Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Travel&Dining > Luxury Hotels and Travel
Reload this Page >

Checking into a 5-star Luxury Hotel right after lockdown? (Rosewood Mayakoba)

Old Jul 3, 20, 8:26 am
Original Poster

Programs: Virtuoso, Four Seasons PP, Belmond BC, Dorchester DC, Hyatt Prive, MO Fan Club, Peninsula, Rosewood

Rosewood Mayakoba

Map| 5 Reviews | 80% Recommended

Rosewood Mayakoba

Carr Federal Chetumal Playa del Carmen, MX 77710

What is it like to check into a 5-star Luxury Hotel right after lockdown? (0 Photo)

Rosewood Mayakoba

I work in the travel industry and have recently gone out to try and see what the new normal looks like post lockdown at luxury properties.  Many people have been asking:

• Are hotels and resorts still relaxing to go to or will I spend the whole time sanitizing my hands, social distancing, and the like?

• Is it safe to travel?

• Have services been reduced?

• Do I have to wear a mask?

• Is anyone actually traveling, or will I be the only one staying at the property?

I decided to go and give this a try for myself.  To find out the answers to all these questions I headed off on a mini-break to the Rosewood Mayakoba in Mexico.  This is not a review on the property itself its more to review what the new normal is starting to look like in the luxury accommodation sector. 

While the procedures are different depending on your location and hotel/resort, my aim is to give everyone some indication of the new normal and general vibe out there.  I hope this helps, feel free to ask me questions.

b685b8_d2eb119aeae24035b77f6ca2589d6568~

Check-In

The one thing that was initially clear that the hotels have not just reopened, there is definitely a new normal. Evidence of this was found right from the moment I arrived at the hotel gates. Before I was even allowed inside the property my body temperature was taken. This was a quick and easy process and I stayed seated in the car as the security guard used an infrared thermometer.