Blocked after making 10 reservations?

Old Dec 14, 18, 10:16 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Princeton, NJ; Lviv Ukraine
Programs: UA 3.6MM, AF/KL Lifetime Plat, BA Gold, AA 1MM, IC Spire RA, Kimpton IC, Marriott Plat, et alia
Posts: 2,725
Blocked after making 10 reservations?

Yesterday, ebates had a 12% rebate (instead of the usual 4%) for IHG properties as the first day of their 12 days of Christmas promotion.

I have about 20 reservations to make at ICs between now and March. And I've had a few already booked but at lower ebates.
So I booked a number of new reservations, and cancelled/rebooked more (and the rates were lower in several cases).

After about 10 reservations and 5 cancellations:
Access Denied
You don't have permission to access "http://www.ihg.com/" on this server.
They blocked my browser!!!

This is probably the work of an overzealous IT department, but I've made further reservations using another browser on the same machine, and on a different machine.

This has happened before, in similar circumstances.

You'd think they appreciate a storm of reservations.

Last edited by vsevolod4; Dec 14, 18 at 10:24 am
vsevolod4 is offline  
Old Dec 14, 18, 10:27 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Programs: HH Diamond, MR Gold
Posts: 2,053
Clearly a fraud detection method. Did you try opening an incognito browser and attempting a booking?
xooz is online now  
Old Dec 14, 18, 9:34 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Amsterdam, Asia, UK
Programs: IHG RA (Spire), HH Diamond, MR Platinum, SQ Gold, KLM Gold, BAEC Gold
Posts: 5,045
Your IP is being blocked, many sites (hotels, airlines etc) do this if frequent access in a short time period is attempted.

Unusual to allow a different browser from same blocked IP , unless it is something like Opera with inclusive vpn which changes your own real IP compared to other browser w/out vpn
scubaccr is offline  
Old Dec 15, 18, 10:10 am
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Princeton, NJ; Lviv Ukraine
Programs: UA 3.6MM, AF/KL Lifetime Plat, BA Gold, AA 1MM, IC Spire RA, Kimpton IC, Marriott Plat, et alia
Posts: 2,725
Yes, I'm able to use another browser on the same machine.

Just frickin' annoying.
vsevolod4 is offline  
Old Dec 15, 18, 10:11 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Princeton, NJ; Lviv Ukraine
Programs: UA 3.6MM, AF/KL Lifetime Plat, BA Gold, AA 1MM, IC Spire RA, Kimpton IC, Marriott Plat, et alia
Posts: 2,725
Originally Posted by scubaccr View Post
Your IP is being blocked, many sites (hotels, airlines etc) do this if frequent access in a short time period is attempted.

Unusual to allow a different browser from same blocked IP , unless it is something like Opera with inclusive vpn which changes your own real IP compared to other browser w/out vpn
Puzzling me too ... blocks Chrome, even after clearing out cookies, but Edge, Safari, Opera all work.
Oh well.
vsevolod4 is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 3:10 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Programs: EK Gold, EY Gold, Bonvoy LT Titanium, IHG Spire Ambassador, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 330
i am also being blocked in firefox - after cancelling 6 award nights, and rebooking 4 at a different hotel.
So have had to switch to Chrome.
stanontour is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: