Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Information Desk
Reload this Page >

Best way to redeem flight to China

Old Jan 4, 23, 7:59 pm
Original Poster

Hi newbie here!

Wonder what's the best way to redeem mileage/points for flights to China? The quarantine will end in 1/8 and im hoping to go back to see some family members. Also if there is a tool that I can use to search for award travel, that will be great!

Thank you for all the suggestions in advance.
Old Jan 4, 23, 8:13 pm
Community Director

Welcome to FlyerTalk.

Where do you have points and how many?
Old Jan 4, 23, 8:54 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Originally Posted by nellyvile View Post
Hi newbie here!

Wonder what's the best way to redeem mileage/points for flights to China? The quarantine will end in 1/8 and im hoping to go back to see some family members. Also if there is a tool that I can use to search for award travel, that will be great!

Thank you for all the suggestions in advance.
And from where? Will be many others wanting to do the same.
If you have freq flyer miles/points/avios you can only redeem via that frequent flyer program (ffp).
Points with a credit card can at times be moved to different ffp's

A guide to cost -->https://www.awardhacker.com/
But does not include all ffp's and airlines or the detailed award rules.
And does *not* consider or find availability.
Old Jan 5, 23, 8:02 am

Programs: UA
Saver awards will be scarce as people will be willing to shell out $$$ to go to China. For example, UA 857 SFO-PVG in economy starts at more than 200k miles, with premium economy at 500k and business at 700k.
Old Jan 6, 23, 8:24 pm
Original Poster

I have points in Amex, Chase, United, Marriot. Status in United and Krisflyer. Would prefer to fly business if the conversion is good!

I'm flying from San Francisco but open to fly out of LAX/Seattle since it is a short domestic flight. Destination is NKG or PVG.