Chime Card

    Hide Wikipost
Old Oct 8, 14, 10:11 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: ericliujian
Wiki Link
You can't use the direct deposit numbers to ACH out. And there's a monthly fee of $5 after 180 days of non-activity.
Note: There is a 3% transfer fee for PP Biz Debit MC. Time to say goodbye.

Debit load limit
$200/day - reset at 12pm PST.
7/21 - Load limit back down to $100 a day. This keeps fluctuating, so just check your account and not the wiki.

It seems that Chime doesn't like you having a large balance so make sure you use the card every now and then. See this post http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/23173754-post47.html

Chime will suspend account for rapid unloading, large purchases/withdrawals are more likely to get flagged.

A friend of a user has been told that there is a lifetime limit of 6 debit cards linked to an account and 20 attempts of linking debit cards to an account (counting both successful and unsuccessful linkages). If you have reached the limit, there is no way to resolve the issue.

Debit card loads that WORK
PP Biz Debit MC (1% cb confirmed as of June loads)

Debit card loads that DON'T WORK (that have been tested)
Metabank VGC
USBank MC GC
Vanilla MCGC
Print Wikipost

Old Sep 22, 14, 2:12 pm
  #121  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 233
back down to $100.... this is so weird.
EL3V3N is offline  
Old Sep 24, 14, 5:31 pm
  #122  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DEN
Posts: 305
Seems like they have too many eyeballs looking over transactions for large purchases shortly after loading with MPs. Apparently not enough customers if they can scrutinize a $1495 and $475 grocery store purchase as grounds for suspension.

For those still using this card, probably best to let a low amount of funds sit for a while. I was told 3 weeks would be a "safe" time frame but I think some seasoning with everyday purchases may be most helpful.
brc01 is offline  
Old Oct 2, 14, 10:03 am
  #123  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Update: Looks like they will be charging 3% for using PPBD MC.
Was going to load some funds and I saw this:

"Note: As of Oct 8th, 2014 there may be up to a 3% transfer fee for this card."

Why does this debit card have a transfer fee?

Over 80% of the debit cards out there can be used to load your Chime Card at no charge. Some debit cards (mostly smaller banks) can incur a fee up to 3%. We’ll always let you know if the fee will apply before you make the transfer."


Can you guys confirm? If this is true, another dead card.
JayTheBillionaire is offline  
Old Oct 2, 14, 10:13 am
  #124  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: PHL based
Programs: USAir, UA, AA, BA, Hyatt, HHonors, SPG, Marriott, IHG
Posts: 356
Originally Posted by JayTheBillionaire View Post
Update: Looks like they will be charging 3% for using PPBD MC.
Was going to load some funds and I saw this:

"Note: As of Oct 8th, 2014 there may be up to a 3% transfer fee for this card."

Why does this debit card have a transfer fee?

Over 80% of the debit cards out there can be used to load your Chime Card at no charge. Some debit cards (mostly smaller banks) can incur a fee up to 3%. We’ll always let you know if the fee will apply before you make the transfer."


Can you guys confirm? If this is true, another dead card.
Did you bother to read ANY of this thread before asking a question that's been answered within the last 2 pages (of an only 9 page) thread?
jiffyjiff is offline  
Old Oct 2, 14, 10:20 am
  #125  
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by jiffyjiff View Post
Did you bother to read ANY of this thread before asking a question that's been answered within the last 2 pages (of an only 9 page) thread?
Read the wiki Nothing there.
But thanks for the answer. I'll take back a step
JayTheBillionaire is offline  
Old Oct 4, 14, 9:27 am
  #126  
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 164
I couldn't load my Serve with Chime as a debit card this morning. Serve says to check with my Visa card bank. Anyone able to load Serve with Chime this month yet?
Cbass98 is offline  
Old Oct 4, 14, 10:15 pm
  #127  
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 135
Originally Posted by Cbass98 View Post
I couldn't load my Serve with Chime as a debit card this morning. Serve says to check with my Visa card bank. Anyone able to load Serve with Chime this month yet?
I had the same issue. What are other ways to empty this card?

Last edited by anagoree; Oct 4, 14 at 10:44 pm
anagoree is offline  
Old Oct 4, 14, 11:30 pm
  #128  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: PHL
Programs: SW CP, SPG Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 571
Originally Posted by anagoree View Post
I had the same issue. What are other ways to empty this card?
MO/BP.
ftomasze is offline  
Old Oct 5, 14, 12:00 pm
  #129  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 226
Hopefully just a temporary glitch. Did you try hitting change payment?
dboston1 is offline  
Old Oct 5, 14, 1:30 pm
  #130  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Programs: Hilton Gold, SPG & IHG Plat, & every airline program that I can join
Posts: 2,273
Originally Posted by jk2 View Post
Did anybody get miles for load with DL ST?
Did you ever get an answer for ST? I just received my card yesterday.

JudyJFLA
JudyJFLA is offline  
Old Oct 6, 14, 12:56 pm
  #131  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: RZE, EWR
Programs: UA, IHG Platinum, BW Diamond, Carlson Gold, Accor Platinum,
Posts: 232
Chime is useless, haven't used it once since applying, kind of regret it now.
deemkaa is offline  
Old Oct 6, 14, 1:41 pm
  #132  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,677
+1. Useless. I too, have not used it once since I got it.
BillyBaloney is offline  
Old Oct 8, 14, 9:50 am
  #133  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 142
Added $100 from PP business debit, there is no $3 fee. Maybe it starts tomorrow?
Yaoyao is offline  
Old Oct 8, 14, 10:29 am
  #134  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 184
I did a test load of just a buck from PPBD and din't see a fee. I didn't think it would hurt to call, as it was pretty legitimate question and my card is brand new so nothing is unusual about my account. CSR didn't sound like he was very definate, but said that a fee might be assesed within 24 hours, but he had no way of telling how much. I'm actually a bit suprsed if there is a delay as everything else with this card seems like it updates very fast. Fingers crossed this will wind up useful beyond to initial $10 bonus and free coffee I got.
Peridot83 is offline  
Old Oct 8, 14, 10:37 am
  #135  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: PHL based
Programs: USAir, UA, AA, BA, Hyatt, HHonors, SPG, Marriott, IHG
Posts: 356
Originally Posted by Peridot83 View Post
I did a test load of just a buck from PPBD and din't see a fee. I didn't think it would hurt to call, as it was pretty legitimate question and my card is brand new so nothing is unusual about my account. CSR didn't sound like he was very definate, but said that a fee might be assesed within 24 hours, but he had no way of telling how much. I'm actually a bit suprsed if there is a delay as everything else with this card seems like it updates very fast. Fingers crossed this will wind up useful beyond to initial $10 bonus and free coffee I got.
You called to alert them to the fact that their system may not be charging the fee correctly?
jiffyjiff is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread