Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > Japan Airlines | JAL Mileage Bank
Reload this Page >

JAL will be migrating to Amadeus on Nov 16, 2017

JAL will be migrating to Amadeus on Nov 16, 2017

    Hide Wikipost
Old Oct 15, 17, 4:21 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: JALPak
Wiki Link
Migration date: Nov 16 2017

Handling Procedure Changes: https://www.jal.co.jp/en/info/pss/dom/
  • Domestic ticket/awards will be valid for 1 year from the day after issuance date
  • Single 6 alphanumeric PNR will be used for entire itinerary instead of 4 digit PNR for each sector on domestic flights
  • No longer allows separation payments of Y and Class J/Domestic F upgrade fees
  • Credit card number will no longer be accepted as authentication method
  • Fares eligible for waitlisting will be reduced but deadline will be extended from T-48 to T-24
  • Can no longer change to an earlier flight when flying on domestic awards
  • ePoints will be refundable on awards and can specify the amount allocated on multiple passengers instead of splitting them equally
  • Some other ePoints enhancements on award tax/fee payments, JALPAK package payment will be refundable, etc

A lot more changes coming e.g. surface sector won't be included in total mileage calculation for award redemption: http://www.jal.co.jp/en/info/pss_world/jmb/inter.html

Upcoming system outages and OLCI suspensions/changes: http://www.jal.co.jp/en/info/pss_wor...ce/?inbound=ar
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Nov 23, 17, 8:22 pm
  #121  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: HK
Programs: IHG Spire Elite Ambassador, Hilton Diamond, Aegan Gold, British Airways Bronze
Posts: 171
I had a few award flights booked through Asia Miles and all my seat selections disappeared.
Luckily I got better seats so it's not too bad
milgom is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 17, 12:10 am
  #122  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Programs: MPC Silver
Posts: 58
Hi,

I'm sorry if this was brought up in a previous post but I have an upcoming flight out of MNL on Nov. 28 and it seems I won't to do online check-in. However, JAL's website mentions that online check-in is automatically done while their system is being upgraded. Is that really the case ?

I just want to know how much lead time I need to go to the airport and physically check-in my luggage.

Thanks in advance!
dmatthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 17, 1:13 am
  #123  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,864
Originally Posted by dmatthew View Post
Hi,

I'm sorry if this was brought up in a previous post but I have an upcoming flight out of MNL on Nov. 28 and it seems I won't to do online check-in. However, JAL's website mentions that online check-in is automatically done while their system is being upgraded. Is that really the case ?

I just want to know how much lead time I need to go to the airport and physically check-in my luggage.

Thanks in advance!
OLCI for MNL is suspended till Dec 11.
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 17, 2:35 am
  #124  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,864
Lots of systems are down. JAL now puts a notice of "Currently unavailable services" on its website/migration page.

https://www.jal.co.jp/en/info/pss/maintenance/

There are problems like phantom availabilities, can't book codeshare flights, etc
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 17, 8:25 pm
  #125  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Programs: MPC Silver
Posts: 58
Thanks @JALPak ! Will just head to the airport earlier in order to ensure we can choose a semi-good seat.
dmatthew is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 17, 11:05 pm
  #126  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: EUG/PDX
Programs: AS MVP Au, UA Ag, Marriott Ti, HH Ag, Nexus, Pilot FlyingJ Preferred, *$ Au
Posts: 3,849
Originally Posted by rustykettel View Post
Seat selection works now and seats are indeed horked. Google Voice has trouble calling JAL Japan and not sure I'll be awake for JAL US. Or that it's worth it to call in at all. Short flight from ITM to HND (and wife still has a window Fuji side) and will try for PE upgrade at the airport on the long haul regardless.
Ended up with two aisles behind one another ITM-HND. Was able to purchase HND-SFO PE upgrade at ITM (took about 50 minutes!) but without seats together & had to pick up boarding passes at HND. Asked at HND check-in counter and again at the gate, both times no seats together. Paged up shortly before boarding and handed new boarding pass next to my wife in 21A & C (best PE seats imo).

Seat maps: domestic JAL flights still seems to be showing assigned seats as blocked in ExpertFlyer even under Amadeus. Long haul appears to be more accurate than what some agents see. Open seat in EF showed unavailable to the ITM agent but calling to HND for the seat assignments turned out it was open after all.

Last edited by rustykettel; Nov 25, 17 at 3:56 am
rustykettel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 17, 3:43 am
  #127  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,864
JAL has finally fixed the manage bookings function and now I can pull up my bookings using my JMB number
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 17, 9:54 am
  #128  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Singapore
Programs: JL Premier | Marriott Platinum Elite | GE, TSA-Pre
Posts: 6,658
Originally Posted by JALPak View Post
JAL has finally fixed the manage bookings function and now I can pull up my bookings using my JMB number
lcpteck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 17, 5:37 am
  #129  
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Japan
Programs: NH Diamond, JL JGC Diamond, BA Gold Guest List, DL Gold
Posts: 1,467
Originally Posted by JALPak View Post
JAL has finally fixed the manage bookings function and now I can pull up my bookings using my JMB number
Unfortunately, one of my domestic bookings as a non-JMB member can't be retrived yet.
JAL booking agent confirmed system error, and told me they would fix by mid-December.
Wasabi Tofu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 17, 10:31 am
  #130  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,950
They put on a crappy ssIII for nrt hkg and randomly assigned seats. So a owe and a jgc sapphire is sat front-back. ...?
and the jl f checkin did not relay the message for seatswap.
kaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 17, 6:38 pm
  #131  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,864
Now almost everything works on JL website for me. But checkmytrip still doesn't correctly display my trips. the trips will show up when I added the PNR but then once I add other side trips, it can't display my JL bookings correctly anymore. The origin and destination will show the correct JL trip info but once I clicked into it, it just displayed my CX side trip there. So Amadeus seems to have problems handling my JL bookings. So looks like a lot of migration problems could actually be caused by the poor Amadeus system.
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 17, 10:24 pm
  #132  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,186
Originally Posted by JALPak View Post
Now almost everything works on JL website for me. But checkmytrip still doesn't correctly display my trips. the trips will show up when I added the PNR but then once I add other side trips, it can't display my JL bookings correctly anymore. The origin and destination will show the correct JL trip info but once I clicked into it, it just displayed my CX side trip there. So Amadeus seems to have problems handling my JL bookings. So looks like a lot of migration problems could actually be caused by the poor Amadeus system.
Strangely it is used by most of the global airlines around the world now...only a handful of international airlines still uses Sabre

What's the reason for many airlines choosing Amadeus than Sabre or the others?
JALlover is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 17, 7:19 am
  #133  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,864
Originally Posted by JALlover View Post
Strangely it is used by most of the global airlines around the world now...only a handful of international airlines still uses Sabre

What's the reason for many airlines choosing Amadeus than Sabre or the others?
I don't know why.

But I suspect Yokoso, W2J, JEP, etc are cause of a lot of these issues. When this is migrated, they added the 2 linked international flights to the Yokoso record as well. Not sure if other airlines are doing this...anyone know the dark side issues the Yokoso equivalent?
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 17, 9:00 am
  #134  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: HKG
Programs: A3, TK *G; JL JGC; SPG,Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,950
Originally Posted by JALPak View Post
I don't know why.

But I suspect Yokoso, W2J, JEP, etc are cause of a lot of these issues. When this is migrated, they added the 2 linked international flights to the Yokoso record as well. Not sure if other airlines are doing this...anyone know the dark side issues the Yokoso equivalent?
no, only ExJ. (no changes allowed)
kaka is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 17, 1:52 pm
  #135  
Ambassador: Japan Airlines
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: LAX
Programs: JAL Mileage Bank, oneworld Emerald, SPG Gold
Posts: 14,864
So I just did OLCI for my first flight which is AA coded and AA actually check-in for my connecting flight for me too which is JL coded. But when I went to JL website, it says OLCI has been suspended for my flight LOL So sad
JALPak is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread