Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

Marriott.com website : bugs, glitches and outages

Old Apr 10, 19, 11:57 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Jebby_ca
If you're here, you are obviously experiencing some issues with the web site. Our apologies for any inconvenience. We have an interest in giving you the best web experience possible, so here are some tips on how to get any problems resolved:

First of all, the web assistance team has this suggestion for you:

"We first suggest the normal steps of clearing their cache (temporary files) and cookies, logging out of their Marriott Bonvoy account online, then close all browser windows before trying again. Please note that clearing cookies may also remove any stored passwords in the browser.

It is important for them to log out to ensure no bad/old data is saved and so that the online account has a chance to refresh.

You may already be aware of this, but note that cache and cookies are 2 different things. The cache memory is what remembers old content for faster page loading and may cause errors after updates. Cookies are mostly only meant for tracking during the current session. Both can still remember old errors that may have existed in the browser."

You should also be aware that being on a VPN sometimes interferes with your browsing experience. Try browsing without being on a VPN and see if this fixes the issue.

If none of this resolves your issue(s), you can you can send an email to [email protected]ice.com along with any screenshots leading up to and including the error message.

It also helps if you include the following information in your email:

-What browser(s) have you tried? Is the issue happening over multiple browsers or just one?
-Are you using a desktop/laptop or a mobile device?
-If you are using mobile device does this issue persist when on a desktop/laptop?

Once we have this information, we can forward it on to the web assistance team for further review, so please be as complete as possible.

If you are having an issue with any of the Marriott Bonvoy apps, you can send the following information directly to the Marriott Bonvoy App team at [email protected]:

-What device and operating system are you using?
-What version of our app do you have installed?
-What is the problem you have encountered?
__________________
Best regards,

William R. Sanders
Social Media Specialist
Marriott International

[email protected]
Print Wikipost

Marriott.com website : bugs, glitches and outages

Old May 8, 19, 8:14 am
  #991  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: LAS
Programs: PA FT, TW Gold, NW/CO PE, VK Eagleflyer
Posts: 7,173
Originally Posted by SkiAdcock View Post
OP, you could have saved yourself a lot of aggravation by simply calling the property & asking if they saw the reservation canceled in their system & asked them for the cancel # booking with another chain.
Cheers.
McMarriott BonVoid - We’re too big to care

Last edited by Sabai; May 8, 19 at 8:25 am
Sabai is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 8:57 am
  #992  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 29,942
I'm trying to book a stay near where my wife is traveling tomorrow. It sure would be nice to have a map view of where all the properties are to understand the relative distance.

Other chains have that functionality. Marriott.com even has a "Map View" button. But apparently that actually means "big blank white screen View." In 4 browser, including Edge, the second time I've ever booted it up, so not an add-on, ad blocker, etc., issue.

I guess I'll just copy and paste every address into Google maps and make up my own Map View.

Or book elsewhere.
Smrtmom1 likes this.
CPRich is online now  
Old May 8, 19, 12:37 pm
  #993  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 28,957
Originally Posted by CPRich View Post
I'm trying to book a stay near where my wife is traveling tomorrow. It sure would be nice to have a map view of where all the properties are to understand the relative distance.

Other chains have that functionality. Marriott.com even has a "Map View" button. But apparently that actually means "big blank white screen View." In 4 browser, including Edge, the second time I've ever booted it up, so not an add-on, ad blocker, etc., issue.

I guess I'll just copy and paste every address into Google maps and make up my own Map View.

Or book elsewhere.
i just used the map view earlier this week to make a booking....just tried it again & it seems to be working fine with the firefox browser....
Keyser is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 12:42 pm
  #994  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SNA
Programs: Bonvoy LTTE/AMB, AmEx Plat, National EE, WN CP, CLEAR, Covid-19
Posts: 4,743
I find it interesting that for all the kvetching here, the last three properties I've stayed in (over three states in the last three weeks) have all had full parking lots; the website can't be that broken.
kennycrudup is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 2:36 pm
  #995  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: ARN
Programs: AC, Marriott
Posts: 1,008
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
i just used the map view earlier this week to make a booking....just tried it again & it seems to be working fine with the firefox browser....
It wasn't working in Chrome for me a couple days ago, Firefox worked fine and both browsers are working today.
TechnoTourist is online now  
Old May 8, 19, 5:25 pm
  #996  
Moderator, Delta Skymiles and Mileage Run
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Seat 2A
Programs: DL Diamond/MM, Hyatt Diamond, former AS MVPG 75K, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,808
The website now displays my reservations but the app will not. Tried logging out, clearing the app cache, etc. no dice.
ryandc99 is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 5:27 pm
  #997  
Company Representative, Marriott Bonvoy
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Programs: Marriott Bonvoy
Posts: 536
Originally Posted by ryandc99 View Post
The website now displays my reservations but the app will not. Tried logging out, clearing the app cache, etc. no dice.
Our apologies for any inconvenience. As it says in the wiki, if you are having an issue with any of the Marriott Bonvoy apps, you can send the following information directly to the Marriott Bonvoy App team at [email protected]:

-What device and operating system are you using?
-What version of our app do you have installed?
-What is the problem you have encountered?
Marriott Bonvoy Lurker is offline  
Old May 8, 19, 10:04 pm
  #998  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 29,942
Anyone care about the website? Or do we just report mobile app issues?
margarita girl and Smrtmom1 like this.
CPRich is online now  
Old May 8, 19, 10:04 pm
  #999  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Programs: MR/SPG LT Titanium, AA LT PLT, UA SLV, Avis PreferredPlus
Posts: 29,942
Originally Posted by Keyser View Post
i just used the map view earlier this week to make a booking....just tried it again & it seems to be working fine with the firefox browser....
To me, sometimes works, sometimes doesn't = doesn't work.

The fact that it works now doesn't help me last night.
yurtripper likes this.
CPRich is online now  
Old May 8, 19, 10:45 pm
  #1000  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere in Florida
Posts: 2,267
Originally Posted by kennycrudup View Post
I find it interesting that for all the kvetching here, the last three properties I've stayed in (over three states in the last three weeks) have all had full parking lots; the website can't be that broken.
Yep, the Kettles usually book via OTAs, which somehow manage to create websites which work, reliably, can sort by price, post stays properly, across multiple chains. Yet Marriott can't do this for a single system.
KRSW is offline  
Old May 9, 19, 2:29 am
  #1001  
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: SNA
Programs: Bonvoy LTTE/AMB, AmEx Plat, National EE, WN CP, CLEAR, Covid-19
Posts: 4,743
... then maybe you and your extraordinary insight (the one that lets you know they're all "Kettles") should be using an OTA site by now then since those seem to work?
kennycrudup is offline  
Old May 9, 19, 3:41 am
  #1002  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: India
Programs: Bonvoy Ambassador & Lifetime Titanium, IHG Plat, HH Gold, Trident Plat, DL Diamond, AI Maharajah
Posts: 28,957
Originally Posted by CPRich View Post
To me, sometimes works, sometimes doesn't = doesn't work.

The fact that it works now doesn't help me last night.
its not just the fact that it works 'now'....i only use firefox & have never had a problem loading the map....

i hate the marriott website....i think its terrible....but it doesn't change the fact that the map function has always worked for me whenever i have tried it....
Keyser is offline  
Old May 9, 19, 8:27 am
  #1003  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BOS
Programs: DL DM 2MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 14,174
Originally Posted by CPRich View Post
Anyone care about the website? Or do we just report mobile app issues?
I think so... based on how the functionality of the website has been the same (broken) for over a year and the almost all of same issues still exist since they rolled out the new site, its obvious that Marriott is not expending any resources to fix it.
rylan is offline  
Old May 13, 19, 7:16 am
  #1004  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: MSP
Programs: DL DM / 2MM - Marriott Lifetime Titanium
Posts: 1,440
My MAP view has not worked for over a week. When you click on it the best I get is the list of hotels on the left and a blank screen on the right. Anyone else have this issue?
lucycan is offline  
Old May 13, 19, 7:27 am
  #1005  
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: ARN
Programs: AC, Marriott
Posts: 1,008
Originally Posted by lucycan View Post
My MAP view has not worked for over a week. When you click on it the best I get is the list of hotels on the left and a blank screen on the right. Anyone else have this issue?
The map has been flakey for me recently. There are a some recent posts in this thread about it. Switching browsers (not working in Chrome, working in Firefox) has worked for me
TechnoTourist is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread