Be prepared to show proof of AAA membership

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jul 30, 18, 11:14 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: SkiAdcock
Wiki Link
Hat tip to joeags for this information:

More About Special Rates
AAA/CAA

Save on hotel rooms at 3,800+ Marriott brand hotels worldwide
Earn Marriott Rewards points in addition to discount
ID required at check-in (American, Canadian Automobile Association or any non-USA Automobile Club Affiliate)
Subject to availability at individual hotels
Print Wikipost

Old Jul 15, 16, 8:56 am
  #316  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: EWR
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Silver, Hertz
Posts: 369
I just booked the Kensington Marriott in London this week and was asked to enter my AAA # when I made my reservation on the Marriott website. That was a first for Marriott, although Hilton has been asking for your AAA# in advance for years.
jtwiz is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 9:41 am
  #317  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: ATL
Programs: MR/SPG Plat, HH Gold, DL PM
Posts: 373
Originally Posted by jtwiz View Post
I just booked the Kensington Marriott in London this week and was asked to enter my AAA # when I made my reservation on the Marriott website. That was a first for Marriott, although Hilton has been asking for your AAA# in advance for years.
That happened to me the other day as well, at the Miami Marriott Biscayne Bay. The wierd thing is I also booked the Winter Haven at the same time and that didn't happen. Maybe it gets stored in your account after the first time?
Saidoh is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 9:47 am
  #318  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Programs: UALifetimePremierGold, Marriott LifetimeTitanium
Posts: 66,452
Originally Posted by Saidoh View Post
Maybe it gets stored in your account after the first time?
That wouldn't be so bad. Having to type 16 digits every time would be a pain. Or just use the traditional AAA code & have the card w/ you on check-in. Having the card would eliminate gaming the system w/ the #s.

Cheers.
SkiAdcock is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 2:53 pm
  #319  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: Midwest
Programs: Marriott Platinum. United Silver. HHonors Diamond
Posts: 391
I checked into
Renaissance Midtown New York yesterday and
The Fd clerk asked for to see it. First time in about a year.
kklems is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 3:20 pm
  #320  
Moderator: Alaska Mileage Plan
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,000
It's kinda amazing that this thread is five pages long.

The title says it all, but like just about everything in life, there are exceptions.
dayone is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 6:37 pm
  #321  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Programs: UALifetimePremierGold, Marriott LifetimeTitanium
Posts: 66,452
Originally Posted by dayone View Post
It's kinda amazing that this thread is five pages long.

The title says it all, but like just about everything in life, there are exceptions.
No kidding on both points. And it's not like it's the first thread on the topic either.

Cheers.
SkiAdcock is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 8:58 pm
  #322  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: LAX
Programs: UAL 1K MM, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 434
[QUOTE=HoustonConsultant;26903938]I don't mind showing my company ID, but I'm not going to let folks copy it.

Neither me or my company is cool enough that I would worry about any kind of shenanigans with someone trying to impersonate me, but it is very sketchy to let folks copy/scan a company ID.[/QUOTE

I agree, never asked anything but to show id
Lani1 is offline  
Old Jul 15, 16, 9:00 pm
  #323  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: LAX
Programs: UAL 1K MM, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 434
Originally Posted by dayone View Post
It's kinda amazing that this thread is five pages long.

The title says it all, but like just about everything in life, there are exceptions.
So true, I bet 10% of time I get asked for corporate id
Lani1 is offline  
Old Jul 24, 16, 12:18 am
  #324  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titanium, Radisson Gold, Hyatt Globalist, M life Gold, IHG Spire
Posts: 810
Just an update. For the 1st time at a Marriott, I got asked for my AAA ID when checking in to the Marriott Rancho Cordova. It was clearly a new FDC trying to look extra conscientious, because I have checked into this place before, and since, and none of the other FDCs at the hotel ever asked.

As I handed it to her, my response was "well, since I drove, that is not a problem" with a smile.
jn in ca is offline  
Old Jul 25, 16, 1:35 pm
  #325  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: PWM
Programs: Marriott Platinum Hyatt Diamond Hilton Gold SPG Gold National Executive Avis Preferred Hertz Gold
Posts: 633
Today I received e-mail from Hilton requesting that I confirm account information to include correct e-mail/preferences/phone numbers/mailing address etc. It included a link however I decided to log in with my usual account. I had never filled in my AAA number--and did so--hoping that I won't have to in the future. Perhaps it's time for Marriott to let us input this info so as to not have to provide physical card..Of course I'll have it available just in case but the actual number on file might do the trick. Any thoughts. Best of luck to all.
derby44 is offline  
Old Jul 26, 16, 3:21 pm
  #326  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Programs: UALifetimePremierGold, Marriott LifetimeTitanium
Posts: 66,452
Originally Posted by derby44 View Post
Today I received e-mail from Hilton requesting that I confirm account information to include correct e-mail/preferences/phone numbers/mailing address etc. It included a link however I decided to log in with my usual account. I had never filled in my AAA number--and did so--hoping that I won't have to in the future. Perhaps it's time for Marriott to let us input this info so as to not have to provide physical card..Of course I'll have it available just in case but the actual number on file might do the trick. Any thoughts. Best of luck to all.
IIRC Hilton lets you use the 3-digit int'l code (which can be found via google , so there's a way of gaming the membership #. I think having the actual card or ability to pull up your # via an app to show to FDC is better in terms of actually proving you're entitled to the rate.

Cheers.
SkiAdcock is offline  
Old Jul 30, 16, 12:36 am
  #327  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS after 40+ SFO/OAK
Programs: UA MM (recovering former 1K), Marriott Titanium Lifetime
Posts: 540
The only time I've ever been asked for AAA ID was at an HI Express Munich Airport, and of course didn't have it (why carry it to Europe) - the rate differential was quite a bit more than the usual 10%. After much to and fro, the agent agreed that if I could log into my AAA account on a PC in the lobby and show her my profile, she'd accept it. Fortunately, despite my fatigue (having flown SFO/LAX/MUC), I remembered my password.

Now, I have scanned PDFs of all membership cards on my tablet.
garkster is offline  
Old Aug 25, 16, 3:32 pm
  #328  
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cockeysville, MD
Programs: Marriott Rewards Lifetime Titanium, Amex Plat, Hertz Gold 5*, National Exec, AA Plat
Posts: 8,627
AAA Number Required to Book

First time saw this. To get AAA booking, dialog box pops up. Have to input my AAA number now.
Mr. Vker is offline  
Old Aug 25, 16, 4:07 pm
  #329  
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Seattle WA, USA
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Titan, AS MVPG&AL, others no status
Posts: 3,422
Did they give you an option to store the number in your account? Would be nice if we didn't have to enter it each time.
Westcoaster is offline  
Old Aug 25, 16, 5:02 pm
  #330  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MCO
Programs: Delta - PM, HH - Gold, SPG - Gold, Marriott - Plat
Posts: 1,060
Originally Posted by Mr. Vker View Post
First time saw this. To get AAA booking, dialog box pops up. Have to input my AAA number now.
That's interesting since I remember having had to do it a long time ago for Hilton. Since I use senior discount now, probably won't be an issue for me.
miraclebear2003 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: