Search

Business class Lufthansa or Swiss or Austrian

Search this Thread

Old Nov 29, 2019, 2:22 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Qantas/ OneWorld
Business class Lufthansa or Swiss or Austrian

Hello all,

Total newbie here so I apologise in advance for anything that may have been asked before, or any stupid questions. Hope you can help with what should be a simple dilemma.

I'm taking my very first RTW journey coinciding with my very first Business class experience in October 2020, so I want to make sure I choose the right airlines for the best experience and make it memorable. (I might do it again if I like it!)

Part of the journey is Tel Aviv to New York, and my TA has given me a few options for this leg. (I'm happy with the options for the other legs in the RTW trip, Cathay and Qantas).

All are Business class. And I will be solo (female), and that creates some of the dilemma.

1. Lufthansa - I'm not keen on this because of the seat layouts 2-2-2. I think it's better for couples, and I don't want to climb over anybody or them over me. A321 and A346.
2. Swiss - can have a single seat. This has a very early departure at 5.20am from TLV, so not really keen on this either, but can cope if Swiss is a great experience. Not sure of the aircraft.
3. Codeshare on United with Swiss (or may be Lufthansa I'm not sure). Can have a single seat I think. Not sure of the aircraft.
4. Austrian - can have a single seat. A321 and 76W.

As you can see, some of the dilemma is the seat layout on the aircraft, but I also want to have good food, IFE, service and an overall good experience.

Which should I choose? Or which would you choose if you had the choice and were flying solo?

Any suggestions, tips or advice you can offer for these airlines I would be very appreciative.

Thanks.
Old Nov 29, 2019, 10:59 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: TK Elite Plus,BAEC GGL,ITA Executive, AFKL Gold,QR Gold,HH Diamond,Bonvoy Gold,ALL Gold
Originally Posted by LuvTravellin
Hi all,