Wells Fargo Prepaid Cards

Old Sep 18, 12, 10:53 am
  #241  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL FO, AA LT PLT, SPG Gold, Hyatt Lifetime Diamond, HHonors Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Other Crap...
Posts: 5,481
Originally Posted by koolr View Post
In my experience, the same limit applies to in store purchses. I tried to charge more than $600 twice and did not go through. Then I charged $599 and it went through.
I'm experiencing similar limits.

I think ADK woke up in a good mood today as his basic pointers today are the most useful bits of info that have been published in this and the spending threads for quite a long time. Unless you are heading in the same direction as these guys.
ma91pmh is offline  
Old Sep 18, 12, 1:55 pm
  #242  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: AA, SPG, HHonors
Posts: 657
Do we have a data point on how Cap One processes the loads? Someone mentioned they used Cap One, but didn't say how it was processed or whether they earned Venture points.
sk8uno is offline  
Old Sep 19, 12, 3:39 pm
  #243  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: CLL
Programs: MS Plat, AOR ninja
Posts: 2,176
Finally got order to go through. Ordered it using my WF debit card with no fee. Will change funding source after I receive it.

ole!
carsonheim is offline  
Old Sep 20, 12, 10:22 pm
  #244  
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Programs: Hilton Gold, SPG & IHG Plat, & every airline program that I can join
Posts: 2,274
So you are saying that i could not do the usual $990 WalMart Money Order, just a max of $599.40 + the .60 fee?

JudyJFLA - almost back for another miles season


Originally Posted by ma91pmh View Post
I'm experiencing similar limits.

I think ADK woke up in a good mood today as his basic pointers today are the most useful bits of info that have been published in this and the spending threads for quite a long time. Unless you are heading in the same direction as these guys.
JudyJFLA is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 6:56 am
  #245  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: RDU
Programs: DL FO, AA LT PLT, SPG Gold, Hyatt Lifetime Diamond, HHonors Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Other Crap...
Posts: 5,481
Originally Posted by JudyJFLA View Post
So you are saying that i could not do the usual $990 WalMart Money Order, just a max of $599.40 + the .60 fee?

JudyJFLA - almost back for another miles season
I haven't worked out the limit to the nearest cent, but $400 works and $1000 doesn't.

And I think ADK's sage advice applies. Better off doing a few $289.83, $371.05, $221.82, $501.35 etc than $400, $400, $400, $400
ma91pmh is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 10:00 am
  #246  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,758
Originally Posted by JudyJFLA View Post
So you are saying that i could not do the usual $990 WalMart Money Order, just a max of $599.40 + the .60 fee?

JudyJFLA - almost back for another miles season
Correct. Maybe I should start a blog. Would be the first one with correct info!
QL_714 is offline  
Old Sep 21, 12, 12:27 pm
  #247  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: On the Lake USA
Programs: Hyatt whatever the call it, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat but still earning millions of points
Posts: 520
Originally Posted by JudyJFLA View Post
So you are saying that i could not do the usual $990 WalMart Money Order, just a max of $599.40 + the .60 fee?

JudyJFLA - almost back for another miles season
I would think that in either situation going that close to the limit would be a reason for WF to shut you down like NetSpend. Unless you are making alot of larger purchases on both cards too. Both WF and the others know what's up.

I buy them for odd amounts like 287.50 and 312.25 but that is because I want mine to last when others get shutdown. I have to buy them on my SO's card because I finally found out why I kept getting Max Reload Limit reached when I didn't have a current load go thru.

After WF filed an Escalation it took them 2 weeks with my card froze up to tell me that it was because of my spending. Now I am using extra care and going slow to not blow up her card.
Nottafatslob is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 3:26 am
  #248  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: AA, SPG, HHonors
Posts: 657
Originally Posted by adlibitum View Post
Added two non-Wells credit cards as funding cards and used each once to load but so far no load fee charged.

Do they charge end of month or is first load free per funding card as suggested upthread?
I, too, was not charged a load fee...
sk8uno is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 8:29 am
  #249  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LAX
Posts: 2,748
How long does it take to receive the card after you sign up online?
Will Chase Ink or Sapphire (not preferred) be charged as purchase and not cash advance?
I would like to start with $2k or $2500 for the lst reload.
metoo is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 8:53 am
  #250  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 613
the max money order amount you can do is $600 including the $1 or $2 fee? Can the money order be purchased at currency exchange?

anyone tried withdrawing cash at WF atm more then twice a month for the fee?

I do use the cad for other purchases too.
emptiness is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 12:38 pm
  #251  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 478
Originally Posted by metoo View Post
How long does it take to receive the card after you sign up online?
Will Chase Ink or Sapphire (not preferred) be charged as purchase and not cash advance?
I would like to start with $2k or $2500 for the lst reload.
Have you tried Chase cards yet? can you share the outcome? thanks
liw5215 is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 1:05 pm
  #252  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LAX
Posts: 2,748
Originally Posted by liw5215 View Post
Have you tried Chase cards yet? can you share the outcome? thanks

Can't try the Chase card till I apply for the card thus asking how long it takes to receive the card.......if the answer is "no " to Chase than I won't need the card.

Unfortunately, can't load with AMEX card
metoo is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 2:22 pm
  #253  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LAX
Programs: AA, SPG, HHonors
Posts: 657
Originally Posted by liw5215 View Post
Have you tried Chase cards yet? can you share the outcome? thanks
Originally Posted by metoo View Post
Can't try the Chase card till I apply for the card thus asking how long it takes to receive the card.......if the answer is "no " to Chase than I won't need the card.

Unfortunately, can't load with AMEX card
CSP posts as purchase. Can't guarantee UR points will appear, though, as my statement hasn't closed yet.
sk8uno is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 2:57 pm
  #254  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: LAX
Posts: 2,748
Originally Posted by sk8uno View Post
CSP posts as purchase. Can't guarantee UR points will appear, though, as my statement hasn't closed yet.

Thank you.
metoo is offline  
Old Sep 23, 12, 9:42 pm
  #255  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 478
Originally Posted by 323kid View Post
I had been getting a similar response when trying to load my card and called Chase to find out what the issue was. I was told that my transaction attempts (i thought it was a WF site issue, so I attempted this a few times) were denied because they exceeded my cash advance limit.

I then remembered reading Chase initially posts these transactions a cash advance but then shortly convert to purchases, so I lowered my load amounts and all worked out well.
did your transaction eventually go through for CV card? if yes, it is listed as purchase or CA? also did you earn the points for the amount? Thanks
liw5215 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread