MS and the IRS

Old Feb 1, 19, 8:40 am
Original Poster

MS and the IRS

I am new to MS but I am a 35 year experienced tax practitioner. I have seen several posts about using MS to pay taxes, and the credit card issuers allow this. Most of the posts deal with paying the current year's estimated taxes, and any overpayment would be refunded to you after you file that year's tax return. All well and good.

BUT... you can accelerate the accumulation of points. The payusa web site and by extension the IRS) allows you to pay PRIOR YEAR taxes. If you do not owe the IRS any taxes from prior years, and there are no Child Support, Student Loans, Alimony or other offsets against your refunds, by using a points-accumulating credit card to pay a PRIOR year's taxes which are fully paid, the IRS will refund the overpayment to you, usually within 2 months. As a matter of safety I suggest restricting this to only the 3 prior years' taxes (there is a possibility that the IRS will refuse to refund the overpayment under IRC Section 6511. Do this often and in large amounts (Estimated tax payments can easily be $1,000 or more, and tax payments due are typically up to $2,500 even if all Estimated taxes have been paid).
Old Feb 1, 19, 3:09 pm

The fee usually kills this for any cost effective MS. If you need a quick infusion of points for something, perhaps, but not for recurring MS. IMO anyway.
Old Feb 1, 19, 3:30 pm

The IRS =/ Geico
Old Feb 1, 19, 4:41 pm

Originally Posted by shadow520 View Post
The fee usually kills this for any cost effective MS. If you need a quick infusion of points for something, perhaps, but not for recurring MS. IMO anyway.
This.

Also, as to "do this often" -- The payment processing companies limit you to 2 quarterly ES payments per processor. There's probably a similar limit on prior year "tax due" payments.