Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Lufthansa, Austrian, Swiss, Brussels, LOT and Other Partners | Miles & More
Reload this Page >

first-world problems: booked LH F award FRA-ORD, will not have time to enjoy FCT...

first-world problems: booked LH F award FRA-ORD, will not have time to enjoy FCT...

Old Aug 10, 12, 11:20 am
  #1  
TA
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,128
first-world problems: booked LH F award FRA-ORD, will not have time to enjoy FCT...

What a dilemma -- I finally bit the bullet, booked a return ticket to the US with LH F through FRA, but because of a 55 min connection time in FRA, doubt that I will get to enjoy the FCT. No other connections as attractive.

I suppose that LH F will be consolation enough, but man, what a waste! Too bad they can't give out a rain check for a future visit...

First world problems.
TA is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:36 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 3,622
Originally Posted by TA View Post
What a dilemma -- I finally bit the bullet, booked a return ticket to the US with LH F through FRA, but because of a 55 min connection time in FRA, doubt that I will get to enjoy the FCT. No other connections as attractive.

I suppose that LH F will be consolation enough, but man, what a waste! Too bad they can't give out a rain check for a future visit...

First world problems.
You should be able to use the FCL and then be driven to your FRA-ORD flight. At least you'll have a few minutes there.
tods27 is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:44 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Programs: UA
Posts: 224
Are you sure 55 min will give you enough time to connect? I was trying to book mine back to the U.S. with a connection in FRA, and was offered a 55 min connect time as well. Transited through FRA before in C and Y and generally will take a while to clear through security and passport control, especially if you have to go through security again for U.S. bound flights. Since you're trying in F, I heard but can't confirm that LH may have an agent greet you at the arriving gate if your connection time is tight. I don't think you'll be able (or should even try) to hit FCL. If you miss your connection, I hope LH will be generous and understanding with your rebooking.
nycua1k is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:47 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai / NYC
Programs: EK-IO, UA-1K2MM, ETIHAD-GOLD, SPG-PLAT LIFETIME, JUMEIRAH SERIUS GOLD
Posts: 5,220
Originally Posted by nycua1k View Post
Are you sure 55 min will give you enough time to connect? I was trying to book mine back to the U.S. with a connection in FRA, and was offered a 55 min connect time as well. Transited through FRA before in C and Y and generally will take a while to clear through security and passport control, especially if you have to go through security again for U.S. bound flights. Since you're trying in F, I heard but can't confirm that LH may have an agent greet you at the arriving gate if your connection time is tight. I don't think you'll be able (or should even try) to hit FCL. If you miss your connection, I hope LH will be generous and understanding with your rebooking.
If you arrive in a flight from Europe at A and depart for the US from Z, you don't need to go thru security at all
chinatraderjmr is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:50 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 3,622
Originally Posted by nycua1k View Post
Are you sure 55 min will give you enough time to connect? I was trying to book mine back to the U.S. with a connection in FRA, and was offered a 55 min connect time as well. Transited through FRA before in C and Y and generally will take a while to clear through security and passport control, especially if you have to go through security again for U.S. bound flights. Since you're trying in F, I heard but can't confirm that LH may have an agent greet you at the arriving gate if your connection time is tight. I don't think you'll be able (or should even try) to hit FCL. If you miss your connection, I hope LH will be generous and understanding with your rebooking.
Well, as long as they are still doing the secondary screening for the US at the FCL and driving you to your flight, you still might be able to duck into the FCL. It really depends on what gate the OPs connection arrives at.

I do agree that a 55 min connection at FRA is pushing it, but I have done it in the past.
tods27 is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:51 am
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Oakland, California, USA
Programs: AA PLT,AS,UA PP,J6,FB,EY,LH,SQ,HH Dmd,Hyatt Expl,Marriott Plat,IHG Plat,Accor Gold
Posts: 10,439
FRA is very big and can be quite confusing. If you don't know the airport well, try to find out from LH or here on FT exactly where you need to go and what you need to do upon arrival. Perhaps, as noted above, someone from LH will meet you upon arrival, but don't rely on only that.
Thunderroad is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:52 am
  #7  
TA
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,128
Ah, I didn't even think of the transfer benefit!

I'm arriving from Africa, and straight onto LH to ORD. So if that helps me avoid Schengen lines, then maybe I'm good in terms of time?

I wonder if they will meet me at the incoming flight...
TA is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 11:58 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 3,622
Originally Posted by TA View Post
Ah, I didn't even think of the transfer benefit!

I'm arriving from Africa, and straight onto LH to ORD. So if that helps me avoid Schengen lines, then maybe I'm good in terms of time?

I wonder if they will meet me at the incoming flight...
You might want to ask over at the LH board. I seem to remember that they were only meeting HONs who were in F on inbound.
tods27 is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 12:01 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 3,170
Originally Posted by TA View Post
What a dilemma -- I finally bit the bullet, booked a return ticket to the US with LH F through FRA, but because of a 55 min connection time in FRA, doubt that I will get to enjoy the FCT. No other connections as attractive.

I suppose that LH F will be consolation enough, but man, what a waste! Too bad they can't give out a rain check for a future visit...

First world problems.
With a 55 min transit, you might end up actually spending time in the FCT
malgudi is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 12:51 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Nor Cal
Programs: UA Global Svcs 3 MM, LH Senator, BA Gold
Posts: 537
Originally Posted by tods27 View Post
You might want to ask over at the LH board. I seem to remember that they were only meeting HONs who were in F on inbound.
You should go to the FCL in B, you almost certainly won't really have enough time to get out of T1 and walk to the FCT. They will drive you to the flight from there. The FCL is nearly identical to the FCT. If they do meet you at the plane, they will not drive you to the FCL, only to T1 B concourse.
Marin 1K is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 3:09 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Point Place, Wisconsin
Programs: LH HON, BA Gold, CX DIA, EK Gold
Posts: 14,498
55mins is a challenge...
Rambuster is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 7:56 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai / NYC
Programs: EK-IO, UA-1K2MM, ETIHAD-GOLD, SPG-PLAT LIFETIME, JUMEIRAH SERIUS GOLD
Posts: 5,220
Originally Posted by TA View Post
Ah, I didn't even think of the transfer benefit!

I'm arriving from Africa, and straight onto LH to ORD. So if that helps me avoid Schengen lines, then maybe I'm good in terms of time?

I wonder if they will meet me at the incoming flight...
If your arriving from Africa you must go thru security for sure. If you arrive on LH from JNB, you arrive at C and that's a loooong walk to the IFCL at B. if your arriving from anywhere else in Africa, you probably arrive at B, go thru security and right down to the IFCL at B (that's doable but tight). 55 min is gonna be tough in any class
chinatraderjmr is offline  
Old Aug 10, 12, 8:44 pm
  #13  
TA
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,128
Just a followup, since I read the "LH screwed me" thread.

If I miss the connection in FRA, am I going to have ticket problems? Does LH still try to automatically put me on the next F flight, or reading that thread there is a mention that if you miss the flight regardless of fault, you have to rebook? This is a UA award ticket, in LH F (O class)

If the policies on LH are any bit unfavorable, I should book to a different connection while I can do it without any fees before the itinerary starts, I guess.

Thanks!

Last edited by TA; Aug 10, 12 at 8:52 pm
TA is offline  
Old Aug 11, 12, 6:11 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dubai / NYC
Programs: EK-IO, UA-1K2MM, ETIHAD-GOLD, SPG-PLAT LIFETIME, JUMEIRAH SERIUS GOLD
Posts: 5,220
Originally Posted by TA View Post
Just a followup, since I read the "LH screwed me" thread.

If I miss the connection in FRA, am I going to have ticket problems? Does LH still try to automatically put me on the next F flight, or reading that thread there is a mention that if you miss the flight regardless of fault, you have to rebook? This is a UA award ticket, in LH F (O class)

If the policies on LH are any bit unfavorable, I should book to a different connection while I can do it without any fees before the itinerary starts, I guess.

Thanks!
I would rebook only cuz I don't think you'll make it & why sweat. But LH is good about putting you on another flight. If your tkts in O, you will be reacommodated in First on the next LH flight unless there just are no more seats (unlikely to happen, F is rarely full)
chinatraderjmr is offline  
Old Aug 11, 12, 10:59 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: LED
Programs: A3*G, AF/KL Gold, Hilton Gold, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by chinatraderjmr View Post
I would rebook only cuz I don't think you'll make it & why sweat. But LH is good about putting you on another flight. If your tkts in O, you will be reacommodated in First on the next LH flight unless there just are no more seats (unlikely to happen, F is rarely full)
But that next flight may be UA...
Egor is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread