Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > America - USA > Las Vegas
Reload this Page >

Terminal 1 or 3 to car rental. Which is faster?

Terminal 1 or 3 to car rental. Which is faster?

Old Oct 29, 19, 1:05 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: PDX
Programs: AS DL
Posts: 2,875
Terminal 1 or 3 to car rental. Which is faster?

Which terminal is faster to get to the car rental facility, Terminal 1 (WN, DL, AA) or Terminal 3 (United, Alaska, JetBlue, Hawaiian, Frontier, foreign carriers)?
Toshbaf is offline  
Old Oct 29, 19, 2:06 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: LAS TPE HND LHR
Programs: BA Meltdown soft-landed Silver, OZ♦+ (BR/UA), B6 Mosaic, WoH♦, Mlife Noir, TR 7*
Posts: 5,089
Originally Posted by Toshbaf View Post
Terminal 1 (WN, DL, AA) or Terminal 3 (United, Alaska, JetBlue, Hawaiian, Frontier, foreign carriers)...
Be aware that T1 and T3 are ground handling designations, so what you listed above is only where those airlines do ground handling - not necessarily where the gates actually are. For example, DL, AA, UA, F9, and HA all actually operate out of the satellite D Concourse and require a tram ride to either T1 or T3. Concourses A/B/C are all directly connected to T1 (there is a tram from the more remote C gates for convenience) and E is directly connected to T3.
gengar is offline  
Old Oct 29, 19, 5:37 am
  #3  
Moderator: Hawaii-based airlines & Hawai'i forums
2020 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ka ʻĀpala Nui
Programs: NEXUS/Global Entry, Delta, United, Hyatt, IHG, Marriott, and Hertz
Posts: 16,094
Originally Posted by FlyinHawaiian View Post
For the inverse (Delta D gates to curbside), is Terminal 1 or 3 significantly better for the shuttle ride to the Rent-A-Car Center? Google maps suggests it's more of a straight shot from Terminal 1.

Thanks!
Originally Posted by DenverBrian View Post
I'd say it's a minute or two difference, if that. And the quieter, newer, cleaner T3 makes it preferential to T1 all day.
FlyinHawaiian is online now  
Old Oct 31, 19, 4:02 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,741
If you choose to go through T3, remember to drink coffee on your flight, or you might fall asleep from the blandness with its Grey and Grey with Grey accents and zero art or anything visually stimulating.
CZBB is online now  
Old Nov 3, 19, 5:29 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Navajo Nation, Northern Arizona
Programs: ex-Con *Gold (earned) moving to DL
Posts: 9,597
Originally Posted by CZBB View Post
If you choose to go through T3, remember to drink coffee on your flight, or you might fall asleep from the blandness with its Grey and Grey with Grey accents and zero art or anything visually stimulating.
I’ll agree that the T3 ticket / check-in counters and baggage claim are rather ‘Zen’, but I actually find that rather calming in contrast to the sensory overload of the ‘touristy’ parts of Las Vegas and even the associated D & E concourses, which certainly aren’t devoid of glitz.
kale73 is offline  
Old Nov 4, 19, 1:08 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 23,764
Originally Posted by gengar View Post
Be aware that T1 and T3 are ground handling designations, so what you listed above is only where those airlines do ground handling - not necessarily where the gates actually are. For example, DL, AA, UA, F9, and HA all actually operate out of the satellite D Concourse and require a tram ride to either T1 or T3. Concourses A/B/C are all directly connected to T1 (there is a tram from the more remote C gates for convenience) and E is directly connected to T3.

OP didn't ask about the gates. You obviously can't get from the gates directly to the Rental Car Center. But you *can* get the shuttle bus to the RCC, and those shuttle buses pick passengers up at -- wait for it -- T1 or T2. Hence the OP asking from which location is it faster to get to the RCC.
ijgordon is offline  
Old Nov 4, 19, 3:52 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: LAS TPE HND LHR
Programs: BA Meltdown soft-landed Silver, OZ♦+ (BR/UA), B6 Mosaic, WoH♦, Mlife Noir, TR 7*
Posts: 5,089
Originally Posted by ijgordon View Post

OP didn't ask about the gates. You obviously can't get from the gates directly to the Rental Car Center. But you *can* get the shuttle bus to the RCC, and those shuttle buses pick passengers up at -- wait for it -- T1 or T2. Hence the OP asking from which location is it faster to get to the RCC.
Being ignorant of gate locations/designations at LAS will necessarily result in unhelpful advice. The reason for this is that terminals (in this case, T1 and T3 - there is currently no T2 at LAS) are ground handling designations. Concourses (A, B, C, D, and E) are gate area designations. Airlines can be various combinations of these designations; for example, DL and UA both use Concourse D for gates despite that DL uses T1 for ground handling while UA uses T3.

That's the point of delineating the gate areas by tram connections in my OP, because getting from any concourse other than D to the non-directly-connected terminal will require taking two trams, likely eliminating any benefit of a shorter/faster shuttle ride.

Last edited by gengar; Nov 28, 19 at 3:43 am Reason: clarify
gengar is offline  
Old Nov 21, 19, 3:17 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 76
You can plan to spend 30+ minutes in line for the Car Rental Center shuttle after you get outside of Terminal 1.

What's up with that?

Until a year or so ago it would take a minute or two to get on the bus. They cut way back on the number of buses?
BobOscar is offline  
Old Nov 22, 19, 9:18 pm
  #9  
nrr
2020 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Programs: AA Executive Platinum; 2MM AA, Delta Diamond, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 8,714
Originally Posted by CZBB View Post
If you choose to go through T3, remember to drink coffee on your flight, or you might fall asleep from the blandness with its Grey and Grey with Grey accents and zero art or anything visually stimulating.
Are there no slot machines in T3?
nrr is offline  
Old Nov 23, 19, 9:25 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 2,451
Originally Posted by CZBB View Post
If you choose to go through T3, remember to drink coffee on your flight, or you might fall asleep from the blandness with its Grey and Grey with Grey accents and zero art or anything visually stimulating.
Originally Posted by nrr View Post
Are there no slot machines in T3?
Yes, there are slot machines.


Image courtesy Orbitz: https://www.orbitz.com/blog/2012/07/...-airport-6912/

There also is art throughout the terminal.
https://lasvegassun.com/news/2012/ju...airplanes-des/
writerguyfl is offline  
Old Nov 23, 19, 11:52 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: PDX
Programs: AS DL
Posts: 2,875
Conclusion: There are dividers at T3 to accommodate long lines. Once I saw a long line extending half way to the terminal doors. Another time, I saw a medium line snaking through the dividers. This is poor service.

At the car rental center, the lines to T1 are only slightly longer than the T3 lines but there are more shuttles servicing T1. Waiting time is less. There are bus employees policing the lines. They bark orders and are generally unfriendly. They demand you tell them which airline even if you aren't flying but only need to get to the airport. That forces one to lie and say "Southwest" for T1 or "United" for T3.
Toshbaf is offline  
Old Nov 26, 19, 4:00 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: YYZ, ON
Programs: UA 1K (2MM)
Posts: 394
The above cover it all. I do want to add that T3 is definitely a more comfortable (just newer, and quieter) terminal to arrive in.

It does come down to your carrier (as outlined previously) and where their gates and ops are in the 'terminal'. I fly mostly UA, so I can only speak to their ops...they are a tram ride away and their luggage carousels are a solid 3-4 minute walk from when you exit airside.

From curb to curb I've had to do both terminals and I recall little difference to get to the car rental facility from either.
SLC-YYZ is offline  
Old Nov 28, 19, 2:55 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA, USA
Programs: Frontier 50K elite, DL estranged 1MMer, Spirit VIP, CO/NW/UA/AA once gold/plat/comped gold now dust.
Posts: 27,584
I usually arrive on Frontier but also usually don't have checked bags to pick up, so I could take either tram.

I've decided on T3, because while it's more distance walking to get to the rental car bus, you're much less likely to have a line or a situation with too many people waiting for buses as I've seen occasionally at T1. T1 has more volume and seems like much more of a cattle drive in loading the buses and leaving.
RustyC is offline  
Old Dec 7, 19, 4:28 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: YYZ
Programs: Hilton Diamond, Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime PE, AC Altitude SE100K-1MM
Posts: 304
Was just in LAS, and took T3 shuttle to Rental Car Center (RCC). Line up was loooong...had ~10-15 minute wait for the bus, and we were the second-last passengers boarded when a bus finally arrived. When the bus departed and I looked back at the line that remained, there was already at least another busload worth of passengers waiting. Then, it felt like the ride from T3 to the RCC took such a long time. Only saving grace was no line up at Budget.


Originally Posted by Toshbaf View Post
At the car rental center, the lines to T1 are only slightly longer than the T3 lines but there are more shuttles servicing T1. Waiting time is less. There are bus employees policing the lines. They bark orders and are generally unfriendly. They demand you tell them which airline even if you aren't flying but only need to get to the airport. That forces one to lie and say "Southwest" for T1 or "United" for T3.
On the return trip to T3, the driver did indeed inquire which airline. There were 2 stops at T3, and a lot of people got off at the first stop, so I stood up at the back of the bus to make sure my suitcase had not been mistakenly taken. The driver asked me if I was getting off, and I explained "no, I am just checking to make sure no one took my bag by mistake" and he said he put all the bags destined for the 2nd stop at T3 in one area, separate from the others. So maybe that's why the driver asks which airline?
SteadyAT is offline  
Old Dec 10, 19, 2:57 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 23,764
I stopped renting cars in LAS after they opened the RCC (probably 10 years ago now). And then the casinos adding parking fees was insult to injury. I guess the taxi lobby was happy (well until Uber came along...lol).

If I want to do a day trip to Hoover Dam or Red Rock Canyon or whatnot, I'll do a day rental on-site at one of the casinos.
ijgordon is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: