Community
Wiki Posts
Search

I found it really hard to stick only to IHG

Search this Thread

Old Dec 1, 2013, 9:28 am
Original Poster

Programs: Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Titanium, Hilton Diamond, IHG Spire Ambassador, Qantas Platinum, United S

I have been using IHG exclusively for almost 5 years. I've maintained Plat Amb during this time.
The reason I came to IHG is its expansiveness and diversity. But now I found that its points are less valuable than that of SPG and Marriott, and the status quite means nothing except in Asia. When I wanna do road trips in US, many of the Marriott's properties like Fairfields Inn and Residence Inn are better than HIXs and Staybridges in the same region. Besides, Marriott points can be used for elite room types in nicer locations, but IHG points can only be used to get the basic room anywhere.
SPG usually has the best top properties when you are going for the most expensive ones in prime locations like NYC and those world famous islands like Bali, and Marriott's everyday-use level is generally better than that of IHG's.
Sometimes IHG have some really good properties, mainly ICs. Therefore I just buy the Amb status, and use my Chase credit card to maintain my Plat status.
It is really hard to keep in one program. I am now in three, and if I wanna try Four Seasons when I see the always good reviews of its properties, it is gonna be four for me...
Old Dec 1, 2013, 10:29 am

Programs: WN A+ CP, UA 1MM/*A Gold, Mar LT Tit, IHG Plat, HH Dia
Originally Posted by zyxlsy
The reason I came to IHG is its expansiveness and diversity. But now I found that its points are less valuable than that of SPG and Marriott, and the status quite means nothing except in Asia.