Possible to add checked baggage at layover in AMS?

Old Jan 19, 19, 7:35 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 1,074
Possible to add checked baggage at layover in AMS?

I have a layover in AMS and would like to pick up and check some items from family there if possible... Other than allotting enough time and clearing customs / security, would there be any issues doing this? DL itinerary; KL metal connecting to DL metal to the US.
appleguru is offline  
Old Jan 20, 19, 1:21 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 10
Iíve added bags when transferring in AMS many times. No problems for me .

Originally Posted by appleguru View Post
I have a layover in AMS and would like to pick up and check some items from family there if possible... Other than allotting enough time and clearing customs / security, would there be any issues doing this? DL itinerary; KL metal connecting to DL metal to the US.
ponchokatten is offline  
Old Jan 20, 19, 10:14 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 1,074
Originally Posted by ponchokatten View Post
Iíve added bags when transferring in AMS many times. No problems for me .
Thanks, good to know it's possible Now just need to sort out if I can realistically do it with my 2HR layover
appleguru is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 3:18 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Netherlands
Programs: Gold: A3, KL Silver: AZ, BA
Posts: 23,956
Note that if you plan having your already checked-in bag returned to you at AMS so these items can be inserted into that bag which is then re-checked, that it may not be possible to achieve this without payment of a fee. A bag is only short-checked to AMS if the onward flight is the next day or if there is a change of mode of transport at AMS (ie onward "flight" is by bus or train).

Remember also that if you check in a brand new, second (or subsequent) bag at AMS, you may have to pay a fee (depending on the free baggage allowance applying to your ticket, and any extra baggage allowance afforded by your status). Note also that any free baggage allowance you may have should be counted as the first bag and therefore you may find yourself already bumped up to the more expensive "second bag" fee for the first bag that becomes liable for a fee.
irishguy28 is offline  
Old Jan 23, 19, 5:04 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: WAW and KBP
Programs: Gold: Flying blue / Silver: Club Accor
Posts: 849
Originally Posted by appleguru View Post
my 2HR layover
also be careful cause your layover is very short

i dont know if these two hours are between first flight landing and second flight boarding time .

to summarize

- exit = depends on arrival gate you can be very far from exits, or a bus will bring you to exit and both can take a while
- check-in = for DL flights i guess they have dedicated counters , but they are not flying small planes over atlantic
- security = if you have access to skypriority sometimes it can save your a$$ because of queues
- passport control = depends on the time of the day there are huuuuge lanes in amsterdam , (one case i had to wait 40 mins)
- TSA = flights to USA require extra screening (if i remember correctly in AMS you need to pass through D1 gate)

Of course i havent mentionned any possible delays . Even if each step takes 15 mins (you will be very lucky) , it mean you will be just on time

so if i was in your case i would really consider the risks and if it is worth the price to check a bag in AMS

In order to do such things , 2hours are enough only between two schengen flights

Last edited by fifty_two; Jan 23, 19 at 5:11 am
fifty_two is offline  
Old Jan 27, 19, 4:11 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Programs: BA Bronze, Accor Gold, IHG Plat
Posts: 4,988
Originally Posted by fifty_two View Post
- TSA = flights to USA require extra screening (if i remember correctly in AMS you need to pass through D1 gate)
Not any more. Interviews have been discontinued since January 1st.
Mirk likes this.
KLflyerRalph is offline  
Old Feb 10, 19, 9:06 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 1,074
Originally Posted by KLflyerRalph View Post
Not any more. Interviews have been discontinued since January 1st.
Indeed; was a nice surprise. The DL app still said "D1" for our gate, so I guess they still haven't updated that yet. The airport monitors were correct/had the real gate, which is a really nice change.

They (3rd party security agents with iPads) did the "extra" screening to passengers as they arrived at the gate, scanning boarding passes + passports. However they were having issues with the wifi, so eventually just gave up and let everyone into the gate area, and re-scanned in the boarding queue as passengers boarded.
appleguru is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread