FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   Luxury Hotels and Travel (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/luxury-hotels-travel-220/)
-   -   St. Regis Osaka or Ritz-Carlton Kyoto (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/luxury-hotels-travel/1854076-st-regis-osaka-ritz-carlton-kyoto.html)

Beltway2A Jul 15, 2017 11:54 am

St. Regis Osaka or Ritz-Carlton Kyoto

Hey folks,

I'm planning an upcoming stay at either the St. Regis Osaka or Ritz-Carlton Kyoto. I was originally planning on the StR, but the RC forum seemed to really enjoy the Kyoto property. My experience with luxury hotels is limited though, so I was hoping to hear from folks with some more experience with me. A few notes that may help in your recommendation:

1. I've spent a night at a Ritz-Carlton before (in Atlanta), but I'm completely new to the St. Regis brand.

2. I've got SPG/Marriott Gold. I'll be staying during the peak season, so I don't expect much in terms of elite recognition (and I know I won't get breakfast at either brand as a gold).

3. I know they're in two different cities, but I'm willing to spend more time in transit if it means a superior hotel experience.

If you've been to either or both properties, or otherwise want to add anything, I'd love to hear what you have to say.

HKTraveler Jul 15, 2017 12:00 pm

In that whole area, my personal preference is for the Intercon Osaka. Between these two hotels, answer is it depends. Which city will you spend time in and what are you going to do there? While the two cities are not that far apart, it does take traveling time

Beltway2A Jul 15, 2017 12:04 pm

Originally Posted by HKTraveler (Post 28564081)
In that whole area, my personal preference is for the Intercon Osaka. Between these two hotels, answer is it depends. Which city will you spend time in and what are you going to do there? While the two cities are not that far apart, it does take traveling time