Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Japan Airlines | JAL Mileage Bank
Reload this Page >

JAL will continue to interline to other oneworld carriers on separate PNRs

JAL will continue to interline to other oneworld carriers on separate PNRs

Reply

Old Apr 19, 18, 6:28 am
  #46  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,959
Unlike London airways, you would be fine
kaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 18, 6:56 am
  #47  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: HKG
Programs: BA(GGL) QF LTS CX AM, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,575
Originally Posted by bent View Post
Noted that the policy displayed online states they will only be able to through check baggage if the booking across the diff carriers is on a single ticket. In your case above, it is certainly 2 separate tickets. Anyone can confirm if through check was successful?

*Edit:but the 2nd half said they " will continue to honor all tickets, including those with different PNR/booking codes, and make best efforts to provide through check-in service in compliance with the industry rules/procedures to the final destination. "

so i am not sure...
last time at NRT they did through check to JHB
ermen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Apr 21, 18, 5:07 pm
  #48  
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beantown! (BOS)
Programs: AA PtPro (1 MM); Hilton Diamond; Hertz President Cr; DL SkyMiles; UA MileagePlus
Posts: 2,201
Originally Posted by bent View Post
Noted that the policy displayed online states they will only be able to through check baggage if the booking across the diff carriers is on a single ticket. In your case above, it is certainly 2 separate tickets. Anyone can confirm if through check was successful?

*Edit:but the 2nd half said they " will continue to honor all tickets, including those with different PNR/booking codes, and make best efforts to provide through check-in service in compliance with the industry rules/procedures to the final destination. "

so i am not sure...
The first part of the link indicates minimum check baggage requirement set by OneWorld. All OneWorld airlines have to least provide indicated check baggage service. The second part of the link indicates JAL policy, where JAL has decided to provide little more of check baggage service beyond what is required by OneWorld policy.
kaka likes this.
AlwaysAisle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 18, 4:33 am
  #49  
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 5
I've booked a MEL-NRT-ORD business ticket on JAL, with the idea of connecting (2.5h connection time) onto an economy AA flight ORD-ATW that I had purchased using miles -- so two separate PNRs.

I know I need to pick bags up in customs, but given I am moving 3x bags and the limit at 70lbs, do you think JAL will allow me to tag the bags to ATW if I show them the separate PNR? Two phone calls to both JAL and AA reps seems to all say no, they can't be tagged, but this forum seems to suggest otherwise. Any thoughts?

Thanks!
shadpuff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 18, 6:58 am
  #50  
Suspended
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,959
Originally Posted by JALPak View Post
oneworld adjusted its policy back in June. Now JAL has finally posted its policy online.

JAL will continue to provide through check-in service between oneworld carriers even if you are on separate PNRs but other oneworld carriers (e.g. CX) may not do the same when you are connecting to JAL on a separate PNR.

JAL - Member airlines of oneworld alliance have changed their minimum requirements for through check-in
Good job, CX does
kaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 18, 7:25 am
  #51  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,884
Originally Posted by kaka View Post

Good job, CX does

But not back in Oct 2016. CX only changed its policy in Jan 2017 to once again check through on separate tickets within the alliance.
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 18, 7:40 am
  #52  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 184
Has anyone tried through checking on separate PNRs at BKK, just wondering, being an outstation how clued up they are with it...
Itinerary:
JL BKK-HND
QR HND-DOH-HEL
lehovec is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 18, 7:49 am
  #53  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Diamond, SAS Eurobonus Gold, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 8,742
Originally Posted by lehovec View Post
Has anyone tried through checking on separate PNRs at BKK, just wondering, being an outstation how clued up they are with it...
Itinerary:
JL BKK-HND
QR HND-DOH-HEL
​​​​​​
Since it is the official policy to do so, I would not worry about it.
lehovec likes this.
CPH-Flyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 2:00 pm
  #54  
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: AUS
Programs: AA Platinum
Posts: 13
Hi, all!

I'm flying JAL from NRT to YVR, AC from YVR to LAX on one PNR and then AA from LAX to AUS on a separate PNR.

If I'm understanding this correctly, i'll be able to check it from NRT to AUS?

Thanks!
jarza is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 4:16 pm
  #55  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Diamond, SAS Eurobonus Gold, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 8,742
Originally Posted by jarza View Post
Hi, all!

I'm flying JAL from NRT to YVR, AC from YVR to LAX on one PNR and then AA from LAX to AUS on a separate PNR.

If I'm understanding this correctly, i'll be able to check it from NRT to AUS?

Thanks!
You should.

Though I am not sure how the customs flow works between US and Canada, and whether that affects anything. The is pre clearance in YVR for US bound flights, right? I don't know what that means for the practicality of luggage when connecting.
CPH-Flyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 7:49 pm
  #56  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: SFO/HBE
Posts: 717
Do I have to re-check from connecting from AA to JL in JFK?
Gino Troian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 11, 18, 10:12 pm
  #57  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Singapore
Programs: JL Premier | Marriott Platinum Elite | GE, TSA-Pre
Posts: 6,660
Originally Posted by Gino Troian View Post
Do I have to re-check from connecting from AA to JL in JFK?
I'm assuming you're originating from another city in the US, transiting in JFK, and traveling to Japan. It really depends on a few things, is this all on 1 ticket or you bought 2 separate tickets between your domestic and international flight? If it's the former, your luggage should be checked through. If it's the later, it depends on carrier's policy whom you bought the ticket with.
lcpteck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 18, 3:56 pm
  #58  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: TPA
Programs: AA PLT, HH Gold, FM Prem, SPG gold
Posts: 552
It was asked earlier about a B6 interline but that was a next day flight issue. I arrive in BOS at 1800 and would fly on a second ticket with B6. I know the policy only promises OW tickets, but has anyone had any success with interlining on B6?

EF says they are interline bag partners. Would be nice to not have to pay the bag fee.
rivlinm is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 18, 4:28 pm
  #59  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Tokyo
Programs: JAL Diamond, SAS Eurobonus Gold, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Gold, IHG Gold
Posts: 8,742
Originally Posted by rivlinm View Post
It was asked earlier about a B6 interline but that was a next day flight issue. I arrive in BOS at 1800 and would fly on a second ticket with B6. I know the policy only promises OW tickets, but has anyone had any success with interlining on B6?

EF says they are interline bag partners. Would be nice to not have to pay the bag fee.
Even if JAL checks you through, I doubt that will excuse you for the bag fee.

You will need to reclaim the bag for customs clearance when entering the US, and the hand it off to B6 before proceeding. Either there, or at the gate, your bag fee will most likely be collected.
CPH-Flyer is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 18, 4:44 pm
  #60  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: TPA
Programs: AA PLT, HH Gold, FM Prem, SPG gold
Posts: 552
Originally Posted by CPH-Flyer View Post
Even if JAL checks you through, I doubt that will excuse you for the bag fee.

You will need to reclaim the bag for customs clearance when entering the US, and the hand it off to B6 before proceeding. Either there, or at the gate, your bag fee will most likely be collected.
Interesting. I have gotten around bag fees before by having a bag tag. Was that luck?

I always assumed the fee is paid to get you a bag tag. Once you have that, they assume payment is made. No?
rivlinm is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread