Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Award Booking Questions

Search this Thread

Old Jul 24, 2017, 9:43 pm
Original Poster

Programs: Marriott Ambassador, Hyatt Globalist, Hilton Diamond, Alaska 75K, United Platinum
Award Booking Questions

Hello,

Have a couple award booking question as I'm new to the program. I'm currently flying BKK:ICN:LAX in F and was wondering if they will let me book BKK:ICN:SFO:SNA with the SFO:SNA leg on their partner, AS.

Additionally, I'm told that you can put an award reservation on hold, but when I called to do this the agent didn't seem like she wanted to do that and suggested that I put the reservation on hold on-line. When I went to the website, I didn't see any ability to do this. Should I just call back and try a different agent?

Thanks in advance!
Old Jul 25, 2017, 3:33 pm
formerly RZachSmith

You cannot book a one way award involving partners - if any partners are involved, I believe the award would have to be round trip.

I had no problems getting my recent JFK-ICN-SIN award put on hold over the phone. I simply went through the standard process of booking the award, and when we got to the end I told the agent I would need to transfer miles in to be able to complete the booking and asker her to place it on hold. She did so without hesitation or concern.

I didn't tell her I was doing this from the beginning, but I was asked to verify both my and my wife's skypass account info before we got very far into the process, so I assume the agent could see I didn't yet have the miles to complete the booking. The whole process was smooth, so yes I would recommend just calling back and trying again.
Old Jul 28, 2017, 4:45 pm

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, MLife Gold, Marriott Gold, HHonors Gold, Caesars Diamond, Amex Plat
I'm wondering about a mixed Skyteam award too but am having trouble. Is it possible to book KE + DL (like MCO-ATL-ICN) round trip with an open jaw?
Old Aug 2, 2017, 9:22 am