Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Los Angeles
Reload this Page >

LAX TBIT (Terminal B) TSA Pre✓ [Now Open]

LAX TBIT (Terminal B) TSA Pre✓ [Now Open]

Reply

Old Feb 27, 18, 1:07 pm
  #16  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 10,726
Originally Posted by downinit View Post
They just need to get the people mover going so I can avoid the vehicle traffic in the CTA.
It's in the works with scheduled completion in 2023.
LAX Landside Access Modernization Program
TWA884 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 18, 7:45 am
  #17  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Programs: AA, United, Marriott, Hilton, Princess
Posts: 1
I came through on Friday (4/27) and there was a TSA precheck line at TBIT. I asked and was told it had opened two days earlier.
3Cruisers is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 18, 1:00 am
  #18  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: formerly Gold now Diamond, formerly MSY, now LAX, formerly NW, now DL
Programs: Hyatt Plat, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Delta Diamond/1MM
Posts: 4,089
Awesome news!! Its about time....
SFO777 likes this.
NOLAnwGOLD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 14, 18, 8:05 pm
  #19  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: SAN/SFO/LAX depending on the day
Programs: SPGMarriott Plat, AS MVPG. EK Gold
Posts: 658
Originally Posted by 3Cruisers View Post
I came through on Friday (4/27) and there was a TSA precheck line at TBIT. I asked and was told it had opened two days earlier.
Which airline were you flying with?

EK has Pre but LAX is not listed on its website. In Feb '17, I tried doing the T4 trick - the EK checkin agent obliged me and put my KTN in and got the magic words on the BP.

Something must have been wrong with the barcode and it didn't scan properly at the top of the escalators above AA's desks (probably because EK IT didn't BP's out of LAX). I had them remove Pre from my BP and went through the regular lines and <whole body scanner>.

I'll check in with EK and see if they can get this going in time for me in a couple weeks

Not that I don't trust y'all but I wanted to see for myself...

Last edited by TWA884; May 14, 18 at 8:23 pm Reason: Merge consecutive posts by the same member for readability / edit term better left for the TSS Policy Debate forum
Metanoia is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 18, 1:01 pm
  #20  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Programs: Chase, United
Posts: 212
Any updates on whether Tbit reliably has tsa pre? Last May I was flying business but even the priority lane was tortuously slow. This time flying business of sas, should have pre.

Advice? Best to look for the downstairs alternate screening? Go to t4? Or should tbit be good now?

thanks in advance
zoechow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 18, 1:10 pm
  #21  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SEA | LAX | IAD
Programs: SQ *G, UA, AS
Posts: 318
Originally Posted by zoechow View Post
Any updates on whether Tbit reliably has tsa pre? Last May I was flying business but even the priority lane was tortuously slow. This time flying business of sas, should have pre.

Advice? Best to look for the downstairs alternate screening? Go to t4? Or should tbit be good now?

thanks in advance
Yes, TBIT has PreCheck (as of May 3) -- I went up the left (south) stairs.

My SK boarding pass failed to scan at the time, and I was directed to regular security screening. They might have fixed that by now though.
Polytonic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 18, 8:06 am
  #22  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: formerly Gold now Diamond, formerly MSY, now LAX, formerly NW, now DL
Programs: Hyatt Plat, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Delta Diamond/1MM
Posts: 4,089
Yeah our KLM PreCheck had it on our BPs but failed the scan so we had to do the regular line. CLEAR didn't work either (we did T2 since we wanted to do the Delta lounge instead of KAL, since we were in economy.).
NOLAnwGOLD is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 18, 1:42 pm
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Programs: Chase, United
Posts: 212
My experience

Checked in sas business class Tbit. Lady said go to right. I knew to go to left. Found tsa pre.
Lady looked at card and said,” no, you go to the regular line. “ I showed her the words “tsa pre”. She said ok. Through quickly. But behind an a380 worth if flight attendants.

Last edited by zoechow; May 22, 18 at 1:43 pm Reason: Typo
zoechow is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 25, 18, 11:19 am
  #24  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Long Beach, CA
Programs: AA PLT, Hilton Diamond, IHG PlatAmb, Marriott Gold, Hyatt Discoverist, Radisson Gold
Posts: 2,570
I used https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/schedule to check as I have a flight tonight.
It appears the TBIT Pre-Check area has limited hours - seems to be morning and evening. I checked for tonight 5-8pm and it's not open, so will need to do the T4 dance.
OskiBear is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 18, 5:34 pm
  #25  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: LAX
Programs: TK M&S, LH MM, Global Entry, Hertz Gold, Sixt Platinum
Posts: 667
Originally Posted by OskiBear View Post
I used https://www.tsa.gov/precheck/schedule to check as I have a flight tonight.
It appears the TBIT Pre-Check area has limited hours - seems to be morning and evening. I checked for tonight 5-8pm and it's not open, so will need to do the T4 dance.
this didn’t work for me today:

I used that site to check if Pre-check area was open at our time at TBIT and it said it wasn’t. However, after doing the T4 shuffle and walking past the windows looking down, I saw that it was open and processing passengers after all.
gr8pirate is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 1, 18, 6:28 am
  #26  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 769
I don't fly every day, but I just got back from a trip and the outbound Pre-Check experience at TBIT didn't seem much different than traveling without Pre-Check. Separate line, shoes stayed on, but I was required to take my belt off, and iPad was taken out and placed in a tray.
zippy the pinhead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 18, 3:48 pm
  #27  
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Did LAX TBIT get precheck line yet?

I'm going to be travelling out of Tom Bradley International shortly. I was wondering, if they added a precheck line yet? My search online of threads a few month ago show it hasn't but I wanted to see if anything was changed?
mrcaptain is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 18, 4:00 pm
  #28  
Moderator: Travel Safety/Security, Travel Tools, California, Los Angeles
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: VNY | BUR | LAX
Programs: AAdvantage | MileagePlus
Posts: 10,726
Take a look at this thread:
LAX TBIT (Terminal B) TSA Pre✓ [Now Open]
TWA884 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 19, 1:54 pm
  #29  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: LAX
Programs: AA Plat, DL, UA, IHG Plat
Posts: 1,980
Precheck is definitely at TBIT. Use it last month on my way to LHR.
bzcat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 19, 12:58 am
  #30  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: formerly Gold now Diamond, formerly MSY, now LAX, formerly NW, now DL
Programs: Hyatt Plat, Hilton Gold, SPG Gold, Delta Diamond/1MM
Posts: 4,089
Yes, I used it last week., After check in, you go towards the left stairs. The right side doesn't have PreCheck. Though it was a Pre-Xmas Chaotic Day that I walked in from Century Blvd instead having my friend drop me off at the terminal, no one was using the line.
NOLAnwGOLD is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread