Simon Mall Gift Cards(2017-2018)

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 21, 18, 6:59 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Travelz
Wiki Link
This is a new thread for 2017. The previous discussion can be found here.

READ the posts in this thread before asking questions. Many have already been answered.


10k per day limit including fees - must fill out a form (use cards as a budget tool or whatever you want to put)
Check the Simon website for locations.
VGC issued by meta for 3.95 - Count your cards before you leave the mall
When ordering online, Simon uses GCM.
Print Wikipost

Old Jun 22, 18, 8:42 pm
  #751  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SRQ/TPA
Programs: DL PM, AS 75K, Hilton Diamond, Starriott Platinum, Hyatt FreeBottleofWaterist
Posts: 8,536
Originally Posted by MaxVO View Post
There's also an option to reset PINs online + multiple phone numbers to do so. Some resets were successful, but others were not -- I don't know which. I agree that the issue is a major nuisance.
I have had no issue resetting PINs using the phone call tree in the last few weeks, and since I know the prompts by heart it takes me about 60 seconds or less per call. I prefer not having to fumble for the last 4 when I go to buy MOs so I set all of my VGCs to the same pin.
krazykanuck is offline  
Old Jun 22, 18, 9:07 pm
  #752  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: SFO/LAX/SAN/LAS/JFK/LGA/EWR
Posts: 424
Originally Posted by krazykanuck View Post
I have had no issue resetting PINs using the phone call tree in the last few weeks, and since I know the prompts by heart it takes me about 60 seconds or less per call. I prefer not having to fumble for the last 4 when I go to buy MOs so I set all of my VGCs to the same pin.
yes. same here. thats exactly why i do it. dont want to look suspicious. however, resetting PINs in SCAL have not worked for me for the past 2 months. few sets of 10k didnt work. total PIA to keep looking at last 4 per swipe.
GundamWing01 is offline  
Old Jun 23, 18, 7:08 am
  #753  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 486
Originally Posted by krazykanuck View Post
I have had no issue resetting PINs using the phone call tree in the last few weeks, and since I know the prompts by heart it takes me about 60 seconds or less per call. I prefer not having to fumble for the last 4 when I go to buy MOs so I set all of my VGCs to the same pin.
60 seconds per card or 60 seconds per 19 cards?
FrankMS is offline  
Old Jun 23, 18, 12:07 pm
  #754  
Hilton Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SRQ/TPA
Programs: DL PM, AS 75K, Hilton Diamond, Starriott Platinum, Hyatt FreeBottleofWaterist
Posts: 8,536
Originally Posted by FrankMS View Post
60 seconds per card or 60 seconds per 19 cards?
Per card. As I posted a bit higher in the thread, my Simon's daily limit is $4400, so I can't buy that many cards in one day anyway.
krazykanuck is offline  
Old Jun 23, 18, 3:06 pm
  #755  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: SFO/LAX/SAN/LAS/JFK/LGA/EWR
Posts: 424
Originally Posted by FrankMS View Post
60 seconds per card or 60 seconds per 19 cards?
im sure both can be true. someone has a call script.
GundamWing01 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 18, 10:12 am
  #756  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Midwest
Programs: SPG Platinum; AA Exec Plat, IHG Spire
Posts: 32
interesting advice from SM csr on the phone.

Originally Posted by krazykanuck View Post
I have had no issue resetting PINs using the phone call tree in the last few weeks, and since I know the prompts by heart it takes me about 60 seconds or less per call. I prefer not having to fumble for the last 4 when I go to buy MOs so I set all of my VGCs to the same pin.
I was resetting the pins of multiple cards today and in the last card that happens to be from an old batch (older month and year) the automatic system prompted me to press one to speak with a csr, I did and after verifying the information with her she mentioned that the system
might be updating and that I should try again using the automatic voice system or use the online system to do so, everything fine to this point but all of the sudden she says pls remember that you can not use your gc at the atm machine or to puchase MO. I thanked her
I just hang up.
josh1573 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 18, 12:11 pm
  #757  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Programs: All of them
Posts: 1,077
Originally Posted by josh1573 View Post
I was resetting the pins of multiple cards today and in the last card that happens to be from an old batch (older month and year) the automatic system prompted me to press one to speak with a csr, I did and after verifying the information with her she mentioned that the system
might be updating and that I should try again using the automatic voice system or use the online system to do so, everything fine to this point but all of the sudden she says pls remember that you can not use your gc at the atm machine or to puchase MO. I thanked her
I just hang up.
It makes me wonder....recently there have been some instances where debit transaction just keep failing at WM on 3 of 4 swipes, but then works again next day. And also works at grocery store under WU. Wonder if they're messing with the system on the backend.
littlewinglet is offline  
Old Jun 28, 18, 4:29 pm
  #758  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: SFO/LAX/SAN/LAS/JFK/LGA/EWR
Posts: 424
totally off topic but its somewhat loosely related to AMEX MS.

everyone knows RAT is cracking down and suppressing simon for bonuses. but anyone had issues with EDP via amazon micro loads? i ask because my 30x counter has not changed this month. down by exactly amazon loads. i didnt even look until now because i didnt think amex would hit that next. maybe its just a glitch but its been several days already. and the counter is only including legit purchases. crap. let me know if anyone sees the same issues.

Last edited by GundamWing01; Jun 28, 18 at 6:08 pm
GundamWing01 is offline  
Old Jun 28, 18, 4:49 pm
  #759  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: LAX, LGB, SNA
Programs: AA EXP OWE, DL DM ST+, AS MVPG, UA, BA, WN CP, Hyatt E, Ritz Plat, HH GM
Posts: 3,184
Possibly, Citi no longer working for Simon purchases. Declined by manager and even if swiped, declined by hard code, not by fraud block. Not sure if Simon is blocking our of Citi is.
hiima is offline  
Old Jun 28, 18, 6:14 pm
  #760  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: SFO/LAX/SAN/LAS/JFK/LGA/EWR
Posts: 424
Originally Posted by hiima View Post
Possibly, Citi no longer working for Simon purchases. Declined by manager and even if swiped, declined by hard code, not by fraud block. Not sure if Simon is blocking our of Citi is.
yea. ive heard that too. never tried myself and would rather not test it via a small merchant GC purchase. merchant GC and VGC should code the same at the info kiosk. meaning, if its simon blocking Citi then no Citi card would work unless its SKU specific or high dollar amount limited. i highly doubt that though. im sure its a Citi merchant ban specifically for purchases that code as simon mall offices vs individual merchants. Citi already knows this game well and people abuse their TYP retention offers which has led to shut down. so I actually stay away from all Citi MS besides 5% dividend. even then, i was still nervous back when CVS was still a cat.
GundamWing01 is offline  
Old Jun 28, 18, 9:50 pm
  #761  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: KSTP KSPG
Programs: AOPA
Posts: 971
Originally Posted by hiima View Post
Possibly, Citi no longer working for Simon purchases. Declined by manager and even if swiped, declined by hard code, not by fraud block. Not sure if Simon is blocking our of Citi is.
i think it is mall specific. Just bought a few $$ tonight, no problem.
teddy25 is offline  
Old Jun 28, 18, 10:52 pm
  #762  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: SFO/LAX/SAN/LAS/JFK/LGA/EWR
Posts: 424
Originally Posted by teddy25 View Post


i think it is mall specific. Just bought a few $$ tonight, no problem.
VGC or merchant? or both?
GundamWing01 is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 6:38 am
  #763  
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Programs: All of them
Posts: 1,077
Originally Posted by teddy25 View Post


i think it is mall specific. Just bought a few $$ tonight, no problem.
Same here, no issues using Doublecash MC to buy some VGC.
littlewinglet is offline  
Old Jun 29, 18, 1:16 pm
  #764  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,473
Originally Posted by littlewinglet View Post
Same here, no issues using Doublecash MC to buy some VGC.
Same here.
danpeake is online now  
Old Jun 29, 18, 5:49 pm
  #765  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Northeastern United States
Posts: 409
Used both DC and AAdvantange card yesterday without issue.
Prometheus77 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: