that says it will stop working when the consolidated, updated app is released, but then works fine.
CPRich is online now  
Old Jan 27, 19, 10:18 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AC E50K, AS MVPG, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Delta/United Gold
Posts: 2,797
2019 Elite Qualification for 2020 - Confusing App Info

Screenshot from my SPG app.

Is this saying I only need 8 more nights to renew Plat? It can't be, can it?


Repooc17 is offline  
Old Jan 27, 19, 10:38 pm
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite*; WoH Dis
Posts: 49,548
Maybe we should have a consolidated thread for all these obvious errors?
EuropeanPete and CCIE_Flyer like this.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 7:24 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.5MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 19,892
When you see something on the app or web site that looks a bit off, just assume it's Yet Another Marriott IT Fail
UA-NYC is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 7:41 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto vicinity
Programs: UA 1K, AC MM E50, SPG P100, Marriott Plat, Fairmont Plat
Posts: 12,763
Originally Posted by mahasamatman View Post
Maybe we should have a consolidated thread for all these obvious errors?
We do.

https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/marr...ebsite-50.html

And this issue has been reported before.
margarita girl is offline  
Old Jan 28, 19, 9:56 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: YQR
Programs: Nexus/GE, UA/MP 1K,Bonvoy Tit, LTG
Posts: 1,270
I kept getting the no connection error and had done so for several weeks. Couldn't see any reservations or search hotels effectively Uninstalled and reinstalled and it works now.
Fizzer is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 2:23 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Programs: AA, AS, UA, Marriott, Hilton
Posts: 271
Marriott app has terrible search results

I am in NYC. I’m booking hotels for China and the app suggests Chinese restaurants nearby as local landmarks and the actual cities don’t even appear in the search results until you add “China” after Beijing and Shanghai. Searching for “Dublin” yields Dublin, PA as the top result with the city in Ireland appearing nowhere.












BudgetJetsetter is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 3:51 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Programs: Amtrak Guest Rewards (SE), Virgin America Elevate, Hyatt Gold Passport (Platinum), VIA Preference
Posts: 1,879
Aren't the wonders of modern technology and artificial intelligence wonderful?
GrayAnderson is offline  
Old Jan 29, 19, 7:56 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DAY
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; Marriott LT Plat Premier (+AMB); Amex MR; Chase UR; Hertz PC; Global Entry
Posts: 7,504
I am amazed they don't have every airport code loaded into their system. It has gotten better...some show up, but not all of them.
goodeats21 is online now  
Old Jan 29, 19, 9:06 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.5MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 19,892
Why on earth does Marriott feel the need to load restaurants as results in the app? SMH.
Nurse Traveler likes this.
UA-NYC is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 9:02 am
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS 75K; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,486
Originally Posted by BudgetJetsetter View Post
I am in NYC. I’m booking hotels for China and the app suggests Chinese restaurants nearby as local landmarks and the actual cities don’t even appear in the search results until you add “China” after Beijing and Shanghai. Searching for “Dublin” yields Dublin, PA as the top result with the city in Ireland appearing nowhere.






The Beijing Duck House in Paoli, PA? You can't make this stuff up.
Kacee is online now  
Old Feb 4, 19, 9:36 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 284
My app negates the existence of Tokyo. When I search for Tokyo hotels it only returns the "Four Points Nagoya, Chubu Airport", the "Nagoya Marriott Associa Hotel" and the "Lake Biwa Marriott Hotel".
The only way I can book hotels in Tokyo with the app is to do a map search. That's fun.
KRSW likes this.
funkbandit is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: