Wells Fargo Prepaid Cards

Old Aug 26, 12, 5:36 pm
  #91  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,758
Originally Posted by dnkywhisperer View Post
I just tried to load $2500 with CSP and the transaction wouldn't go through. I than lowered it to $1999 and still no go. Does anyone know if something has changed? Maybe with CSP?
Nothing has changed. The information in the first post is still wrong. Maybe one of the so called expert bloggers can fill you in.
QL_714 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 12, 11:03 pm
  #92  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 316
Originally Posted by QL_714 View Post
Nothing has changed. The information in the first post is still wrong. Maybe one of the so called expert bloggers can fill you in.
Which information is wrong? The daily limit of max $2500 (max 5k per month) is stated in t&c. What is the max amount you can load with a chase card?
koolr is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 6:44 am
  #93  
xp0
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 774
You need to know which pool of limits chase swims in during its initial holding period to figure out how much you can load. If the pool is not Olympic size, make sure you swim within the ropes on the kiddie end
xp0 is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 8:20 am
  #94  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Land of the parrots and parrotheads
Programs: Several dozen
Posts: 4,818
Oh, they'll introduce themselves soon enough. Don't think two on a match will trigger the call, though.

Originally Posted by econjon View Post
where's the reference to the pointy hatted authorities!?

also, am considering this for wife as well. think that'll set off any extra alarms for double duty at same address?
AlohaDaveKennedy is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 9:42 am
  #95  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 316
Originally Posted by xp0 View Post
You need to know which pool of limits chase swims in during its initial holding period to figure out how much you can load. If the pool is not Olympic size, make sure you swim within the ropes on the kiddie end
... and how do you figure that out? call chase? i am waiting for my ink bold to arrive and was hoping I could load the max.
koolr is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 10:03 am
  #96  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 379
I just loaded $1100 +- onto the card using my Cap One cc (earns tuppence per dollar spent). It shows at Cap One as a Pending Transaction. Per the WF website you can have a maximum of two funding sources. First load was $500 using Chase. (You can delete funding sources to add different ones.)

Anyone know what's the max you can spend at a brick and mortar store for a PIN purchase? I'm heading out to a local mom and pop run by the beaver's mom and dad.
GoGreen is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 10:18 am
  #97  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On the Lake USA
Programs: Hyatt whatever the call it, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat but still earning millions of points
Posts: 520
Originally Posted by koolr View Post
... and how do you figure that out? call chase? i am waiting for my ink bold to arrive and was hoping I could load the max.
Why would you call chase and then the rep documents the call which is their job and the questions you ask go in the computer. hmmm

Then the system analyzes everything and soon there are solutions from systems that cost millions of dollars. slow normal transactions with no phone calls or emails is the way to go
Nottafatslob is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 10:23 am
  #98  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 316
Originally Posted by Nottafatslob View Post
Why would you call chase and then the rep documents the call which is their job and the questions you ask go in the computer. hmmm

Then the system analyzes everything and soon there are solutions from systems that cost millions of dollars. slow normal transactions with no phone calls or emails is the way to go
Thanks.
koolr is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 10:29 am
  #99  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On the Lake USA
Programs: Hyatt whatever the call it, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat but still earning millions of points
Posts: 520
Originally Posted by koolr View Post
Thanks.
I just read a new thread where a guy called BOA to get his credit line from and old card moved to a new card he just opened with a smaller limit than he wanted. So BOA hit him with a Hard Pull Again to take a look. So he got one for opening the card then another when he called in. 2 hard pulls

Calling them isn't working out so well
Nottafatslob is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 12:24 pm
  #100  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Finally back in Boston after escaping from New York
Posts: 13,527
Originally Posted by xp0 View Post
wait, seriously, people are asking about loading with $500?

*face palm*
Well, mostly *face palm.* For newbies just learning the game and not wanting to go too far out on the limb on their first or second transaction, I can see being willing to pay the fees just to learn at a slow and steady pace.

I've been doing it for a while and for me, it would be grounds for losing an arm.

Mike
mikeef is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 1:38 pm
  #101  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angles
Posts: 2,101
Originally Posted by QL_714 View Post
Nothing has changed. The information in the first post is still wrong. Maybe one of the so called expert bloggers can fill you in.
Does anyone have a clue what information is QL_714 referring to be wrong in the first post?
prasha11 is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 2:13 pm
  #102  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,758
Originally Posted by prasha11 View Post
Does anyone have a clue what information is QL_714 referring to be wrong in the first post?
Don't pay much attention to him, he just likes to talk.
QL_714 is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 2:17 pm
  #103  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Singapore
Programs: BAEC (Gold), PC (Plat), HH (Gold), SPG (Gold), MR (Gold)
Posts: 2,724
Originally Posted by koolr View Post
... and how do you figure that out? call chase? i am waiting for my ink bold to arrive and was hoping I could load the max.
I don't have the card, and haven't looked into this closely, but from some recent posts on this thread then I'd hesitate a guess that it's looking at your cash advance limit to begin with, which may well be lower than $2,500.

If I'm wrong maybe someone can be bothered to correct this.
User Name is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 4:21 pm
  #104  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 379
Originally Posted by GoGreen View Post
I just loaded $1100 +- onto the card using my Cap One cc (earns tuppence per dollar spent). It shows at Cap One as a Pending Transaction. Per the WF website you can have a maximum of two funding sources. First load was $500 using Chase. (You can delete funding sources to add different ones.)

Anyone know what's the max you can spend at a brick and mortar store for a PIN purchase? I'm heading out to a local mom and pop run by the beaver's mom and dad.
I'll answer my own question, in case anyone else is wondering. I tried to make a purchase for 900+- and the card was rejected. I asked the cashier to split it into two pieces with $600 for the WF card. She was not able to do it (although I've heard it can be done, neither of us knew how.) Then I went to purchase a bag of corn chips for $1.98 and requested $100 cash back. Success! So I figure if I buy 49 bags of corn chips each month, I'll recoup my $5K investment!
GoGreen is offline  
Old Aug 27, 12, 5:33 pm
  #105  
xp0
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 774
Originally Posted by koolr View Post
... and how do you figure that out? call chase? i am waiting for my ink bold to arrive and was hoping I could load the max.
Look at what User Name said.
xp0 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: