Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Hotels and Places to Stay > Marriott | Marriott Bonvoy
Reload this Page >

Marriott.com website : bugs, glitches and outages

Old Apr 10, 19, 11:57 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: Jebby_ca
If you're here, you are obviously experiencing some issues with the web site. Our apologies for any inconvenience. We have an interest in giving you the best web experience possible, so here are some tips on how to get any problems resolved:

First of all, the web assistance team has this suggestion for you:

"We first suggest the normal steps of clearing their cache (temporary files) and cookies, logging out of their Marriott Bonvoy account online, then close all browser windows before trying again. Please note that clearing cookies may also remove any stored passwords in the browser.

It is important for them to log out to ensure no bad/old data is saved and so that the online account has a chance to refresh.

You may already be aware of this, but note that cache and cookies are 2 different things. The cache memory is what remembers old content for faster page loading and may cause errors after updates. Cookies are mostly only meant for tracking during the current session. Both can still remember old errors that may have existed in the browser."

You should also be aware that being on a VPN sometimes interferes with your browsing experience. Try browsing without being on a VPN and see if this fixes the issue.

If none of this resolves your issue(s), you can you can send an email to [email protected] along with any screenshots leading up to and including the error message.

It also helps if you include the following information in your email:

-What browser(s) have you tried? Is the issue happening over multiple browsers or just one?
-Are you using a desktop/laptop or a mobile device?
-If you are using mobile device does this issue persist when on a desktop/laptop?

Once we have this information, we can forward it on to the web assistance team for further review, so please be as complete as possible.

If you are having an issue with any of the Marriott Bonvoy apps, you can send the following information directly to the Marriott Bonvoy App team at [email protected]:

-What device and operating system are you using?
-What version of our app do you have installed?
-What is the problem you have encountered?
__________________
Best regards,

William R. Sanders
Social Media Specialist
Marriott International

[email protected]
Print Wikipost

Marriott.com website : bugs, glitches and outages

Old Feb 26, 19, 9:24 pm
  #826  
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: bay area, ca
Programs: UA plat, , aa plat, marriott LT titanium
Posts: 4,642
Originally Posted by SkiAdcock View Post
9:51pm EDT. "We are temporarily unable to process requests for rates and availability."
There must be something wrong with my eyes What I see is:

"We clearly don't care about our customers or their ability to book. Please book somewhere that has computers that work."
KRSW and Smrtmom1 like this.

Last edited by estnet; Feb 26, 19 at 10:06 pm
estnet is online now  
Old Feb 26, 19, 10:02 pm
  #827  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Somewhere in Florida
Posts: 2,267
I can't wait to get my -SCvalue USD!

Smrtmom1 likes this.
KRSW is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 1:56 am
  #828  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Taiwan
Programs: IHG Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Gold, oneworld Emerald
Posts: 1,166
Originally Posted by C17PSGR View Post
Well ... making sure the website works is definitely a good start in the "ecosystem." Seriously, do they think everyone books via an app ....
App was not working either.
Smrtmom1 likes this.
barracuda93 is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 8:56 am
  #829  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: NYC
Programs: B6 Mosaic, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 119
I was able to make one reservation this morning but am now getting a 401 authorization required screen when I access Marriott.com. Off to Hyatt for my reservations for tonight and tomorrow night!
Smrtmom1 likes this.
Sallycat is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 9:41 am
  #830  
Hyatt Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kuwait (KW)
Programs: Qatar Airways, Hyatt, Hilton, Marriott, IHG
Posts: 2,276
Tried making a reservation at an AC in Barcelona earlier this evening; saw availability on the app, so went off to finish some errands and a half hour later, no results for all of Spain on the app. Tried doing the same reservation on my computer, got to the 'confirm reservation' page and after clicking confirm, I got an error page about the site experiencing technical issues. Tried again, same thing, so I called the Ambassador line who tried to work it through but got no availability for the same duration. I checked my e-mail and then saw two confirmation e-mails for the hotel in my inbox, so the reservations apparently went through... twice! Another call to the Ambassador service and one got cancelled.

Yeesh. Shame on Marriott and their total lack of having any semblance of IT sh_t together.

khabah
KRSW and Smrtmom1 like this.
khabah is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 11:17 am
  #831  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club, Marriott Bonvoy
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Englandshire
Programs: SPG LT Plat, BA G, BD*LG, MG Blue+ ...
Posts: 15,010
This I just don’t understand.

On my account profile on both the website and the app, there’s a message :

“For faster service, update your phone number and email address prior to contacting Member Support”

I updated it (though there was no reason to do so, as my contact details haven’t changed) and the messages are still there.

Any ideas why Bonvoy is asking me to update my details, and why/how an updated phone number and email address will get me ‘faster service’ ?
Smrtmom1 likes this.
Oxon Flyer is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 11:56 am
  #832  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Titanium, AA Lifetime Gold, United Premier Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 180
Originally Posted by Oxon Flyer View Post
Any ideas why Bonvoy is asking me to update my details, and why/how an updated phone number and email address will get me faster service ?
I don't know about the email address, but the phone number is so their answering system can route the call appropriately based upon status, now that they no longer have different phone numbers to call based upon status.
Smrtmom1 likes this.
AndWhatsYourPoint is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 12:03 pm
  #833  
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Programs: AA, Marriott Platinum, Hilton Diamond, Wyndham Diamond
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by AndWhatsYourPoint View Post
I don't know about the email address, but the phone number is so their answering system can route the call appropriately based upon status, now that they no longer have different phone numbers to call based upon status.
Except they don't route you. I called yesterday about 2 different reservations, and neither call was sent to anyone other than regular phone techs. I have Platinum, which isn't the best, I know, but used to have a dedicated line....
Smrtmom1 is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 12:04 pm
  #834  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Chicago
Programs: Hyatt Glob; UA 1K; BonVoyage LTT (RIP SPG); HH Dia; JX Insighter
Posts: 1,410
Originally Posted by AndWhatsYourPoint View Post
I don't know about the email address, but the phone number is so their answering system can route the call appropriately based upon status, now that they no longer have different phone numbers to call based upon status.
My phone number has always been in there. I still get the notice to update my phone number. Even funnier: to add a phone number, Marriott requires a TFA check...to my phone number.
Smrtmom1 likes this.
CLEguy is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 12:10 pm
  #835  
Moderator: British Airways Executive Club, Marriott Bonvoy
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Englandshire
Programs: SPG LT Plat, BA G, BD*LG, MG Blue+ ...
Posts: 15,010
Originally Posted by AndWhatsYourPoint View Post
I don't know about the email address, but the phone number is so their answering system can route the call appropriately based upon status, now that they no longer have different phone numbers to call based upon status.
If that really is the case, then the message should be For faster service, call us from the number on your profile. Update your number is an irrelevance.
Smrtmom1 likes this.
Oxon Flyer is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 12:21 pm
  #836  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Titanium, AA Lifetime Gold, United Premier Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 180
Originally Posted by Smrtmom1 View Post
Except they don't route you.
I know, but it's supposed to according to their marketing material.


Originally Posted by CLEguy View Post
My phone number has always been in there. I still get the notice to update my phone number.
Me too.

Originally Posted by Oxon Flyer View Post
If that really is the case, then the message should be For faster service, call us from the number on your profile. Update your number is an irrelevance.
I complete agree.
Smrtmom1 likes this.
AndWhatsYourPoint is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 12:42 pm
  #837  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: South Florida
Programs: AA LTG (EXP), Hilton Silver (Dia), Marriott LTP (PP), SPG LTG (P) > MPG LTPP
Posts: 11,329
Originally Posted by CLEguy View Post
My phone number has always been in there. I still get the notice to update my phone number. Even funnier: to add a phone number, Marriott requires a TFA check...to my phone number.
I think it was American Airlines IT that decided if your telephone number was on more than one account (such as monitoring your parent's accounts) then you were not deemed eligible to be routed to the premium support line. Point being, could be worse.
RogerD408 is offline  
Old Feb 27, 19, 8:51 pm
  #838  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Programs: UALifetimePremierGold, Marriott LifetimeTitanium
Posts: 69,724
Since some have mentioned moving stays to Hilton et al due to the IT cluster & Arne is still telling Wall Street it's just problems around the edges, I would encourage those who are booking elsewhere to:

* notify Arne or the BOD that you're booking elsewhere (w/ proof)
* send the same notification to (WSJ, USAToday, etc) w/ proof.

It's one thing to complain on FT where Marriott can hide it under the carpet or just think oh it's not a big deal, but it's another thing to let the media & the BOD/shareholders know.

BTW - 24 hours later, & MAR still thinks Frankfurt/Berlin are the same city & only 2 options in both.

Cheers.
SkiAdcock is offline  
Old Feb 28, 19, 12:09 am
  #839  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Programs: AA CK (3MM), Marriott LTT and Ambassador, Uber Diamond, UA Gold
Posts: 1,120
reservation completely disappeared

Today I had a Marriott reservation completely disappear from my account. It had been showing as an upcoming stay, and then a few hours later, it was gone. It isn't shown under my canceled reservations, either. I called the hotel to see if they saw the reservation, and they said that they didn't see it anymore, but that they know it was there earlier in the day (the gentleman I spoke with knows me and said he noted my name on the checkin list and had pre-blocked me an upgraded room). Fortunately, they were able to make me a new reservation with no issue, but this could have been a real issue. Anyone seen anything like this before?
Smrtmom1 likes this.
ikwia is offline  
Old Feb 28, 19, 12:19 am
  #840  
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: SLC/HEL/Anywhere with a Beach
Programs: Marriott Ambassador; AA EXP 3MM; AS MVP, Hilton Gold, CH-47/UH-60/C-23/C-130 VET
Posts: 5,234
And ... no results found for hotels in Los Angeles next week ...."there seems to be a connection problem."

Cant remember Hyatt or Hilton ever being down.

Curious about the 10Q coming tomorrow and the conference call on Friday. This seems like it must be reportable ... I suppose we'll see vague buried language on intermittent outages.

More curious whether any of the analysts will ask about it. Of course, I don't think any of them travel either.
C17PSGR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread