Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Las Vegas
Reload this Page >

Vegas Recovery - Future

Vegas Recovery - Future

Old Feb 18, 2021, 10:45 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AS 75K
Vegas Recovery - Future

There was a good discussion brewing about Vegas recovery in the, "What's Vegas like during Covid" thread but that is off-topic. So, how about continuing that with some speculation and opinion?

I have been visiting Vegas 2-3X a year for the last 15 years or so and know the scene pretty well. I'm usually there once a year for a work convention and then make it back a time or two for fun. There was a lot of debate in the other thread about recovery and I think it's important to differentiate convention folks vs. recreational travelers. If the question is just about raw dollars I suppose they could be lumped together but I believe it's a two-fold approach - when will recreational travelers return? When will conventions return? I think the vacationers will return much sooner. It's a $500 gamble (no pun intended) for a couple to jump a plane and get a room at Bally's. A convention starts at what, 100K, 200k, 500K? I honestly have no idea but I'm sure it's more of a risk than some newlyweds hopping a flight from LA. Then factor in the liability of the convention or the cost if Covid makes a surge and they have to cancel. I just think conventions are going to take A LOT longer to return.

I think it's also important to profile your average convention attendee vs. the recreational traveler for clarification of what numbers we're talking about. Sure, both stay in a hotel but that's where the similarity ends. From my experience (and this well may be limited by my industry) a lot of the convention folks do a lot of walking around looking... NOT gambling/spending. Recreational folks are the ones throwing chips at tables and pulling handles on slot machines (or pushing buttons, anyway).