MetaBank System Glitch

Old Jul 15, 18, 3:19 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 56
MetaBank System Glitch

Haven't been able to modify the PINs on MB cards since Wed.

The Transaction/Balance section @ giftcardmall.com/mygift works, but the Personalize Pin section results in a 'Technical Error' banner.

Tried several different cards Wed, tried them again Thu, then tried one by phone and was directed to press #1 , and ended-up with a tech person. Explained it must be a system-wide issue, as I tried several cards both at the website and by phone. He said he would notify whoever.

Still not working Fri, Sat, or today.
Whittaker is offline  
Old Jul 15, 18, 4:58 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 108
The website worked fine for me yesterday. Was able to personalize pin.
cwh82 is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 1:35 pm
  #3  
mia
FlyerTalk Evangelist, Moderator: American Express, Citi, Diners Club, Signatures
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Miami & London
Programs: AA & Marriott Perpetual Platinum; HH Gold
Posts: 38,592
Originally Posted by Whittaker View Post
....
Tried several different cards....
Did you try various browsers and Incognito or Private mode?
mia is offline  
Old Jul 16, 18, 11:15 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Programs: DL PM, Marriott Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 813
Originally Posted by Whittaker View Post
Haven't been able to modify the PINs on MB cards since Wed.

The Transaction/Balance section @ giftcardmall.com/mygift works, but the Personalize Pin section results in a 'Technical Error' banner.

Tried several different cards Wed, tried them again Thu, then tried one by phone and was directed to press #1 , and ended-up with a tech person. Explained it must be a system-wide issue, as I tried several cards both at the website and by phone. He said he would notify whoever.

Still not working Fri, Sat, or today.
Hasn't worked for me since before July 4th. I think its related to that new capcha that floating on the bottom of page all the time now.
pharmawalk is offline  
Old Jul 17, 18, 12:04 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,906
Notice that many updated T&C inserts are missing the PIN section entirely. It's possible that personalized PINs are being permanently phased out.
MaxVO is offline  
Old Jul 18, 18, 3:36 am
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by mia View Post
Did you try various browsers and Incognito or Private mode?
Those were my next intended steps, as I was thinking that perhaps my repeated use of my favorite PIN got noticed by some algorithm, but when it didn't work by phone, it was moot.
Whittaker is offline  
Old Jul 18, 18, 3:39 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 56
UPDATE:

It's working again. Apparently it was a system-wide glitch. Glad I was able to report it to an actual person. Just did six cards.
Whittaker is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 12:04 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: AA Plat; DL Silver; UA Silver; IHG Plat
Posts: 84
Originally Posted by Whittaker View Post
UPDATE:

It's working again. Apparently it was a system-wide glitch. Glad I was able to report it to an actual person. Just did six cards.
odd not working for me right now.. were u in incognito mode or something?
homeone is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 7:08 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,906
It would bring some clarity if DPs contain the following:
1. Was the PIN change attempted online or by phone?
2. If by phone, from which number? The phone #s for various flavors were not equally successful in the past.
3. Did the system confirm a PIN change.
4. Was the PIN actually changed and worked at a retail location?
MaxVO is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 4:40 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by homeone View Post
odd not working for me right now.. were u in incognito mode or something?
Nope, just straight chrome which I had been using all along.
Whittaker is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 4:48 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 56
Originally Posted by MaxVO View Post
It would bring some clarity if DPs contain the following:
1. Was the PIN change attempted online or by phone?
Latest that worked, online.

3. Did the system confirm a PIN change.
Yes, got the confirmation message. I've already forgotten the specific language.

4. Was the PIN actually changed and worked at a retail location?
Yes, all six cards worked later with the new PINs.
MaxVO likes this.
Whittaker is offline  
Old Jul 19, 18, 11:54 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: AA Plat; DL Silver; UA Silver; IHG Plat
Posts: 84
Originally Posted by Whittaker View Post
Nope, just straight chrome which I had been using all along.
thanks! was able to reset pin just now on regular chrome. guess their website it just buggy. will report back if pin works shortly!
homeone is offline  
Old Jul 23, 18, 10:11 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by homeone View Post
thanks! was able to reset pin just now on regular chrome. guess their website it just buggy. will report back if pin works shortly!

Did your PIN work? i have had similar issues with the PIN and trying to reset it.

I bought a VGC issued by MetBank and serviced by Blackhawk network california.
mlee117 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread