The New IHG Web Booking Interface is PISSING ME OFF!

Old Jan 6, 18, 7:25 am
  #61  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: flyover country
Posts: 1,286
Probably this thread should be merged with the thread The New IHG Web Booking Interface is PISSING ME OFF! even though the new IHG web site is bad enough to merit two (or more) threads.

As an aside, the web site is probably my fault. I was just about to make IHG my "go to" chain, and someone heard about that and came out with the new site. Sorry.
serpens is online now  
Old Jan 6, 18, 12:20 pm
  #62  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: MD/DC
Programs: Hilton Diamond, PC Platinum, Club Carlson Silver, Marriott Platinum, TK Gold
Posts: 1,371
Be very careful on the new website when booking the Chase Free night certificate.

If there is another type of rate in the search - it will show you all types of rooms in the hotel as "FREE". But when you go and book it actually booked into another rate (but still showing free on the confirmation). Cancelling that reservation will NOT return the certificate back to the account - which require a call to do.
MD/DC Flyer is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 7:11 pm
  #63  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Milan
Programs: QR Plat, HH Diamond
Posts: 402
I was never pissed off, just mystified how a major company like IHG could disrupt their entire business model and not seem to care
#1son is offline  
Old Jan 6, 18, 8:12 pm
  #64  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Programs: UA Explorer card, AA Plat, Copa Plat, IHG Plat,
Posts: 549
Absolutely TERRIBLE I HATE the new website
rrohio is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 1:48 am
  #65  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 1,127
Their website team really should focus more on making a stronger login instead of 4 numbers, instead of making the UI worse.
nomiiiii is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 2:30 am
  #66  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 892
They changed the currency selector on the mobile site. It used to default to the currency if the hotel selected ( ie looking for a hotel in Thailand the rates are in Baht). Now it does not but remembers the last currency used and you have to change it manually ( and the drop-down menu list is currencies alpha order rath than countries, so Thailand is only listed under B for Baht).
Totally bizarre.
paolo64 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 4:05 am
  #67  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton, IHG - BA, LH, QR, TK
Posts: 13,997
The new site probably aims to be more intuitive for new users (I'm being generous). But it's certainly hard work for those of used to the quirks of the old one
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 4:26 am
  #68  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Programs: IHG
Posts: 23
Now NONE of my web browsers will show the old site! I guess their supposedly um.. UPGRADE is now complete. Once I'm done using up my points then BUH-BYE IHG! MORONS!
tdcao is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 5:04 am
  #69  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Programs: Hilton Diamond, IHG Spire Ambassador, Radisson Gold, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 3,197
Originally Posted by Steph58 View Post
You might want to do that . . . . I called to ask when I'll be able to see my upcoming stays. Was told in about a week, they are aware of the problem. Immediately after nicely asking the question, I was given points for the inconvenience. Maybe selecting the option to provide feedback helped; maybe Spire helps; maybe my upcoming reservations helped. It was the quickest, most painless call I've ever experienced with IHG.
I emailed them about the problem and they said they are not aware of this being an issue at all, and maybe it was because I had two accounts they had to merge, blah, blah

I did find one work around. Click on "manage reservations" on the main home page while logged in. Wait 3-5 seconds. Your next 5-10 reservations should come up.
jphripjah is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 9:20 am
  #70  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LAX
Posts: 112
Count me in as well... can't book Ambassador BOGO night at the Venetian. Repeatedly get the following:

An error has occurred. Please contact your nearest reservation office and a representative will be able to assist you.
FlyingChuck is online now  
Old Jan 7, 18, 12:36 pm
  #71  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Programs: Priority Club Platinum Ambassador, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 264
Probably the problem is that more users access the site from mobile devices then PC.
So you have to have two different sites one for mobile devices and one for PC.
But i guess more company are decided they can save some money making one site for both devices,
and since more users access the site from mobile , just use the same site for PC too.
That is why the site is with this big buttons.

This is just my two cents.
winkny is offline  
Old Jan 7, 18, 5:33 pm
  #72  
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: VPS
Programs: IHG Spire, Delta GM
Posts: 4,603
Hate to say it but it could be worse. I made the mistake of selecting the 'try the beta site' for La Quinta Hotels a while back, and it's os broke at this point, their basic hotel search engine doesn't even reliably work.
beachmouse is online now  
Old Jan 7, 18, 6:26 pm
  #73  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 1,108
Originally Posted by nomiiiii View Post
Their website team really should focus more on making a stronger login instead of 4 numbers, instead of making the UI worse.
In full honesty, it isnít the actual developers that are responsible, itís the people above them that make the decisions. The developers then code up what they are tasked to do.
thunderlounge is offline  
Old Jan 8, 18, 9:21 am
  #74  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 234
For the first time yesterday I was sent to the 'new' site. I don't know why, maybe I haven't checked it for a week.

The new website is awful. I have to scroll and scroll and scroll on my desktop to see the hotel list.

My 27" monitor has been reduced to the level of a 5" phone screen.

The old website had everything on the screen at once (with maybe one page worth of info below), now I have to scroll and click and go back and scroll and click.

Are these people idiots? Do they not use their own website?
1flyer likes this.
pretzlaff is offline  
Old Jan 8, 18, 11:22 am
  #75  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Programs: IHG Spire Ambassador, AC E*35K, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 980
Originally Posted by pretzlaff View Post
Ö My 27" monitor has been reduced to the level of a 5" phone screen. Ö
I totally agree. The humongous elements on the hotel list makes it a chore to scroll through on my 13" MacBook. And, I can no longer see both the points required for a reward night and the cost of a regular paid night together. It's one or the other, now. The way it shifts the map as you scroll is super annoying, too.
1flyer likes this.
King Chung Huang is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: