The New IHG Web Booking Interface is PISSING ME OFF!

Old Dec 4, 17, 4:49 am
  #16  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SIN (LEJ once a year)
Programs: SQ, LH, BA, IHG Spire AMB, HH Gold, Accor Gold, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 5,530
Using Chrome from SIN I get the new site and it constantly says "invalid corporate id" for a range of days and properties which of course is utter nonsense as the code is perfectly fine. At least the android app still seems ok.

What a bunch of morons, it is a web site not an advanced AI project. You would think it couldn't be that hard to do a decent job.
demue is offline  
Old Dec 4, 17, 10:57 pm
  #17  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Coast, USA
Programs: Skywards Platinum
Posts: 3,747
Originally Posted by tdcao View Post
On my macbook, Safari got me the old site, Chrome got me the STUPID new site. ...!
That is interesting, I have the exact opposite. In Safari I get the new site and in Chrome I get the old site.
whimike is offline  
Old Dec 7, 17, 10:01 am
  #18  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 33,124
Now there is a new account page. And it's missing some details that we used to be able to see on the main page. Now there is a new page that has things like rollover nights, total points earned, etc. Not sure I like this.
stimpy is offline  
Old Dec 7, 17, 11:20 am
  #19  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Programs: EK Gold, EY Gold, Bonvoy LT Titanium, IHG Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 330
I can only view one reservation. Looked everywhere for details of all my reservations. No where to be found.
Then i happened to click into the only reservation view-able on what has to be the worse web site i have had the misfortune to use recently.
I noticed an old style link to view all reservations. Well hidden IHG

Well done IHG for most probably the worse hotel web site out there. Luckily most of my stays i have switched to Hilton and SPG
This surely must be turning customers away. Its certainly stopped me using the web based booking engine. Even the mobile site seems to redirect me to this tosh now!
stanontour is offline  
Old Dec 8, 17, 1:46 pm
  #20  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton, IHG - BA, LH, QR, TK
Posts: 13,999
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
Now there is a new account page. And it's missing some details that we used to be able to see on the main page. Now there is a new page that has things like rollover nights, total points earned, etc. Not sure I like this.
It's very hard to like. It's utility is very limited. Looks like something designed by a person who has never stayed in hotels.


I can't find details of upcoming reservations beyond the first one. Useless and annoying.
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Dec 8, 17, 2:10 pm
  #21  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 33,124
Originally Posted by IAN-UK View Post
I can't find details of upcoming reservations beyond the first one. Useless and annoying.
You have to click on Stays and Events near the top. But it is a terribly designed interface. Way more clicking involved compared to before.
stimpy is offline  
Old Dec 8, 17, 4:55 pm
  #22  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 121
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
You have to click on Stays and Events near the top. But it is a terribly designed interface. Way more clicking involved compared to before.
I have been unable to edit the dates of a refundable booking. If I attempt to change either the check-in or check-out date, it comes up with an error about special characters or some nonsense. Basically it's broken their end. Had to phone the hotel for them to edit it on their system.

And don't get me started on the white space.

Or the complete lack of computer friendliness. It looks like they have designed it for a large tablet device, and forgotten about >90% of their users.

I totally get they want to improve their back-end software - you don't need to hugely change your website for the worse in the progress though!!
Lionheart is offline  
Old Dec 9, 17, 12:45 am
  #23  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somewhere in Europe
Posts: 3,198
I’d managed to dodge the new look until this morning.

Absolutely terrible and very sluggish.
chrism20 is offline  
Old Dec 9, 17, 2:19 am
  #24  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: London
Programs: Hilton, IHG - BA, LH, QR, TK
Posts: 13,999
Originally Posted by stimpy View Post
You have to click on Stays and Events near the top. But it is a terribly designed interface. Way more clicking involved compared to before.

Thanks for that, I finally got there. "Stays and Events" indeed!

No idea what "events" are. "Stays and Nonsense".

I'd have thought the reservations I have in their system constituted a content item worthy of its own space, with a prominent pathway.

Nothing wrong with "Future Stays" or "Reservations".
IAN-UK is offline  
Old Dec 9, 17, 10:27 am
  #25  
TPJ
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Programs: TK*G (E+), AA OWS (Plat Pro), EY Silver (compted), IHG Plat Ambassador
Posts: 6,941
+1

I enrolled myself into 2018 Accelerate, but I cannot see my challenges on the new web site - there is no link to take me to the Accelerate web site

Ahhh - and I cannot even sign in on Mobile App as they 'have difficulties with their backend system'.
TPJ is offline  
Old Dec 10, 17, 11:13 pm
  #26  
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Programs: SQ QPPS, IHG Spire
Posts: 23
I have already checked out of the HI over the weekend and yet its still showing the past booking as the current one and not the one that I am going to be checking in to next week.
Pseudo Nym is offline  
Old Dec 11, 17, 1:43 am
  #27  
Fyd
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SFO, MNL, SIN, HAM
Programs: UA GS, SQ PPS, IHG Plat Amb, Marriot Gold, Hilton Gold, Club Carlson Gold, Accor Plat
Posts: 486
Originally Posted by tdcao View Post
On my macbook, Safari got me the old site, Chrome got me the STUPID new site. ...!
On Chrome/Mac I get what looks like a mobile version - it's only maybe 20% of the width of the screen, so I can't read anything...
I guess I book a Marriott/Hilton/anything else instead...
Fyd is offline  
Old Dec 12, 17, 7:00 am
  #28  
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SIN (LEJ once a year)
Programs: SQ, LH, BA, IHG Spire AMB, HH Gold, Accor Gold, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 5,530
Well, in case anyone else is experiencing issues with invalid corporate ids, try adding leading zeros. All the ids are 9 digits, but in the past for our company code it is actually 6 numbers and one didn't have to enter the 3 leading zeros. No more.
demue is offline  
Old Dec 12, 17, 8:37 am
  #29  
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: WAW/BHX
Programs: SQ(*G), A3(*G), LH(*S), SK, BA; Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, IHG Platinum Ambassador
Posts: 2,076
Originally Posted by Fyd View Post
On Chrome/Mac I get what looks like a mobile version - it's only maybe 20% of the width of the screen, so I can't read anything...
I guess I book a Marriott/Hilton/anything else instead...
Yes. Apparently, this is exactly what IHG wants you to do. I mean, if they didn't want you to book elsewhere then why on earth would they redesign the site in this way?

I took their hint and gave up on a booking in Athens and booked myself into King George LC instead. SPG will get my business instead of IHG (for some reason, SPG haven't yet decided to make their website unusable).
yurtripper is offline  
Old Dec 12, 17, 4:27 pm
  #30  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Four Seasons Contributor BadgeMandarin Oriental Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Feb 1999
Location: Seat 1A, Juice pretty much everywhere, Mucci des Coins Exotiques
Posts: 33,124
I might change my mind about this new website. I just made a 1 night booking at a cheap $73 HI and the site says that I will earn 26,752 base points plus that again for elite status for a total of 53,504 points. If that goes through I will become the new website's biggest fan!
tdcao likes this.
stimpy is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: