LHR Fast Track departure

Old Jun 24, 2022, 7:47 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: BKK
Programs: BRK-B
Posts: 580
LHR Fast Track departure

Gold Track at LHR T2 is removed from *A website. Has anyone still able to access T2 departure fast-track using *G/Senator while travelling in Economy?
Noppasit is offline  
Old Jun 24, 2022, 7:53 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 425
Yes, worked with LH back in March this year, and also a couple of weeks ago (both using ROP Gold). The access seemed to be encoded into the boarding pass.
11277m is offline  
Old Jun 24, 2022, 1:27 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ZRH
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 462
More importantly why is there no fast track arrival in lhr T2?

1+ hour queues at immigration are woeful.
flospi likes this.
bobhope2 is offline  
Old Jun 24, 2022, 2:34 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between DM464 and DM463 on the NAPSA26 RNAV TRANS in EDDM
Programs: this and that
Posts: 1,731
Originally Posted by bobhope2
More importantly why is there no fast track arrival in lhr T2?

1+ hour queues at immigration are woeful.
Is the queue that long if you use the eGates?
cas_de is offline  
Old Jun 24, 2022, 5:50 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: OSL/IAH/ZRH (time, not preference)
Programs: UA1K, LH GM, AA EXP->GM
Posts: 38,265
Not sure about T2 but in T5 Fast Track is dead for a long time. A prominent victim of the Covid Big Reset.....
weero is offline  
Old Jun 25, 2022, 11:19 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: London | Sydney
Programs: LH HON, QF CL, SQ TPPS, AF Plat, VS Gold, VA Plat, EK Gold, HH Diamond, WoH Globalist, Marriott Plat
Posts: 1,528
Originally Posted by cas_de
Is the queue that long if you use the eGates?
Yes. It’s hopeless until about 3pm once the TATLs are finished. If I have to arrive in the AM atm I am flying to LCY just to avoid these queues.
vantage03 is offline  
Old Jun 26, 2022, 12:32 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: ZRH
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 462
And don't even think about transiting there, the security queues T2 -> T2 air-side are also a joke.
bobhope2 is offline  
Old Jun 26, 2022, 3:28 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Switzerland
Programs: LX HON, Radisson Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 476
Originally Posted by cas_de
Is the queue that long if you use the eGates?
Been there a week and a half ago on Wednesday evening, arriving on LX340. I was in the queue for about 80 minutes and while I was queueing, the queue was growing...
2 of the eGates were out of order and the others were working pretty well! They should've opened more staffed lanes!

But well, that happens when the airport was planned and built pre-Brexit.

I for my part will avoid LHR from now on.
flospi is offline  
Old Jun 26, 2022, 4:46 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: SQ TPPS/*G, Starlux Explorer, (Almost Lifetime) Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 1,409
Originally Posted by flospi
Been there a week and a half ago on Wednesday evening, arriving on LX340. I was in the queue for about 80 minutes and while I was queueing, the queue was growing...
2 of the eGates were out of order and the others were working pretty well! They should've opened more staffed lanes!

But well, that happens when the airport was planned and built pre-Brexit.

I for my part will avoid LHR from now on.
You have me now seriously considering ditching my HEX non-refundable ticket and paying the change fee to switch to LCY. Flight is not until early August...keep hoping for things to settle down...
bpk6h is offline  
Old Jun 26, 2022, 5:13 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: OS SEN, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 319
Flying to LHR tonight in the early evening and back out on Tuesday afternoon. Happy to report back here with how the airport is doing after passing through it.
bpk6h likes this.
MasterGberry is offline  
Old Jun 26, 2022, 6:59 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Dia, Amex Plat
Posts: 32,017
Originally Posted by Noppasit
Gold Track at LHR T2 is removed from *A website. Has anyone still able to access T2 departure fast-track using *G/Senator while travelling in Economy?
used it a few weeks ago. Empty as usual.
cfischer is offline  
Old Jun 27, 2022, 3:17 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Location: Athens, Roscoff, Helsinki, Kerry or Tromso
Posts: 441
Originally Posted by flospi

But well, that happens when the airport was planned and built pre-Brexit.
As far as immigration is concerned, Brexit made no difference at LHR because they were not in the Schengen Area anyway so it was border controls for all. The egate use has now been extended to include Australians, Canadians and a few more so that can make those queues worse that they were but IME it moves quite quickly even when busy provided of course the egates are working in the first place. So much for the UK 'taking back control' of its borders, it's a total free for all because there is no control on inbound EEA, Australia, Canada and more and no outbound control at all.

The only difference beyond there is that there is no longer a blue exit for EU arrivals.
Harper50505 is offline  
Old Jun 27, 2022, 9:19 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: OS SEN, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 319
Flew in on Sunday, 5m passport control for the ePassport area. Got there in the early evening....but I guess this is probably a low time for the airport. Will be interesting to see how busy it is tomorrow.
bpk6h likes this.
MasterGberry is offline  
Old Jun 27, 2022, 12:38 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Programs: BA GGL, LH FTL
Posts: 3,578
Fast track T2 still had prominent star gold signage last Friday.

As for arriving... Ranges between amazing (just walk through) and horrendous (wait 1.5 hours). Luck of the draw, though late evening tends to be better.

If given a choice, always go for LCY.
LCY8737 is offline  
Old Jun 28, 2022, 2:53 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Programs: OS SEN, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 319
Just went thru “fast track” today which took 40m there. Has to walk around to it, and they had 2 lanes opened…was pretty painful. Thankfully arrived with enough time in case of delays.
MasterGberry is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.