Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Destinations > Asia > Korea
Reload this Page >

The South Korea COVID-19 thread

The South Korea COVID-19 thread

Old Jun 10, 22, 1:22 pm
  #181  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Programs: SPG Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Loews Platinum
Posts: 619
Do you ever need the physical original COVID Vaccine card?

Do you ever need the physical original COVID Vaccine card? I've got pictures, but have misplaced it. Do I absolutely need to either locate it or get a new one made or am I ok with the images I have of them?

Thanks!
Braswch is offline  
Old Jun 10, 22, 4:02 pm
  #182  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 83
Originally Posted by Braswch View Post
Do you ever need the physical original COVID Vaccine card? I've got pictures, but have misplaced it. Do I absolutely need to either locate it or get a new one made or am I ok with the images I have of them?

Thanks!
Asiana did not ask for the vax card when we checked in. The agent was more focused on our PCR test making sure we have all the required information in there. Other airlines may differ so YMMV on this one.
Stingyguy is offline  
Old Jun 10, 22, 4:33 pm
  #183  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Programs: SPG Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Globalist, Loews Platinum
Posts: 619
Originally Posted by Stingyguy View Post
Asiana did not ask for the vax card when we checked in. The agent was more focused on our PCR test making sure we have all the required information in there. Other airlines may differ so YMMV on this one.
Also, I think I just read too that the unvaccinated no longer need to quarantine, so seems even without proof of vaccine the process might not be any different now.
Braswch is offline  
Old Jun 10, 22, 6:12 pm
  #184  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle & Seoul.... and now, Maastricht....
Programs: UA Mileage Plus, NWA WorldPerks deserter, Alaska Airlines Something-er-Other...
Posts: 1,848
Question

When applying for the Q-code, is it possible to pre-fill out the information, and then add the test results later? I've spent time adding all my passport and accommodation information, but I can't seem to get past Step 6 because I have no test result to upload (yet). But there wasn't a place where I 'created' an account to sign in and go back to after I have test results. Did I just waste my time trying to do it early? Do you only fill out the whole Q-code process once you have the results? It won't let me go beyond Step 6. It just keeps asking for a test date. But when I put the date (next week) it says the test date must be before the present date.
Paella747 is offline  
Old Jun 11, 22, 10:52 am
  #185  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: California
Programs: AA EXP; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott Bonvoy Titanium Elite
Posts: 1,295
Originally Posted by Paella747 View Post
When applying for the Q-code, is it possible to pre-fill out the information, and then add the test results later? I've spent time adding all my passport and accommodation information, but I can't seem to get past Step 6 because I have no test result to upload (yet). But there wasn't a place where I 'created' an account to sign in and go back to after I have test results. Did I just waste my time trying to do it early? Do you only fill out the whole Q-code process once you have the results? It won't let me go beyond Step 6. It just keeps asking for a test date. But when I put the date (next week) it says the test date must be before the present date.
You can't move past step 6, but you can access all that pre-loaded info by going to the "input result" page and put in your passport and email, then click "view the details of your inputs" then go to "modify" on the next page and you can page through back to page 6 once you get your results. The page is accessible 2 days before you travel.
Paella747 likes this.
seigex is offline  
Old Jun 11, 22, 12:47 pm
  #186  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Seattle & Seoul.... and now, Maastricht....
Programs: UA Mileage Plus, NWA WorldPerks deserter, Alaska Airlines Something-er-Other...
Posts: 1,848
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by seigex View Post
You can't move past step 6, but you can access all that pre-loaded info by going to the "input result" page and put in your passport and email, then click "view the details of your inputs" then go to "modify" on the next page and you can page through back to page 6 once you get your results. The page is accessible 2 days before you travel.
Thanks so much (again!)! Will give it a go after my test next week!
seigex likes this.
Paella747 is offline  
Old Jun 12, 22, 5:31 pm
  #187  
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 83
Just got back from Seoul. When we checked in at Asiana yesterday, the only thing they asked was our attestation. It was smooth as in prepandemic. Asiana's website already had the updated COVID test info. This is just an FYI for anybody wondering.
kevincrumbs, LETTERBOY and seigex like this.
Stingyguy is offline  
Old Jun 14, 22, 6:50 pm
  #188  
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 13
Does anyone know if Korea accepts the eMed Navica antigen test for entry intro Korea? I would definitely prefer to do this at home if possible.

Also, for someone who say, got COVID within the last month or two before traveling to Korea, is there some option to present a letter of recovery from a doctor or something to be exempt from testing on arrival? I understand some people will continue to test PCR+ for months so the test doesn't really make sense.
elcasar is offline  
Old Jun 14, 22, 7:11 pm
  #189  
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 13
???? Do I have to have a passport photo taken for K-ETA??? I thought I just had to enter information and pay the fee?

edit: Nevermind. I see with I can take a photo with the app.

Last edited by elcasar; Jun 14, 22 at 7:48 pm
elcasar is offline  
Old Jun 15, 22, 11:24 am
  #190  
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 13
Are you not able to reserve the test at Incheon more than one month in advance of your travel?

Also, If I'm supposed to land at 17:35, what time should I schedule my test? I will have to go through passport control and pick up my bags and present q code first, correct?
elcasar is offline  
Old Jun 15, 22, 1:48 pm
  #191  
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 34
Originally Posted by elcasar View Post
Are you not able to reserve the test at Incheon more than one month in advance of your travel?

Also, If I'm supposed to land at 17:35, what time should I schedule my test? I will have to go through passport control and pick up my bags and present q code first, correct?
The situation is changing from earlier anecdotal accounts.

Back in May, when visitors were fewer, many reported they booked the appointment for 60-75 min past scheduled arrival time - and every one of them beat their appointment thanks to their q code letting them breeze through customs. If you beat your appointment, it just becomes first come, first served - they don't force you to wait until appointment time.

June changed to a bit more of a cluster..... More summer visitors; more arrival flights; more jumbo jets deplaning 250 people at a time within minutes of each other. Slight confusion at testing site because there's one line to pay and a different line to nasal swab. Taking some pressure off though from this increase in arrivals is the expanded window for arrival testing to 3 days, so enough passengers will get discouraged by any lines at the airport (they're jetlagged, hungry, irritable) and opt to test somewhere in the city instead.

For your arrival time, I might book it for 18:30 assuming you have q code. Avoid T2 if you can because supposedly they take dinner breaks, while at T1 they take no breaks.
Andrew Kim is offline  
Old Jun 15, 22, 11:50 pm
  #192  
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tokyo
Programs: Bonvoy LT Titanium ANA Plat
Posts: 455
I am having problems entering my Korean address in Qcode. Any version of my hotel, Plaza Seoul, new and old postcodes just cones up blank.

Last time somehow I randomly typed in something and got an address, I then edited as far as possible and it was no problem.

Anyone have a solution or a hotel address that worked ?
BRITINJAPAN4 is offline  
Old Jun 17, 22, 12:42 am
  #193  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gangnam-gu, Seoul, Korea
Programs: KE Skypass Morning Calm Member, OZ Club
Posts: 2,145
Originally Posted by elcasar View Post
Does anyone know if Korea accepts the eMed Navica antigen test for entry intro Korea? I would definitely prefer to do this at home if possible.

Also, for someone who say, got COVID within the last month or two before traveling to Korea, is there some option to present a letter of recovery from a doctor or something to be exempt from testing on arrival? I understand some people will continue to test PCR+ for months so the test doesn't really make sense.
Korea doesn't care that you got it weeks ago, if that PCR is positive on arrival - prepare to be sent off to a facility for 7 days. They only accept recovery letters if you got it in Korea within 40 days.
mikesaidyes is offline  
Old Jun 17, 22, 8:24 am
  #194  
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 13
Originally Posted by mikesaidyes View Post
Korea doesn't care that you got it weeks ago, if that PCR is positive on arrival - prepare to be sent off to a facility for 7 days. They only accept recovery letters if you got it in Korea within 40 days.
Are you stating that based on personal experience or the experience of someone you know? I asked the concierge at the hotel where I plan to stay and they spoke with the health department who replied that such cases would be reviewed on a case by case basis.
elcasar is offline  
Old Jun 17, 22, 4:13 pm
  #195  
Moderator, Amtrak & Spirit Airlines
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: EWR :rolleyes:
Programs: AC 50K, AS MVP, AA Plat Pro, DL Plat, UA Silver, IHG Spire, Marriott Titanium, Hertz PC
Posts: 7,341
As someone who had a positive PCR test on arrival in Korea last month and spent 7 days in their covid facility I assure you that there is NOTHING except maybe a last chance to see an immediate family member before they pass worth risking testing positive in Korea.
LETTERBOY and MSPeconomist like this.
Long Train Runnin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread