LH Express Rail as part of the travel - can I skip?

Old Apr 23, 12, 10:54 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany
Programs: LH FTL, BA Bronze
Posts: 777
LH Express Rail as part of the travel - can I skip?

A friend and mine disagree on whether or not it is possible to skip the Airrail segment that is the first segment of an outbound flight. He says that on his recent Airrail train ride from Stuttgart to Frankfurt his ticket was checked but no note was made whether he was on board or not. I have a feeling that, to prevent misuse, Lufthansa will collect the names of those passengers sitting in the Airrail coach to see who was on board and who wasn't. But then again, my friend says, what if you're in the loo or sat in the restaurant car when the ticket inspector comes to your original seat which is then empty? Any recent experience, anyone? Thanks, ps
planestupid is offline  
Old Apr 24, 12, 6:39 am
  #2  
Moderator, SkyTeam and Germany
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: FRA/STR/NUE
Programs: BA, LH, KL, QR, EY, IHG, Marriott, Hyatt, Hilton, Radisson
Posts: 5,908
IMO it's very unlikely that LH would cancel your onward trip if your seat on the train is not occupied. You are free to roam onboard and can go to the dining car, to a friend traveling with you with a regular ticket in another coach or to the restroom...

On a recent trip I had a ticket for Stuttgart to Frankfurt but didn't make it to Stuttgart due to a late connecting train but could instead go to Mannheim and enter the train there. No problems with the DB conductor with my online BP. And nobody from LH checking the coach where I sat between Mannheim and Frankfurt. Miles were credited as normal and no problems with my connecting flight.
ralfkrippner is offline  
Old Apr 24, 12, 7:08 am
  #3  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 39,877
Airrail is not checked or subject to sequence auto cancellation, your friend is right. The same applies to the LH Bus to/from SXB, which is an excellent vehicle to use fares issued for France but starting your trip in FRA. (cough cough)
oliver2002 is offline  
Old May 17, 12, 1:06 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 34
Skipping Airail Segment

Some friends of mine are visiting me in June. They will be flying into and out of STR with the first leg on the return being a train from Stuttgart to FRA.

Since from where I am it is quicker to take other ground transport to FRA than via Stuttgart, how does Lufthansa handle missed Airail segments? Do they count as a no-show and hence the rest of your itinerary is cancelled? Or are they safe to skip?
_windi_ is offline  
Old Nov 16, 12, 7:07 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
Can anyone confirm that you can skip a LH AirRail train segment (i.e. Stuttgart to FRA) and still catch your outbound flight? I can buy a ticket for 150 euros cheaper if I book the AirRAil/LH ticket as opposed to just buying the LH ticket. However, it would be quicker for me to just drive to FRA.
mindycamp is offline  
Old Nov 16, 12, 9:14 am
  #6  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 39,877
Welcome to FT!

You have to check in for the Airrail segment (online, in ZWS etc) but don't need to be on the train.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Nov 16, 12, 10:24 am
  #7  
htb
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Programs: LH M&M (was: SEN), UA*G(1K), PC Spire Amb, Marriott Gold (by virtue of UA*G), Accor Gold
Posts: 4,608
Originally Posted by oliver2002 View Post
You have to check in for the Airrail segment (online, in ZWS etc) but don't need to be on the train.
I think this is not correct. Lufthansa does insist that you are on the train, and they try to check.

However, as long as you insist that you had been on the train, it's hard for them to prove otherwise.

HTB.
htb is offline  
Old Aug 28, 13, 3:37 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: PMI
Programs: BA,LH,CX,EK SPG,IC mainly and a few others
Posts: 1,858
I have a FRA-QKL-FRA trip coming up on a D fare, due to change in meetings schedule I might need to skip FRA and fly to CGN direct. Due to cancellation penalties and higher one way fare, it is cheaper to skip the FRA-QKL segment and use the return portion only rather than cancel the ticket altogether and book a new QKL-FRA one way.
I assume from the above posts that if I OLCI the FRA-QKL segment and don't turn up, I should be able to use the return portion QKL-FRA as originally booked.
TIA.
LonLH is offline  
Old Aug 28, 13, 3:42 am
  #9  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 39,877
Originally Posted by LonLH View Post
I assume from the above posts that if I OLCI the FRA-QKL segment and don't turn up, I should be able to use the return portion QKL-FRA as originally booked.
Yep, that is the case.
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Nov 7, 13, 1:35 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,968
Is this still the case? Can I do hidden city ticketing to FRA, buy a ticket to QKL and and use FRA-QKL-FRA (these would be on subsequent days). Would there be any issue with online checkin for the return?
Palal is offline  
Old Dec 15, 13, 10:50 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: somewhere between Europe and Africa, from SFO
Programs: A3*G, EY Silver
Posts: 7,968
Just to report back, the two airrail segments were successfully skipped.
Palal is offline  
Old Aug 7, 14, 4:09 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
How about skipping rail segment in this year?
igorbasic is offline  
Old Aug 7, 14, 5:39 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NAP
Programs: LH, BA, TK
Posts: 2,390
business as usual.
Forrest Bump is offline  
Old Oct 7, 15, 7:08 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Hi, I bought ticket to Stuggart for coming christmas and wannt to skip AIRail segment too, is there any updates in 2015?
For the outbound trip, if I don‘t check in and get the boarding pass at Stuggart, I can still check in and get the boarding at Frankurt Airport??
tiffany4u is offline  
Old Oct 10, 15, 4:08 pm
  #15  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 39,877
You need to checkin online for the entire trip before the train leaves ZWS. Showing up in FRA is perfectly fine in such cases.
oliver2002 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: