Travelling with a bicycle on KLM

Old Apr 24, 19, 8:50 am
Original Poster

Programs: BAEC Gold
Travelling with a bicycle on KLM

I am new to KLM and unlikely to be using them again after learning about their pathetic policy on carrying bikes. I have booked business class for SIN-DPS and had intended to take my bike. I have a proprietary hard bike box that I have flown all over the world with. Outside of budget airlines I have never had to pay for it in recent years. KLM in their wisdom penalise cyclists above other types of sport for some reason to the tune of 55USD each way on this flight. So be it, I pay it and I never fly them again.

I read the small print, oh no, every bike box on the market falls outside the KLM max dimensions, specifically no hard bike boxes are 23cm and under. Am I to understand that KLM do not take bikes at all if they are properly packed in a hard case. I cannot get a straight answer from the 'KLM Service Centre'.

Any advice gratefully received. I suspect it's a case of just turn up and hope for the best.
Old Apr 24, 19, 9:06 am
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Originally Posted by MrCheapSeats View Post
I read the small print, oh no, every bike box on the market falls outside the KLM max dimensions, specifically no hard bike boxes are 23cm and under. Am I to understand that KLM do not take bikes at all if they are properly packed in a hard case. I cannot get a straight answer from the 'KLM Service Centre'.
Now, I've never taken a bike on a KLM flight, but I think you have misinterpreted the regulations.

176.5 * 23 * 101.5 cm are the dimensions of the KLM bike boxes you can purchase at Schiphol. This does not mean that a bike box of your own has to have the same, or smaller dimensions. They are just telling you the dimensions of the box available at AMS, as clearly not all bike types will fit these boxes. (But this blogpost indicates that L+B+H must be less than 300cm)