Newbie question about points/room value

Old Nov 3, 18, 12:01 am
Original Poster

Newbie question about points/room value

I apologize in advance for what is probably a dumb question.

I am looking at staying at an IHG property (Venetian/Palazzo to be specific) and a 1 night stay there is 60,000 points. I was thinking of booking for 3 nights and getting the 4th night free by paying for it all in points. So I would be spending 180,000 points for 4 nights total. However the average nightly rate right now for when I'd be staying is $178/night. How do I calculate this to determine what kind of value I'm getting and whether or not using points would be a good deal? I've attempted to research it but my mind is swimming at this point.

I'm still quite new to all this and just want to make sure that I'm getting the best value for the points spent. Thanks for any input.
Old Nov 3, 18, 4:40 am

Programs: BA Gold, TK E+, IB+, VS FC, Hyatt Globalist, MR Plat Prem, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Is there a special deal for 4th night free when using points? This isn't an IHG benefit I'm aware of.

I use a value of 0.5 cents for IHG points. So you'd be paying $300 per night of "points value" per night. Can't recall if using points allows you to avoid the resort fee.

You really need to compare the all-in total cost of paying cash, after tax after fees and compare that to the total number of points required for an award. Just do "dummy bookings" for the two different scenarios. (all the way to the end minus the final confirmation button)
Old Nov 3, 18, 1:09 pm

Programs: IHG spire ambassador, SPG/Marriott Gold(new plat), Virgin Atlantic